Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funky disco beats.
a classic album for any disco goer with a history. It combines soulful ballads such as 'when will i see you again' with funky disco beats as in 'red light', my personal favourite. Their effortless voices mixed with catchy rhythms and melodies make this an unforgettable blast of serious 60's music.
Published on 11 Jun 2001

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDED RIP-OFF
Save your money and buy a TD CD that sounds as well as looks like Sheila Ferguson. HUGE disappointment, which was as soon as I played "The Runner"

I don't doubt the current members of the TD are all excellent vocalists.......but when you remember the Three Degrees with Sheila Ferguson, and it's her on the front cover......you want SHEILA FERGUSON!
Published on 18 Jun 2009 by Mr. D McGrath


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funky disco beats., 11 Jun 2001
By A Customer
a classic album for any disco goer with a history. It combines soulful ballads such as 'when will i see you again' with funky disco beats as in 'red light', my personal favourite. Their effortless voices mixed with catchy rhythms and melodies make this an unforgettable blast of serious 60's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lasted longer in Europe than America, 19 May 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Three Degrees were one of the most successful groups to emerge from the Philadelphia soul scene in the seventies. Their American success was limited to their Philly sound period but they continued to have success in Europe, particularly Britain, for a few years after that. Their music is a wonderful mix of ballads and up-tempo material but may generally be described as easy-listening disco music.
This collection contains most of their British and American hits, including TSOP (their only American number one hit) and When will I see you again (their only British number one hit). Both those tracks are from their Philly sound period, which is also represented here by other great songs including Dirty old man, Year of decision and Take good care of yourself, the last two of which charted high in the UK.
After they switched labels to Ariola, their British hits included Golden lady, Jump the gun, Giving up giving in, Woman in love, The runner and My simple heart.
A few minor hits are missing but all the essentials are here. This is not the strongest ever collection of their music released on CD, but it is as good as anything else available as I write this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RE-RECORDED RIP-OFF, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. D McGrath (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Save your money and buy a TD CD that sounds as well as looks like Sheila Ferguson. HUGE disappointment, which was as soon as I played "The Runner"

I don't doubt the current members of the TD are all excellent vocalists.......but when you remember the Three Degrees with Sheila Ferguson, and it's her on the front cover......you want SHEILA FERGUSON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Degree Of Singing, 20 Sep 2010
By 
J. Trueman "John T" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I Seen them in the Film The French Connection, this gave them a boost Chart wise just love their Sound real good songs on this album, favourites of mine Take Good Care Of Yourself, The Year of Decision
....Soulful Singing here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb voices, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. D. Fisher (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I consider thier hits to be limited in that theres not loads of them (they were no Supremes) in this respect. However, thats a little harsh becasue the singing is A1 and Fergusons best asset is .................. her melodic voice of course (what else) ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure nostalga, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Dickie (Noth East En gland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (MP3 Download)
Takes me back to my hay day...good stuff...lovely to sing along to or for background music whilst working or at a party. reccommend and cheap too....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic group, fantastic collection, 12 Nov 2008
By 
R. Storer "beachcomber" (blackpool. england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is one of my most played cds..still. they are such a slick trio, and a lot of quality is on this cd. even today, with a different line up, you would be hard pressed to find a more slick group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Fantastic Compilation Which Includes The Very Best Tracks Only', 8 Mar 2013
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
For once, 'The Very Best Of The Three Degrees' is a compilation which delivers exactly what it claims to on the tin. From the girls earliest hits on Philadelphia International Records to their later more euro-disco Georgio Moroder produced hits this compilation provides good coverage of their very best cuts. The album also works surprisingly well as an album listen (if a little long) mixing ballads with pop, soul, disco and euro-disco. There's a memory with every groove here as well and I bet you won't be able to listen to 'My Simple Heart' without thinking of H.R.H. Prince Charles who, as publicly stated, loved the song at the time. Almost all of the songs included here are 7" edits but the full 12" version of 'T.S.O.P' is included and is a nice touch. I think this is one of the best compilations I have ever heard and listening to it has made me want to purchase more albums by 'The Three Degrees' - now THAT is the sign of a good compilation!

Buy this - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
By 
G. W. Whitehall "Gordon" (Liverpool (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NICE CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by THE THREE DEGREES
Buy MP3 Album£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews