Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sturdy
I don't know why people are saying they took 2 hours to fit it because there were no instructions, it came ready assembled with 2 long screws, 2 short ones a couple of stand-offs and some washers.

Some frames have mounting holes near the top of the seat stay tubes for fixing a rack, if your frame does not then you will need to use (make) an adapter for this...
Published 9 months ago by Indigo340

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Make sure your bike has seat post attachment points!
Arrived with no instructions but from other reviews was expecting that. Bought it as its specifically for disc brakes and looked solid. Sadly when I had figured the mechanics out, my bike lacks the seat post attachment point for this rack.
Possibly could have been clearer in the description. Having said that it does seem sturdy and fitted the disc brakes really...
Published 6 months ago by JoG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sturdy, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
I don't know why people are saying they took 2 hours to fit it because there were no instructions, it came ready assembled with 2 long screws, 2 short ones a couple of stand-offs and some washers.

Some frames have mounting holes near the top of the seat stay tubes for fixing a rack, if your frame does not then you will need to use (make) an adapter for this rack. The arms that hold the rack to the seat stay tubes will need to be bent or twisted slightly to match the angle of the seat stay tubes, this is the most difficult part of attaching it to the frame but fairly straightforward.
.
You also need to have threaded holes on the frame next to the wheel spindle for attaching mudgaurd stays, without these, you will need to find another way to mount this rack or choose a different rack.

My only gripe is that the plastic block attaching the front arms to the rack is not fitted squarely, the threaded fixing holes are out of line, this puts the rack slightly out of line. It's hardly worth returning it for an exchange item since it's probably a common issue and any replacement will probably be the same so I will carefully bend the arms to compensate.

The 'mousetrap' spring is very strong, I will probably remove the whole clamp and spring which I have no use for, a bungy net is a far better option anyway.
There are very few racks for MTB frames that can be used with disk brakes for this price so you have to expect a to do a little DIY if you buy one.

Overall this is very sturdy, nicely finished and will do the job well (after some small adjustments), I only gave it 4 stars because of the holes in the plastic block being slightly out of line but for most people this will not cause any real issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite sturdy!!, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Bridge (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
Having a bike with a rear disk I was unsure whether the rack would fit and be sturdy. I am pleased that although it is wider than standard racks (to fit over the disk), it is still very sturdy. It was okay to fit and the matt finish makes the rack look as cool as a rack can look on a Kona MTB. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disc brake mountain bike pannier rack, 8 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
Great rack for mountain bike with disc brakes. Was surprised as how light the rack is weighs next to nothing. Very easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bike rack, 13 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
Took ages looking for a reasonably priced bike rack for a disc brake bike and finally thought to look on amazon. Price is almost half of the others and when it came fitted on the bike easily and seems very solid it can't carry as much as the more expensive ones but since I wasn't needing it to carry massive loads it's not a problem. Ideal for a first timer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alloy pannier rack, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
Great product well worth the money, it is perfect for any mountain bike. It has a adjustable height point so plently of clearnace depending on what tyres you have on. It's also lightweight and has good support conections so very sturdy no matter what terrain your on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rack, 7 April 2011
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
Strongly made, easy to fit.

Not had a chance to use it with loaded bags on yet, but doesnt look like it will cause any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job well, been going strong for 2+ years, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
I found this easy to fit and has pretty much been maintenance free for over 2 years. It has carried some considerable weight with no problems. Good value and no problems fitting to my bike with disc brakes. I have also managed to fit a mudguard underneath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good cheap rack, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
This product arrived very promptly. However, it arrived wrapped in a sheet of plastic with no instructions (which may be useful having seen some of the comments!!). But it was very easy to fit with a little logic and a bike tool (the same that you use for tightening brakes etc), and in 15 mins I was good to go. It fit onto my Specialized hard tail without touching the disc brakes and feels pretty sturdy...not sure how long it's going to last but i'll keep you updated! So it's a four star rather than a five star because a little sheet of basic instructions might be appreciated by novice DIY buyers. The rack is light and discreet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
W. Brook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
It arrived promptly and has been fairly easy to fit - not tested it in anger yet though. I did have to use my initiative as there were no assembly instructions with the item but it was pretty easy to work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice pannier, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes (Misc.)
Nice product, good powder coating, relatively easy to fit, but could do with some instructions. However it's not hard to figure it out.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alloy Pannier Rack Fits Disc Brake Bikes
£17.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews