Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys from the valley have done it again!, 21 May 2009
By 
Mr. Gm Mandley "Gazman" (Maidstone, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
I, like many others have eagerly awaited the second offering from FOTL, and I, like many others was not dissapointed! Kicking off with "Arming Eritrea" with a hushed intro eventually kicking into a chunky riff, and the slightly confusing opening lyric of "Come on Rick, I'm not a prize, I'm not a cynic or one of those guys!" Who the hell Rick is is anyone's guess really but a great opener! There are some more moments of Falco's strange synth on " Throwing Bricks At Trains" and "Yin/Post Yin, and these stand out as completely different to anything on "Curses" before! One of my personal favourites has to be "You Need satan More Than He Needs You" with great shout along chorus, and some heavy, repetative synth and drum backing plus typical Falco style shouting! Sadly "That Damned Fly" sounds a bit lacklustre after this, but that's not to say it's a bad song (there isn't one on the album, to be truthful).

"Drink Nike" I get a feeling is a sly dig at the "Hoody" Youth culture ( or "chav Scum" as we like to call them round my way!) with it's "Those kids, I swear, drink nike" lyric! Closing track "Lapsed Catholics" starts with a nice picked guitar and some spoken word stuff about Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman and sky news being a "Hysterical, Gung Ho, Technicolour, Crap fest" (Genius!). This then gradually evolves into some nice, loud, balls to the wall rock of the highest order! Basically buy it, it's damn good.......................Nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much More Than Just Leftfield, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. A. T. Walton "Adam Walton" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
Don't allow this incredible album to elude you because you're not hearing Zane Lowe proclaiming its brilliance, or because Falkous, Mathias and Egglestone aren't on T4 every other weekend, or because they're frequently painted as being too tricksy and angular for general consumption and enjoyment.

'Travels With Myself and Another' is an album that's appeal stretches way beyond the leftfield.

On the surface, it is a thrilling rock album. Few bands wield as much sheer power as cleverly and sinuously as Future of the Left.

It's a cliched set-up for a statement, I know, but there *are* more ideas and memorable hooks in this album's first song, Arming Eritrea, than on the entirety of Kasabian's recent plod-a-thon. Kasabian shouldn't feel too aggrieved. Everything that has been released in a long play format so far this year pales in comparison.

This is a pop album, in the same way that The Pixies 'Doolittle' was a 'pop' album.

And it is, perhaps, as good (I'll have to see if I'm still listening to Travels With Myself And Another in 20 years to give you an honest answer on that).

There is great, subtle variation, here, from the warped but accessible hooks of 'Throwing Bricks At Trains' and 'Yin / Post Yin' to the apocalyptic synth funk of 'You Need Satan More Than He Needs You'.

All of this great music serves as a brilliant foundation for Andrew Falkous's cryptic and always fascinating lyrics, and his visceral delivery.

I could blather on about Travels With Myself And Another for pages and pages, but that would be wasting your valuable listening time.

If you're still undecided, play a quick and simple game of trying to find a bad / mediocre review of this album.

There aren't any. Not from authoritative sources, anyway.

That's because it's a chaff-free beast of an album. 33 minutes of focus and Falkous. If you hear any better this year, please please please let me know, because that would have to be a stonewall classic, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gods of Electricity, 21 July 2009
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
Any band that films its videos in Cardiff's much loved but massively under threat Vulcan pub just below the International Arena should be a greatly adored institution. If the said band are as good as Future of the Left it is a bonus of epic proportions. FOTL are a hybrid mix of two former giants of the Welsh music scene Jarcrew and Mclusky. the latters "To hell with good intentions" remains one of the most underrated rock songs of all time. FOTL build on this pedigree but also transcend this leagacy. They are the frontier leaders in the maths rock genre and a band whose brutal, witty, spiky, snarling, venomous and bloody hilarious post punk rock songs are some of best this side of the Rio Grande river never mind the River Taff.

I never thought I would hear a song as good as the Queens of the Stone Age "No one knows" for its raw simplicity and sheer tub thumping euphoria. A case of "Ye of little faith" as it turns out since "You need Satan more than he needs you" on Travels is its thrilling counterpart. Its lyrics that contain the odd swaer word mean that it will not be gracing the charts in the near future but is brilliant shouty rock of the kind that will require Andy Falkous to make an early booking into the Heath hospital for a throat operation. This album is littered with highlights and of course the usual great titles (although nothing to match the earlier "the world loves us and is our bitch").

I love the poppy but jagged "Throwing bricks at a train", the driving epic of "I am the civil service". Alternatively "Lapsed Catholics" starts off with a spoken discussion about impressive prison breaks from films like the Shawshank Redemption until about 2 minutes in it turns into a roaring punk song as powerful as anything you will hear this year (and 10 times more relevant than anything Green Day can do). Influences abound not least of all the Gang of Four, the Fall, Half man half biscuit, the Pixies but this band has enough of a track record to claim it own originality and uniqueness. They are also as catchy as swine flu. Listen to the anthem "Drink Nike" and try not to bounce.

In the context of the current play of Welsh bands I must admit a deep loathing for the Manic Street Preachers with the notable exception of the wonderful "Motorcycle emptiness" even though I know people who would assault me in the street for such a statement. There has always been a much more interesting set of Welsh bands who never quite stormed the music charts but were brilliant all the same and overloaded with such talent that it was a wonder that any stage would take their weight. The gentility of the Young Marble Giants and more latterly Gorky's Zygotic Mynci is one strand of this. On the other strand are bands like the joyous Los Campesinos! the sparkling melodic indie of north Wales new sensations The Joy Formidable and not forgetting the godlike genius of Shakin Stevens! FOTL are a thrilling addition to this all these traditions.

The album clocks in at an economical 33 minutes and not a second is wasted or subject to filler (if you want two hour albums get Yes's "Tales of Topographic Oceans and a razor blade for your wrists). The Future of the Left is currently hotter than solar flares and release magnetic energy in a way that most bands can only dream. When you have finished this go out and buy "Last night night I saved her from Vampires" their great live album but not if your a fan of Reverend and the Makers who are subject to a vicious and hilarious verbal assault in the album opener .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Muscular, jagged, and often hilarious rock music, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
Perhaps one of the most critically acclaimed bands no-one's heard of, and Wales' best musical export since forever, Andy Falkous and co. are on stunning form on album no. 2. Kicking off with the absolutely storming 'Arming Eritrea', the album beefs up the band's not inconsiderable attack while still adding more compositional variety into the mix, with acoustic guitars (!) even making appearance on massive album closer 'Lapsed Catholics', along with a hilarious monologue from Falkous about Rupert Murdoch, among others. On the almost poignant 'Throwing Bricks At Trains', their trademark distorted keyboards are utilized in more sophisticated ways than ever before, and album highlight 'You Need Satan More Than He Needs You' crunches and stomps its way to instant anthem status with massive drums and a shout-along chorus.

The real genius here, though, comes from Falkous' lyrics. Spitting more venom than a whole family of cobras, he takes on everyone and everything with a shedload of surreal, vicious and brilliant lines - whether railing against 'Rick' (c'mon rick, I'm not a prize!),dealing with relationship issues ('what kind of orgy leaves a sense of deeper love?'), discussing cutlery ('hidden in the mass of letters lies the awful truth, that emma's mum and dad use plastic forks) or even tackling existential questions ('it doesn't smell like a man, it doesn't talk like a man, but does it f**k like a man?'). His delivery is also perfect, full of bitterness and sarcasm in the best possible way.

Musically, the album hits like Ali on a good day, with some especially nasty distorted bass giving the album a grimy, feral sound that makes other so called 'heavy' rock seem pathetic by comparison. Moreover, the frequent use of distorted keyboards instead of guitars (which are still present however) adds texture and musical variety even when the band's attack is at its most unrelenting. 'Saviours of Rock' is a horribly cliched term, but after a few listens to this astounding album, it begins to ring dangerously true...

recommended tracks: Arming Eritrea, Throwing Bricks At Trains, Lapsed Catholics, You Need Satan More Than He Needs You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what we can call a BAND, 5 May 2011
By 
Daniele Mantovani "pippicuea" (Padova, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hey! Few words because i can't write good english and also because i know i am a little late with this album. I am delighted from the music that comes out from this record and i think that WE are in front of a real BAND that honestly rocks. I really can't compared FOTL with bands such like Franz Ferdinand, The Muse, Coldplay and many others that sell thousands of records. I really would like to see Future of the Left on top of the charts knowing that this would mean a better world! Sorry! 10 STARS TO THIS BAND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at it's most obscure, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Jeph Hammel "Jeph" (Harwich, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
For the uninitiated, Future of the Left can be very hard to follow. For those of you who have already heard the fantastic "Adeadenemyalwayssmellsgood" and "Curses" then expect more of the same, but maybe a little less extreme. If you haven't heard them before, then you're in for a shock because this is a very alternative band and can only be described as musical marmite - you either love them or hate them.

Hardcore fans of McClusky may hunt down and kill me for saying this, but I feel that FOTL are a stronger song writing machine than Andrew Falkous' previous incarnation.

Here we have a band that can branch from crazy, jumpy, almost wacky indie/dance to screaming, shouting, sludgy sounding metal in the space of a breath. But they are by no means Mathcore. The album opener for this second full-length outing is "Arming Eritrea", which immediately hits us hard with their harsh keyboard sound and dirty, driven guitars. Moving with ease into a bassier, more rythmic "Chin Music".

As with previous efforts, the band move between styles easily and although songs such as "That Damned Fly", "Stand By Your Manatee" and "Land of My Formers" follow a similar path to the opening tracks, there are tracks that are like nothing you would have heard before.

"You Need Satan More Than He Needs You" is a prime example, along with "Yin/Post-Yin" and "Lapsed Catholics". The latter of which ends the album and features some extremely funny lyrics.

If I was to chose a stand-out favourite then I would go for the pacey, quirky "Throwing Bricks At Trains", which features a hard keyboard sound and sing along lyrics.

This is certainly something that requires extra listening to fully appreciate the genius. If you are part of the "Love it" group, then you should keep listening to pick up all of the eccentricities. The lyrics, which are often shouted in Falkous' helium balloon voice, are so clever and witty that they can pass you by until a later listen.

Genuine entertainment value and a definite favourite band of mine - well worth a try as they may show you a world you have never explored before. Although, I would recommend newcomers try the first album "Curses" before hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT ALBUM FROM FOTL, 31 Aug 2009
By 
D. Bradley "Bradders" (The Hague) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
I'm not going to go on about this album track by track etc... it's great; buy it. Buy their first album too and buy anything by McClusky and Jarcrew. Honest, funny and balls out rock...
(and they've mastered bass distortion for us - yes!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Future of the Left, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Travels With Myself And Another (Audio CD)
I bought this for a present as requested by the birthday boy so I don't know how good it is but the service was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Travels With Myself And Another
Travels With Myself And Another by Future of the Left (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews