Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly portrayed by Julie Walters
If you didn't see this back in January - you have to buy this DVD. A touching true story about a doctor (Julie Walters) who nurses her husband through his degenerative illness and some time later, following his death is herself diagnosed with PSP - also a degenerative illness.
She has symptoms which she initially keeps from her children, but they become worried by...
Published on 24 Jun. 2009 by Mrs. J. Jones

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depressing and remorseless
I first saw this television film in RE at school while we were studying euthanasia. We didn't have time to watch the entire film, so I watched it again today. It's one of the most depressing things I have ever witnessed. However its existence is necessary in order to educate people about assisted suicide (and maybe change the laws in this country). The acting is high...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by Darren M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly portrayed by Julie Walters, 24 Jun. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
If you didn't see this back in January - you have to buy this DVD. A touching true story about a doctor (Julie Walters) who nurses her husband through his degenerative illness and some time later, following his death is herself diagnosed with PSP - also a degenerative illness.
She has symptoms which she initially keeps from her children, but they become worried by her mood swings and general health. She eventually tells her children that she has PSP and they are devastated by the news.
As the PSP gets worse she decides that she would rather end her own life than go through the same pain & suffering that her husband did and so she makes enquiries about a euthanasia clinic in Switzerland and then convenes a meeting with her children to tell them of her plans.

A heart wrenching true story. One of the best films I have seen in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story of family and courage, 13 May 2009
By 
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this way back in Jan this year, and I loved it (as much as you can love a true life story such as this). Although the content of the programme is rather sad, I didn't find it sad or depressing at all. Cried my eyes out from 15 minutes in all the way to the end (and still get goose bumps now).
It shows the courageous story of one individual (and her family) and her struggle with a terminal illness.
After watching her husband deteriorate, suffer and die from an a terminal illness Dr. Anne Turner is diagnosed with PSP. We watch her battle her family and friends with the idea of wanting to take her life by euthanasia. The last scenes of this are short film are incredibly touching, and make you remember that the only things that matter in life is family!!

A story of love, courage, and family!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Portrayal, 6 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
This film depicts how the entire family was affected by such a tragic health issue, how they all reacted and gives the viewer some "food for thought" in relation to what changes could be looked into with regard to current laws regarding euthanasia and assisted suicide.

Tissues would be stringly reccommended, Julie Walters is one of the countries best actresses and portrays "Ann Turner" (the main character) brilliantly.

I would rate this film as a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brave and thought provoking film, 9 May 2014
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
Julie Walters plays Dr Anne Turner who has watched her own husband fade away through a dreadful degenerative illness. Shortly after his death she is diagnosed with a similar illness herself. Having witnessed her husband's feelings of frustration and helplessness she decides to take matters into her own hands. After discussions with her devoted children she puts into place a plan to visit the Dignitas clinic in Switzerland to end her life at some point. Unfortunately not everyone is understanding and one friend makes her disgust very clear. Of course, assisted suicide is a very controversial and emotive subject matter but one would hope that friends could at least be supportive once a person has made such a heartbreaking decision. My only complaint about this film was that I found Dr Turner's grown children to be ridiculously clingy. Although they all seem to have high powered jobs they can be summoned at a moments notice and the way they all fuss over her is a bit much. For many with elderly or sick relatives the logisitics of juggling care and work is something of a nightmare. Julie Walters performance is sensitive and realistic.
Of course this is a dreadfully sad film. I took some comfort in the fact that people living with incurable illness do have the option to take some control and choose the moment that they pass away (assuming they can afford the £9,000 that Dignitas charge). Of course the individual has to be able to make the journey themselves or the people assisting them can face prosecution which means that some may end their lives earlier than they really wanted. In my personal opinion, it is a pity that they have to travel all the way to Switzerland to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oustanding performance!, 28 April 2009
By 
A. Prasad (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film when it was aired earlier this year. This truly is a great production, focussing on an extremely sensitive subject. Dr Anne Turner's moving story is done justice by Julie Walters & co, who approach the subject with such grace & respect, that it is difficult not to find yourself immursed. I'd highly recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dvd, 21 Mar. 2011
By 
T. J. Mckenna - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
This is a thought provoking dvd and shows why greater consideration should be given to extending human rights in the UK to those that are available in Switzerland. The right to an assisted suicide should be available in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant viewing, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
B. White (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this programme on TV and Julie Walters plays the part absolutely brilliant! It brings home as to why Euthanasia should be legal in this country. I have a terminal illness and I would follow this path too. Why make people suffer? If we were animals we would be put to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 1 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this with my daughter originally and now have watched several times to remind myself of the pain and the beauty of dying, why I became a nurse and to admire the courage that people have when facing the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In one word: Outstanding!, 14 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliantly acted throughout and true to the real story, this drama is nothing but outstanding and one of the best BBC drama's screened of late. A must watch regardless of whether you are pro or anti euthanasia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly brilliant, 12 Sept. 2014
This review is from: A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] (DVD)
A short stay in Switzerland follows the journey of a mother who has a degenerative illness and wishes to end her life.

I was so taken aback at how moving this film was. It really showed the scale of emotions that both the person with the illness can feel, and how family members can feel.

Julie Walters, as always, is absolutely magnificent in this film. Had me and my whole family crying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD]
A Short Stay In Switzerland [DVD] by Simon Curtis (DVD - 2009)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews