Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book on meditation, 28 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great introduction to meditation. It has given me the enthusiasm and discipline to meditate on a daily basis and I have enjoyed inner peace and joy ever since.

David Michie begins by listing the many benefits of meditation to mind, body and spirit (all backed up by scientific research). He then explains, in a no nonsense way how to meditate. I found this book simple, practical and profound.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, 6 Sept. 2010
By 
Teddy (Macclesfield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hurry Up and Meditate (Paperback)
I bought this to read and recommend to the many busy busy clients that I think would benefit from meditation if they could squeeze it into the day (to begin with). For such people this little book is a great introduction, half of it giving the rationale for meditating (including up-to-date sciency stuff) and the second half describing techniques/approaches. It's a quick read, not overfacing, and I think it does a very good job of introducing meditation in a simple and straightforward way that will appeal to people of any religion or none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Start now and don't delay, 4 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Hurry Up and Meditate (Paperback)
Hurry Up and Meditate
David Michie
Snow Lion publications, 2008
ISBN 978-55939-306=5

This is a helpful book for anyone interested in the why and how of meditation. If you want to know why you should meditate then begin your journey at chapter one. If you want to know how to meditate then dive in at chapter four.

David Michie writes in an easy conversational style. In the first three chapters he introduces the topic of meditation and the research that has taken place into its physical and psychological benefits. This is presented outside the context of any religious tradition or belief. If you are looking for scientific evidence of the efficacy of meditation you will find it in the first three chapters, before going on to find it in the laboratory of your own experience.

Having shown why you might want to meditate the book goes on to show how.

David Michie writes with an understanding of the practical aspects of developing a meditation practice - when to meditate, for how long, in what posture and so forth. He recommends starting with fifteen minutes. This is important advice. It is a period of time that would be easy for anyone to consistently fit into their day. A short period of meditation each day will have much greater beneficial effect than a longer period occasionally.

David Michie guides the reader through a simple practice of meditation and how to deal with agitation and dullness. He then explains different types of meditation and shows how they can be complementary to each other. he explains the importance of creating a regular daily practice and keeping it light and easy so that it can become part of your life.

David Michie explains that real benefits of meditation come when you're not meditating - in the same way that the benefits of exercise come when you're not in the gym. This is important as it is too easy to misunderstand meditation as a place to experience bliss or peace. it is more important - and more inspiring to find that meditation practice makes a difference in our lives.

The book concludes with a recap of the benefits of meditation and how to troubleshoot your meditation practice.

By the end of the book you will have an understanding of the benefits of meditation, how to meditate, and why you should start now and not delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurry Up And Meditate: Your Starter Kit For Inner Peace And Better Health (Kindle Edition)
Great introduction to meditation. Very accessible and clear. I would recommend it to anyone who either wants to learn to meditate or is just curious about meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurry Up and Meditate, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic book. It is written beautifully and David's sense of humour shines through. I keep it by my bedside for quick and easy reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars written from the heart, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurry Up And Meditate: Your Starter Kit For Inner Peace And Better Health (Kindle Edition)
An amazing book which could be life transforming and because it operates at many different levels, it addresses the needs of everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Pleased I read this book, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurry Up And Meditate: Your Starter Kit For Inner Peace And Better Health (Kindle Edition)
Well written to enable you to begin to understand how to meditate and the benefits you will gain from meditation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I borrowed this book from the library in eBook format and loved it so much I wanted my own copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, short intro to meditation linked more to a ..., 9 Aug. 2014
By 
J. Scott "James Scott" (Glasgow,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, short intro to meditation linked more to a health improvement movement. Too many of us worry ourselves sick over matters that we can change, how things work and what we can change and cannot change. More work is being done on how regular thoughtful meditation can improve our health and wellbeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A user friendly guide. The author explains that meditation ..., 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hurry Up And Meditate: Your Starter Kit For Inner Peace And Better Health (Kindle Edition)
A user friendly guide. The author explains that meditation takes time to master and I found his words a comfort as this is true. I am still a novice but feeling the benefits already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews