Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant!!!!
The Very Best of Thunder....Danny Bowes was one of the best hard rock singers Britain has ever produced. Luke Morley was the new Mick Ralphs in waiting. Thunder were huge in Britain and were growing in Europe. What happened???.

It's ironic that along with the band, EMI have released this incredible boxset. For it was EMI who broke and dropped Thunder, by means...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by Tommo 18/7 ©

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding hard rock anyone?
This 3-CD compilation has most of the songs on the studio albums Thunder made for EMI, some songs from their "indie" career after that, some B-sides and a whole CD of live tracks, mainly from 1990 shows. While there is no doubt this is an honest and genuine trawl through their career, the problem is that the songs and tunes are not that good in the first place. The studio...
Published on 22 Jan 2011 by Stan FREDO


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best band ever, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. D. Rowe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Will be buying the whole collection of their albums. Absolutely brill band. So sad to hear its their farewell tour this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stonking album 3 c ds of solid thunder, 23 Feb 2010
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
why do we not hear more of this most underated band, most of us will already have these tracks somewhere in oyr collection but just to get some of the live tracks and odd b-sides that are on this it was well worth the money, definaetly recomended for anybody ,exccelent value for money (3cd set)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of thunder, 10 Sep 2009
Thoroughly enjoyed this three CD set, it covers all aspects of the bands music, the live CD being particularly good. I would definitely recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Storm of an Album, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Basher (Caerphilly) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thunder at their very best. If you like this band or want to purchase your first Thunder album, this is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playing the 'wrong tracks'?, 15 Mar 2010
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There is an error in Windows Media Player, which displays the incorrect tracks.

The music played matches the tracks on the amazon web site, and matches the tracks listed on the jewel case.

The item is not defective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding hard rock anyone?, 22 Jan 2011
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This 3-CD compilation has most of the songs on the studio albums Thunder made for EMI, some songs from their "indie" career after that, some B-sides and a whole CD of live tracks, mainly from 1990 shows. While there is no doubt this is an honest and genuine trawl through their career, the problem is that the songs and tunes are not that good in the first place. The studio tracks are fairly rigid when they should, you know, "boogie" a bit more. Compare the covers Thunder made of The Faces' 'Stay With Me' and The Rolling Stones' 'Gimmie Shelter' (both featured here) to the originals and you'll get my point. Clearly, the drummer in Thunder is no Charlie Watts or John Bonham. On some other tracks, though they are 'originals', you'll find glimpses of bigger songs written by others. I suppose you had to be there to appreciate Thunder. And, indeed, the 'live' CD is marginally better than the other CDs. Newcomers should go to Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, The Georgia Satellites or even Cinderella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didn't receive item, 30 Dec 2013
Odrered this item in plenty of time as it was a gift for my husband. It never arrived contacted seller who informed me it must have got lost in post
Was refunded but this didn't really help as resulted in missing the birthday it was intended for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thunder are a poor man's Whitesnake!!!, 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I have been a fan of rock music since I was 8 years old and this is my first Thunder cd that I have brought because of the great price it's being sold for at the moment. I have listened to all 3 cd's and some of the best songs which Thunder do are the cover versions of other peoples work that are as follows: Gimme Some Lovin, Stay With Me and Gimme Shelter. I also love the two songs She's So Fine and Empty City which remind me alot of Whitesnake. The last cd is all live and thats where Thunders music comes alive the most. Overall they are a very avarage rock band and thats why they never made it big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews