Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!
I bought this as a trial Blu-Ray - it's awesome! if you're a muso and you know anything about the real music scene, it'd be a crime not to have this in your library just for the house band alone: Nathan East, Paul Jackson jnr, Greg Phillinganes, Paulinho Da Costa, John Robinson and David Delhomme! But anything with Quincy Jones involved - even as a spectator can't fail to...
Published on 15 July 2009 by Uncle Daudi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD Buyer
Like the content on this DVD but as someone else commented the sound quality lets it down badly. Not recommended
Published 7 months ago by Bond


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 15 July 2009
By 
Uncle Daudi (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a trial Blu-Ray - it's awesome! if you're a muso and you know anything about the real music scene, it'd be a crime not to have this in your library just for the house band alone: Nathan East, Paul Jackson jnr, Greg Phillinganes, Paulinho Da Costa, John Robinson and David Delhomme! But anything with Quincy Jones involved - even as a spectator can't fail to impress

The video of this concert seems to be refreshingly recorded without overdubs - so it may not be perfect but the rawness of it adds to the product. There's even a radio mic that doesn't work at one point which is reassuring for all of us in the business!

However raw it is though, the performances won't fail to put a huge smile on your face - Patti Austin performing "Makin' Whoopee" is amazingly fresh and with the likes of Petula Clark and Herbie Hancock all on the same stage, it can't fail but to create some magic. And when I say it's 'raw' that doesn't mean it's poor, it just means it hasn't been polished up in a studio afterwards which is rare nowadays!

Buy it, soak in it and play it to all your music loving friends, they'll thank you for it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a line-up, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
M. F. Hinawy "Msitu" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I started watching the DVD on Blu-ray I was not only amased by the Picture quality but the line up that was on offer. MY only disappointment was not seeing another Genius BOB JAMES in the line up but he was represented well by his FOURPLAY collegues Harvey MASON, Nathan EAST and one former member Lee RITERNOUR. Al JARREAU looked splendid so was my fav all times woman JAZZ singer Patty AUSTIN. The are many more artists on offer and what a night it must have been at MONTREUX.

If you are a true JAZZ fan this is one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like?, 19 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Celebration Live At Montreux 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
This show leaps out of the screen and speakers at you. I am over 60 and EVERY artist on here knocks me out (especially Naturally 7!!!).... even Pet Clark. I didn't get the Bluray version but the big band sound in DTS on Let The Good Times Roll is the best ever on my great home cinema system. If you think you MIGHT like it then just go ahead and buy because you WILL!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Concert, 11 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Celebration Live At Montreux 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
Once i had seen this on amazon i had to read the synopsis and it made for fantastic reading the in house band superb. Moving on from that though as a follower of jazz/fusion/soul and therefore a follower of some good session musicians the rest of the line up didn't dissapoint either. Included in the line up Herbie Hancock, Al Jarreau (fantastic on "The Dude"), Leidisi, Rashaan Patterson, and many others.There are 2 discs to watch and while the first one is good i like the funkier content on disc 2 . I have watched quite alot of concerts on DVD and the quality is sometimes very poor. This one is very good quality both in terms of visual quality and where the cameraman takes you. I fully recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Celebration DVD..., 23 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Majhi "Majhium" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Celebration Live At Montreux 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a fan of Quincy Jones as a Producer then latterly Performer since he produced "Off the Wall" MJs first truly solo album. This DVD is simply excellent and the very personal and skilled individual artist performances from some of the worlds finest musicians and singers only services to consolidate just how important Quincy's influence has been in the world of contemporary music from Classical to Jazz to Film to Pop - a true giant! Long may it continue so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quincy Jones, 13 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a big band fan it does not get any better than this. Even non big band fans amonst friends enjoyed all of the music. The sharp pictures of blue ray made this a special dvd.
A standard that all music dvd makers should copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Joao Gomes (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding. Image and sound are perfect.
The concert is the best in my collection.
The Swiss Army big band is a very good surprise.
For me, the number one performance is Killer Joe by Herbie Hancock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quincy's triumph, 15 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing gathering of great musicians, all together to celebrate Quincy Jones' 75th birthday and all playing great jazz. An enormous highlight for me was the appearance of Patti Austin who's albums I have collected for many years now but have never had the opportunity to see her perform. This was just great! Also Chaka Khan who is a legend. Joe Zawinul and Patrice Rushen, Nathan East are all wonderful musicians, and without knowing he was included, there was a great appearance from Australia's James Morrison, who played trumpet and later trombone. The "a cappella group" Naturally 7 was an absolute standout!

Well worth the investment for jazz lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly entertaining!!, 12 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Celebration Live At Montreux 2008 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely fantastic!
Such an entertaining concert full of varied talent.
Lovely informal atmosphere, many big names just enjoying jamming with each other in honour of a performer they all love and admire.
If you love Soul/Jazz I strongly suggest you watch this,so entertaining, we loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wietny koncert!, 30 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rewelacyjny koncert!
Dawno nie s''ucha''em takiego czystograj'cego bigbandu. Fenomenalni muzycy i przede wszystkim HD Master Audio!!! Najbardziej ze wszystkich podoba' mi si' wyst'p NATURLLY 7! O, mamo! Tak czysto 'piewali, 'e a' chcia'em ich wy''czy'! S' nieziemscy w swojej bran'y!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quincy Jones 75th Birthday Celebration Live At Montreux 2008 [DVD]
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews