Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relive the age of The Victorians.
This Victorian Household - replica memorabilia pack
is similar to those other packs of historical ephemera
from the Resources for Teaching set of products, but
these items tend to be centred on the moneyed classes
within the Victorian era, rather than give any ideas
or insights into the lives of ordinary working people.

We have a...
Published 24 months ago by Malcolm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Titchy tiny!
Some very little examples of Victoriana! They are not very robust so will have to get children to handle carefully!
Published 16 months ago by pootle5


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relive the age of The Victorians., 19 Dec 2012
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
This Victorian Household - replica memorabilia pack
is similar to those other packs of historical ephemera
from the Resources for Teaching set of products, but
these items tend to be centred on the moneyed classes
within the Victorian era, rather than give any ideas
or insights into the lives of ordinary working people.

We have a facsimile of the first edition of the Exchange
and Mart for 1868 price one penny. With servants wanted
adverts, and ads for a Landau or Brougham carriage for
sale.
Included also are several replica advertising brochures
such as the one for Hampton & Sons of Pall Mall, who could
furnish your whole house with anything from a valve water
closet to the four poster bed for your fitted bed room.
There is also a licence from the Inland Revenue for
authorisation to employ and keep servants, use armorial
bearings, and to use your own horse and carriage,which
had to be renewed yearly. Just like today, the Victorians
had a tax for nearly everything!
The remainder of the pack is given over to advertising
materials for such things as Carbolic Tooth Soap which
probably tasted as bad as it sounds,and cures for all
kinds of ailments, the cures which would no doubt be
illegal now.
Like other packs in this series, there are a number of
cigarette card size adverts for Robin Starch, Peek,Frean
& Co biscuits,and one rather dubious one for Scrubbs Cloudy
Ammonia, refreshing as a turkish bath or for your hair?
The Victorians were suckers for an advert or two.

Whilst this pack is more, Upstairs Downstairs or Downton
Abbey than the ordinary man and woman in the street, it
does give an interesting look at Victorian life.
Some of the items are quite small as other reviewers have
stated, but they are worth a look. Those of us who had
relatives who were in service would gain more than just a
glimpse at a world now gone.
Children might enjoy these packs, but they are somewhat
fragile and might require laminating to give them a longer
life in tiny hands. I don't understand why they are listed
as a 'toy', when they are really primary source material
for period history, but either way, they are interesting
items.
Well worth a look see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Victorian household in a small package..., 29 April 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
I got a little bit surprised about the size of this product, the parcel was so small....but the size doesn't really matter. There is useful information about my favourite time period in it. I love the pretty advertisement pictures and I learned new things about the Victorian time. It's probably good material for teachers to get their students more interested in history. I recommend this package for people that like history and to learn it in a new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good additional to knowledge tool, 9 May 2011
By 
= Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
A good collection of items to give an insight into Victorian life. Well worth the money and excellent if your child is doing a Victorian project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for classroom discussion starters, 21 Dec 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
I placed these on my Victorian Display within my classroom and the children enjoyed looking at the items. Some of the print is quite small but a good general resource
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
These are essentially resource packs for teachers to show students but we bought them for our vintage themed wedding. They are brilliant, really really look the part - They will just give that little extra to the feel of the reception, couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, as always!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
A wealth of information which really grabbed the attention of my English class; a rich research opportunity and talking point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Victorian Household Memorabilia Pack, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
Child had The Victorians for their year topic this year and this was a very good buy. Even I was interested in the goodies that were sent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and informative., 8 Nov 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
Bought this for my 8 year old son who is doing the Victorians as his topic. We have shared the artefacts together over many evenings and he has taken it into school. We particularly enjoyed reading the Exchange and Mart newspaper and the adverts for man and wife servants. Very good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for additional display - Victorians - year 6, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. Janice Harrison (Whitstable, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
Good value for money. This will add to my Victorians display. Lots of good 'household' insights and the children have learned a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a classroom display, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack (Cards)
I bought this for my classroom as I am a primary school teacher. The little bits looked great on my display and got the children talking. They brought a bit 'age' to the display. Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victorian Household - Replica Memorabilia Pack
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews