Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2012
This game is soooo addictive! it may not be as fancy as some of the other titles in the series but will keep you occupied for hours at end. the game is designed for windows XP but depending on your computer the game should work. I have a Dell, and the game crashes occasionally, but my cousin has a Lenovo computer with windows 7, and the game works great. I really recommend this. Fun for all ages.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I have had this game since it was developed and feared that I would not be able to get it to run on Windows 8. My existing discs would not work. However, I found reviews on Amazon which indicated this particular pack would work, so I sent for it. There were only a couple left, so I was very lucky.

It works well, so I can continue to enjoy it.

I also have its sister programmes - Rome, Greece and China - and they all work on Windows 8 too, but not as easily.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
I lost this game when I moved from XP. Now its compatible with the latest version of windows. Either a strategy game or a true free build where you can edit the map. Wonderful.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Sadly this game does not run satisfactorily on my Windows 8.1 installation. Like everyone else I used to like Pharaoh at the time of it's original release and fancied a bit of nostalgia but the old software and latest (at the time of writing) version of Windows don't get on very well.

The 1024x768 maximum resolution doesn't look so good on a 1080 widescreen monitor. The game will not run properly in a window on my computer, just full screen. That I can put up with but the frequent freezing and crashing with the sound effects repeating like a scratched CD makes it unplayable, more so when the task manager (ctrl-alt-del) has trouble pulling the computer out of the crash too.

It's a shame but the software does not claim to be compatible with Windows 8, it was just a shot in the dark to see if it is.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
Dont buy any Sierra Products that were made to run on win98 millenium and XP.

They will NOT work on the majority of Windows 7 computers, Your just hitting your head 15 times a day, when it crashes, and theres no getting out of the stuck sound, other than restarting computer. Using XP2 compatabilty mode on 64bit OP systens has no effect , and you will still get" Incompatable program" Error triangle Once you tried it. Sad, but shame Sierra is longer around to update their titles to win 7.

had to sell off my second pack from Amazon at a boot sale. Why Microsoft don't make some other software that changes win7 to a virtual XP operating system temporary so you are able to continue playing the older games I really dont Know. Seems pointless selling these anymore. As XP computors are now obsolete, because there ancient AGP grpahic cards, can not handle on line gaming, and most stand alone games produced in the last 3 years.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Do pleased that this is still bopping around; I remember playing this game as a teen, a must have classic to add to your collection!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Great old school builder game. Worked perfect on my windows 7 laptop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
Whilst this game is not exactly new, if you are looking for a city builder then this fits the bill. Easy and entertaining. recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Good quality item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
watt a great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)