Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Norman Why?
Norman Reedus is probably one of the most talented actors around at the moment, but he makes some AWFUL choices on what work he does. This film was watchable and I enjoyed a lot of it, but it wasn't needed. There was no reason for a sequel. Reedus is his usual wonderful self, but all the actors were wasted in this, they can all do so much better x
Published on 25 July 2012 by raven_guest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable Horror about a Haunted Cornfield
Norman Reedus (best known as the crossbow guy in The Walking Dead) plays John Rollins, a struggling crop farmer with significant money worries. He's married with a very pretty wife and a couple of teenage kids. He owes money to his suppliers and the bank is never far from repossessing his home. His marriage is on the rocks and he has to sleep on the sofa. Rollins also has...
Published 5 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Norman Why?, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
Norman Reedus is probably one of the most talented actors around at the moment, but he makes some AWFUL choices on what work he does. This film was watchable and I enjoyed a lot of it, but it wasn't needed. There was no reason for a sequel. Reedus is his usual wonderful self, but all the actors were wasted in this, they can all do so much better x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable Horror about a Haunted Cornfield, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
Norman Reedus (best known as the crossbow guy in The Walking Dead) plays John Rollins, a struggling crop farmer with significant money worries. He's married with a very pretty wife and a couple of teenage kids. He owes money to his suppliers and the bank is never far from repossessing his home. His marriage is on the rocks and he has to sleep on the sofa. Rollins also has a particularly creepy looking scarecrow in one of his barns. Heather Stephens plays the hot wife, Mary, and Claire Holt plays the even hotter teenage daughter, Lindsay.
Crows are decimating the farmer's crops, and on the advice of one of his neighbours, Rollins stands the hideous scarecrow in the middle of a cornfield. This upsets his son, who's scared of the vile looking strawman.
Bizarre and unexpected things then rapidly start to happen. The voracious crows are soon lying dead in the fields. Rollins spies on his pneumatic blonde neighbour Miranda, as she strips and fondles herself. A bank representative who wants to foreclose on the farm meets with an untimely demise. Problems in the farmer's life simply start vanishing. His sexy neighbour seduces him. Rollins somehow knows that everything is linked to the cornfield and the scarecrow, but he doesn't know what to do...
This is a watchable horror flick, which the excellent Reedus carries above mediocrity. The movie resorts to lots of horror cliches, and isn't particularly scary, but it held my interest through to the end. There are no real shocks or jump off the sofa moments - the film's no more frightening than, say, the Twilight movies. It has certain parallels with Stephen King's The Shining, though it's not as good as that brilliant movie (I do like Reedus as an actor, but he's no Jack Nicholson) - The Shining [Blu-ray] [1999] [Region Free].
The film does have a decent, but faintly silly, Grim Reaper style segment, so I'd give it 3.5 stars overall. If you do enjoy this movie, I can also recommend a similar horror called Husk - Husk [Blu-ray].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !!, 30 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this for my daughter for christmas, so here's her review below :-

I read about this film and saw a few clips on youtube, and i thought it looked pretty good.

When i watched it, i couldn't keep my eyes off the screen, I absolutely loved it. Norman Reedus was amazing as he always is !!!

I would definately recommend this film for anyone who loves Norman Reedus, and a for a good horror movie with scares in it !!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 May 2012
By 
HJ (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
Had a couple of creepy moments but otherwise rather boring and easy to see why it was straight to dvd. I reserve 1 star for dvds I don't watch to the end, this wasn't that bad but felt like a waste of my time and I regretted it. Nothing like The Messengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Messengers 2 "BAD!!"., 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
Think children of the corn,well,dont actually,just think,cornfields and a scarecrow that comes to life,thats it.It takes over three quarters of the film to get to anything bordering on horror and when it does its over in a blink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
I wouldn't say this lives up to the horror genre, but on the whole it was a good film. The fact Norman Reedus was in this, is why i ordered it and he didnt disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth your time. The Scarecrow Walks At Midnight (Goosebumps) was better., 2 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a "sequel/prequel" to the very good horror film: The Messengers. Firstly this film has nothing to do with the first film. To sum up it's plot: there is an evil scarecrow in the farmer's field.
If you've seen the Goosebumps episode "The Scarecrow Walks At Midnight" you'll find A LOT of similarities here. It basically is that Goosebumps episode but for older viewers with slightly more character development and psychological elements.

I read a fair few of the other reviews on here and I'll save you the time. Most of the higher rating reviews say the same thing, and that is "Norman Reedus is so hot it doesn't matter that the overall film is boring and sucks."
Yes, he might well be a decent actor, but this role doesn't let him show that. PLUS, the only reason all these fangirls love him is because of his role in The Walking Dead. Yes he's a decent actor, but come on... He's hardly one of the greats. Even if he was, this role doesn't demand anything brilliant. But do not get me wrong, I do like Norman Reedus, I just don't think he's a good enough excuse to excuse what is just a bad film here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "..NOT BAD BUT NOT BRILLIANT..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
This was a straight to DVD prequel which is not bad, if your looking for blood and gore you wont find it here, this is a straight forward creepy story about a cursed cornfield basically, the main guy is a bit down on his luck and puts up a scarecrow in his field which through some kind of black magic starts to bring him good fortune, at the cost of his sanity and sacrifice of his family. It's fairly enjoyable if you like a few cheap scares, it's slightly slow getting started but the final 30-40mins are pretty good. There is however a few good nude scenes with a hot chick! The original is better but this is a good film anyway if you can really get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good with awesome lead actor but very silly at the end., 23 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of the original movie with Kristen Stewart i gave this a watch and in a way wished i hadn't done.
Love Norman Reedus as a huge fan of his from The Walking Dead and Blade 2 but he and Claire Holt who plays his daughter are the only actors who act well here.
The story is very good and you feel for Reedus's character as he goes though a hard time but its not gripping like the first film and again like the first its never really scary.
It wasn't too bad until the last bit of the movie really went quite stupid and some of the effects are daft.
Reedus and Holt deserve better.
Seen worse but seen better too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 5 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] (DVD)
I got this for christmas and I thought it was pretty good, good enough for me to keep to watch again.

I havent seen the first one so I cant compare but I did enjoy it and found it thought provocing at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD]
Messengers 2 - The Scarecrow [DVD] by Martin Barnewitz (DVD - 2009)
£4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews