Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super for the price
For the price you will not find a better head torch. Petzl head torches are all excellent, but I certainly feel this is their best value for money torch. It gives a good main beam and the economy light is lighbt enough to read a map. It certainly does not have as many features as some of their more expensive torches, but if you are doing hill walking or DofE at any...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by jona

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good life, questionable performance
Bought this mainly for running, but used it for that and DIY. For the DIY it's fine, bulb on the full power setting, 55 hours is plenty of life, and it does offer a wide field of well-lit vision. For running, however, it's an irritation, as there's an odd bar of shadow just at the edge of the field of vision which makes it seem like you're running in thick-rimmed Buddy...
Published on 14 Nov 2010 by Maclennane


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super for the price, 20 Oct 2010
For the price you will not find a better head torch. Petzl head torches are all excellent, but I certainly feel this is their best value for money torch. It gives a good main beam and the economy light is lighbt enough to read a map. It certainly does not have as many features as some of their more expensive torches, but if you are doing hill walking or DofE at any level, or walking/running the dark in those cold dark winter mornings, you will not go wrong with this torch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tikkina 2, 4 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product. Bought for hunting around in my loft and the illumination is superb even on low setting, lights the whole place up!. Very comfortable to wear too. Quality product which I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light all night - love it!, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this head torch to use on a trek that would take us right through the night (Oxfam Trailtrekker).

It needed to be:
- bright enough to give confidence to each step;
- light enough to wear all night long without being bothered in any way by it;
- have sufficient battery life that we wouldn't be held up changing batteries halfway through the night.

Success on all fronts!! I'd highly recommend it! ... and it was a great price too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The usual Petzl quality, 24 Mar 2013
By 
R. Holmes (Orkney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have tried many different brands of headtorches over the years, both for work and leisure use (caving and mine exploration, camping, working on remote lighthouses etc), but none come close to Petzl for durability and reliability. They just do not let you down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quality is there but be amazed, 12 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last New Years eve (2011-12) i was more than annoyed because supply of the rather large and bulky square 9v Duracell battery, you know the one the one that weighs more than this new Petzl Takkina were very difficult to locate.

So much so that i had to cancell my annual pilgrimage up Snowdon to see the New Year in with loads of other hardly souls, and to rub salt into the wounds unlike last year the weather was perfect,very mild and dry.

I decided on the purchase of a new Petzl headtorch to replace my trusty caving style version, the one that takes the halogen bulb and has the bulky battery case on the back.

A visit to my local Cotswolds store in Bettws Y Coed proved what a difficult task it would be to choose a new headtorch with so many to choose from.

Some have multiple L.E.D bulbs when others like this Tikkina only have two.

There is one thing that you will not discover in a well lit shop, and that is the intensity of the new LED bulbs.

I was a bit aprehensive in buying the basic two LED bulb Tikkina thinking that the slightly more expensive Tikka 2 was the better torch with it's four LEDs.

I need not have worried because the intensity of light emitted by just two LED bulbs with three brandnew AAA batteries was startling.

This is one aspect of choosing the right torch that will not come across in a well lit shop.

The difference in light intensity emitted from LED bulbs compared to the old halogen bulb is remarkable.

What is more remarkable is that LED bulbs can last up to over 100,000 hours or even longer due to their overall design and structure.

An LED bulb unlike its older halogen relative has no internal filaments or moving parts that will eventually break down and stop working just when you do not want them to.

During extended testing LED bulbs just gradually loose their light intensity but this happens over many years resulting in a headtorch if well looked after will last a very long time.

When before a large heavy 9v Duracell battery would last say twelve hours if left on continually whilst powering a halogen bulb, it is totally the opposite for the LED bulb.

Petzl kindly supply three new Duracell AAA batteries with every headtorch they sell and if left on continually in this Tikkina model on the lower light setting they can last an amazing 55hrs of continued useage.

If you have not experienced the difference in performance of LED bulbs compared to the old halogen bulb you will be very surprised indeed.

I had thought only paying £15 for my new Tikkina headtorch i could not be getting a torch of sufficient quality to walk up Snowdon in the dead of night in mid Winter.

How wrong i was.

The build quality of this basic model Petzl is remarkable for the price and when you install the provided batteries they fit really well and designed in such a way that if you want to run or take part in a active sport requiring a headtorch the batteries will not dislodge themselves, the fit is one of a quality torch not one costing just the price of two large 9v Duracell batteries.

The Tikkina is as basic as they come with just two light settings,high intensity or economy to save on battery life, but when i can purchase four new Duracell AAA batteries for £1.99 whats the point in using the lower light setting, it will not effect the life of the LEDs if you use them on low or high setting,the only reason for the torch in having an economy setting is to extend the life of the batteries..

For just over £15 this is definately the headtorch to go for if you want a well made headtorch for everything from night hillwalking to general DIY maintenance or to even keep in your car for emergencies.

Once you experience the intensity of just two LEds in a dark enviroment you start to wonder why Petzl bother to produce torches with more bulbs.

More light obviously but when you see how intense two LEd bulbs are you may think is it worth it, for night time walking or running the answer is a definate NO.

All you will do is dazzle oncoming traffic or other pedestrians.

Put it this way, the Tikkina out performs my older holagen Petzl even on its economy setting.

A great little torch with a very comfortable adjustable headband with a light output that has to be seen to be believed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 5 Nov 2010
I received one of these for my Birthday last year...and I love it!

I use it when I lock up my chickens in the Winter first and foremost...very useful handsfree product...recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My old Petzl (a bulky device with torch bulb & separate battery pack) cost more, so I wasn't expecting much. How technology has moved on! Lightweight, bright, economical - it's a little masterpiece. An excellent 4 star lamp. Would be 5 stars except for the fact that it's not a penetrating distance beam... but that's not what I paid for anyway. OK then, 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal spare light to have around, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Dylan Hayes (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Far less bright than the other models, but enough light to walk or work on things, and uses the same well proven petzl headband system that it adjustable and comfortable. Althoug there are cheaper copies around, for it's intended use as an emergency light, I rather have something I can trust.

It's ideal to leave in the car for emergencies, like changing a wheel in the dark.

My only grip, is that I wish it had the emergency flashing mode that other petzl models have, as that can be handy in an emergency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have two of these now and they are spot on. Great for walking the dog, getting about the campsite, following your trail or working under the car in the dark. Not silly bright so I'd probably consider something else if I was scaling the edge of a scramble in the dark, but the trade off with this one is that the battery lasts for ages so its a great compromise....don't buy the high output ones for campsite use or you will get cheesed off with buying new batteries all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's as good as its price, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good quality product and I am happy with what I got for what I paid for it.
I also acknowledge that there are better products out there (actually, some of them are of the same brand) but one has to be prepared to pay 3 times as much.
I have yet to test it properly in an outdoor experience but I am holding my fingers crossed I won't be disappointed.
I like this product and even on touch if feels like a good quality product so surely can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Petzl Tikkina2 -
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews