Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ministry's best chillout compilation since The Chillout Annual 2002...
This is easily the best chillout compilation Ministry Of Sound have released in years, a wide selection of classic chillout tracks, balanced out with plenty of brand new and slightly more obscure tracks, which definately gives it the edge over the cash-in that was Chilled Vol.1.

Highlights include Mr Scruff's jazzy 'Get A Move On' on CD1, a gorgeous piano...
Published on 22 May 2009 by C. Wheeler

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilled Beats, But Not What You Expect
The Ministry Of Sound now have been putting out a lot of chillout material since around 1999, and to be honest with you, it's all been rather mediocre, the usual suspects, like Groove Armada, Jakatta (which has been used on nearly every documentary since 2005!) and Kinobe - who are no synonymous with the genre, it would take a bulldozer to separate them, so it's not...
Published on 8 Aug. 2009 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chilled Beats, But Not What You Expect, 8 Aug. 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
The Ministry Of Sound now have been putting out a lot of chillout material since around 1999, and to be honest with you, it's all been rather mediocre, the usual suspects, like Groove Armada, Jakatta (which has been used on nearly every documentary since 2005!) and Kinobe - who are no synonymous with the genre, it would take a bulldozer to separate them, so it's not surprising that this stuff is on here, but to be honest with you again, there's some really unexpected cuts on here, I really didn't expect the MOS to use the rather dreamy World Party track with Is It Too Late?; and Sébastien Tellier's Kilometer.

I have noticed a lot of people complaining about the ads not having the same sort of music which they portray, yes, that is true, but this CD is actually better than I expected, and some great music can be found here. Although it's minimalistic in some ways, it's really there for you to chill out, and getting rid of all that excitement which might be preventing you from sleeping, or just to take the anger out of you from a busy day, and I have to agree that this compilation is just the ticket. I would suggest getting this if you don't have any other MOS releases, otherwise you're just going to duplicate a lot of tracks from other albums and it feels a bit of a rip off.

There are some nice surprises on here, and it's a good mix (well only CD3 is "mixed") that will help you relax. Really fed up of hearing Jakatta's American Dream though, it's become too popular and annoying at the same time.

If I were you I would look at the MP3 version as you get the full tracks, and then just set your MP3 player or software to crossfade, it's the same thing as the MOS but you get the full mix, which sometimes is more relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ministry's best chillout compilation since The Chillout Annual 2002..., 22 May 2009
By 
C. Wheeler (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
This is easily the best chillout compilation Ministry Of Sound have released in years, a wide selection of classic chillout tracks, balanced out with plenty of brand new and slightly more obscure tracks, which definately gives it the edge over the cash-in that was Chilled Vol.1.

Highlights include Mr Scruff's jazzy 'Get A Move On' on CD1, a gorgeous piano version of Massive Attack's 'Unfinished Sympathy' on CD2, and some light and breezy remixes of Eric Prydz's 'Pjanoo' and Friendly Fires' 'Paris' on CD3.

Each disc is great from start to finish, with plenty of thought and care going into the order of the tracks, CD3 being particularly superb.

Great for Chillout fans old and new, plenty of variety, quality and quantity, and gorgeous artwork and packaging.

A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ad!, 18 May 2009
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
I was given the first Chilled album from last year, and thought it was good although improveable, Disc 3 and the chilled house was the highlight for me. It's difficult to like these albums when they're so familiar and potentially overplayed, but in terms of as a music collection if you haven't got a chill album this is spot on - some really amazing records i'd forgotton about (808 state, sneaker pimps, aim), some obvious but nice additions (coldplay, zero 7, jakatta), and some generally new bits (friendly fires, sebastien tellier, lindstrom). plus a few very very nice records from primal scream, ballistic brothers and The Prodigy (haven't heard that record in ages!)

so a decent nod to new records, a lot of good classics, and a good middle ground of club records.

and the reason for my review header, I saw the ad on telly and thought it was amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really what it says on the tin, 23 Jun. 2009
By 
L. Holland "DemonEnigma" (Dronfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
Now before I explain my 3 stars I will say straight away that there are some fantastic tunes on these 3 cd's - unfortunately half of them are not what I'd call 'Chilled'.

Picture yourself by a pool in the Algarve, watching the sun go down in Ibiza, or simply relaxing on your bed - and then listen to Roots Manuva 'Witness (1 Hope)' and ask yourself if it sets the scene.

Disc 3 could have been left out as far as the Chilled title goes although there some top tunes in a dance / progressive house sort of way but not something you could drift off some place else to.

4* for the music
-1* for calling it 'Chilled'
= 3* and a baffled look all round

Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was chilled, now livid!, 5 July 2010
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
This album is anything but chilled... I have a number of chill out albums, most notably cafe del mar and hed kandi. MOS Chilled II is a rap/dance album. The first album in the collection; MOS chilled I is quite ok, but this is awful. CD 2 is playable just, but just look at the other reviews, I with I'd looked a little closer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biggest pile of rubbish, EVER!!!!, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
S. Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I made the mistake of impulse buying this album after seeing the TV advert. It turns out the few songs sampled on the advert are the only ones worth listening to. The rest sound like backing tracks used on £2 novelty electric keyboards mixed in with what sounds like someone frantically shaking tropical trees and sqeezing the contents of an exotic aviary.

If you want some nice relaxing music this summer, my advice is not to buy this pathetic excuse for music. Instead, sample last years "chilled" album on youtube or something and cut out the rubbish tracks buy buying the individual singles that appeal to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first, 1 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After buying the first album "Chilled" which I love, I couldnt wait to buy the second version. Unfortunately I was very disappointed: poor song selection, poor mix, the same songs you find on EVERY chill album.

If you have the first version. Don't bother with the second, you will have all the songs already on other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!, 26 May 2009
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
I will keep this short and sweet by telling you this is probably the best chillout album ive heard throughout 3 discs! The album just oozes quality on all 3 discs and the biggest shock of all here in which i had to bang my head against a very hard wall just to make sure i wasn't dreaming is that it is actually a "MINISTRY OF SOUND!" album.... MMMmmmmmm maybe i didn't hit my head hard enough cos MOS don't make good albums anymore do they? ;0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rip-off - it's not really chilled, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. John H. Davis "johnnywebtribe" (Charlton, London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
As another reviewer has stated, the songs in the ad are some of the few chilled ones that feature on the second cd. The rest is uptempo, almost dance stuff. Disappointing. Get the Chillout boxset instead - especially the download version with 4 hour-long bonus mixes :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diappointing, 28 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. Ian Ashmore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: CHILLED II 1991-2009 (Audio CD)
I bought this product seeing the adverts on the TV. I was very disappointed with it when I played it. I agree with the other person who scored it 1. The tracks on the tv advert are the only ones worth listening to. I wouldn't buy this album if I were you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CHILLED II 1991-2009
CHILLED II 1991-2009 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews