Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era
Those who participated as performer, audience or organiser in the Woodstock festival in 1969 were probably unaware that these three days were to mark the end of an era. Altamont was just around the corner, Vietnam would escalate and the idealism and spirit of 1967 could not last. The Woodstock festival drew together some of the greatest performers of the era and many of...
Published on 14 Jun 2009 by UK Deadhead

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Gift.
This was bought as a Christmas Gift for a member of my family so will not be opened and played until Christmas Day. The item arrived on time.
Published 9 months ago by JoanB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era, 14 Jun 2009
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
Those who participated as performer, audience or organiser in the Woodstock festival in 1969 were probably unaware that these three days were to mark the end of an era. Altamont was just around the corner, Vietnam would escalate and the idealism and spirit of 1967 could not last. The Woodstock festival drew together some of the greatest performers of the era and many of these performances went on to achieve iconic status as did the artists themselves. This 2CD set replicates the original issue on three vinyl LPs. The sound has been remastered and is much improved. The 'scars in fine leather' comparison of the original vinyl release still holds true but the scars are not much harder to identify. There is no additional material on this release. For that you will have to seek out the 4CD set or 'Woodstock 2'. This recording improves on a historic musical artefact and is as such, an essential addition to any collection.Woodstock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Man!!!!, 14 July 2012
By 
Mr. R. Powell (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
This album always holds happy memories for me. Back in the early 80's my cousin was in the army. We had (have) similar tastes in music and every time he came home on leave he would have a clutch of interesting new albums for me to listen to. His leave would also mean there would be a family gathering at his house and an opportunity for me to listen to the said albums. On one such occasion he played this album to me and it had an immediate effect. I'll always remember during Country Joe's 'Fish Cheer' my father and uncle trying to cough conveniently when the crowd answered Country Joe's question 'What's that spell' so my Grandad could not hear what it spelled. But the reason it still remains in my collection is of course the music. Some of the biggest and most important artists of this era are here as well as some that might raise an eyebrow and the question 'Who?' from the younger generation.

Amongst the less well known would be the aforementioned Country Joe who gives us his impassioned anti Vietnam war anthem 'I Feel Like I'm Fixing To Die Rag', John Sebastian with a couple of hippy drippy acoustic gems and Sha Na Na's wonderful 50's rock'n'roll. The highlights are too many to list here but the pick of the bunch must be Hendrix's Star Spangled Banner, Joe Cocker's 'With A Little Help....', and The Who's 'We're Not Gonna Take It'. All the artists turn in excellent performances, and in some cases career defining, which is quite amazing given that the area was close to being a disaster zone. And that fact makes it even more amazing that these recordings sound so good. Yes they are a bit rough around the edges but it was 1969 and a disaster zone. Speaking of the sound, the remastering is excellent. I had the old edition and this is a huge improvement which also includes an informative essay about the event.

If you're trying to decide whether to replace that old cd edition you've got or wondering what all the fuss was about I recommend you go out and buy this. Just don't go shouting out the answer to Country Joe's 'What That Spell' if the kids or Grandad's about!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch the film, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
You are really better off getting the artists studio albums or watching the film Woodstock. Sound quality is as you would expect for a 1960s outside live recording. Some of the playing and singing is pretty dodgy - at its worst fror example on the Canned Heat song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the event perfectly, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
Had this set of albums on plastic back in the 70s but wore them out . Apart for the awful Paul Butterfield track ( I love Paul Butterfield this track is crap!) ,this is a must for any lover of 60s music . The quality of the recordings are excellent given it was put down in 1969 ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars woodsock, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
5 ,stars for originality exactly how I remembered it sounding!
if you were there for the original you will love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
I bought this for my brother and he says this is a must have for any old school hippie types out there,Santana and Richie Havans are the best parts .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
A fantastic record of a unique event, complete with squeaks and rattles (authentic!). The second album is also a must, and try to watch the film too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippie fest, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
This is a great cross section of the works available from the festival. Great music and well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest festival ever, 8 Sep 2014
By 
K. nicholson "Sax Mad" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
As festivals go they don't get any better than Woodstock. I have had the triple album since the mid 70s. To think some of the planets finest musicians performed over those 3 days in a far of time that is still timeless today.
From the opening by Ritchie Havens through the sublime Joan Baez and the farout Country Joe MacDonald it's just a rollercoaster of amazing music and it's all brought to a close by the greatest guitarist that ever lived.
Just pour a drink and be transported back in time to the garden.
Love and peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woodstock (Audio CD)
Groovy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woodstock
Woodstock by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews