Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely but not boxed...
This puzzle is really nice quality but comes in a wooden frame wrapped in cellophane and so once it is opened, it doesn't always stay as together as I would wish for. I prefer puzzles to come in boxes so they can be stored on the shelf or in a box on their side without losing the pieces.
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Mrs. N. England

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well made but no picture for child to follow
This jigsaw is nicely made and comes on a shallow wooden tray to hold all the pieces together - but there is no picture for the child to follow, other than a small one on the information sticker on the back. With nothing to copy, this jigsaw is too challenging for a young child (such as my four-and-a-half-year-old son), which makes it rather uninviting. Disappointing...
Published 15 months ago by Alex Drew


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely but not boxed..., 27 Mar 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
This puzzle is really nice quality but comes in a wooden frame wrapped in cellophane and so once it is opened, it doesn't always stay as together as I would wish for. I prefer puzzles to come in boxes so they can be stored on the shelf or in a box on their side without losing the pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we love it, 14 Aug 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
can't tell you in words just how great this jigsaw is. my 3 1/2 year old son is obsessed, first thing he does everyday (and we have had it over a month). tough durable pieces, great quality toy. would make a very popular birthday present for a 3/4/5 year old boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic jigsaw, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
Well made jigsaw. My son (almost 4yrs old) loves this jigsaw. After we made it together a couple of times, he can now do it himself. In fact he's done it so many times that he now completes it in record time! And he still goes back to it although we also have other jigsaws now. It doesn't come with a box but the wooden board it is on has a lip so the pieces don't fall out if stored correctly. All in all a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only jigsaw my son actually likes!, 28 May 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
The picture of the completed puzzle is small, and the dragons head piece is confusing.. But overall this is absolutely brilliant!! My son got this for his 4th birthday. He's really not into puzzles, but this is the exception. He loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely jigsaw, 2 Oct 2009
By 
D. E. Middeton "Addicted2Ink" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
this jigsaw is lovely! its so well made and a bit of a one off on design. its bright in colour, well made, wooden- which is always a bit of a classic, and a great price.my wee boy loves it and i do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No picture for guidance!, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
There is no picture of what the finished jigsaw should look like to guide the child when completing this puzzle. The only (very small) picture is on the revewrse of the board, which will be completely out of sight when the child is putting the jigsaw together in the tray. Completely diminishes the other strengths of this jigsaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well made but no picture for child to follow, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
This jigsaw is nicely made and comes on a shallow wooden tray to hold all the pieces together - but there is no picture for the child to follow, other than a small one on the information sticker on the back. With nothing to copy, this jigsaw is too challenging for a young child (such as my four-and-a-half-year-old son), which makes it rather uninviting. Disappointing given the usual attention to detail of Melissa and Doug products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
Great puzzle, good quality as always for Melissa and Doug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Quality is not there, this is made of plywood not stiff card like many other Melissa & Doug jigsaws, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pirate Adventure Jigsaw Puzzle (48 Pieces) (Toy)
Unlike the stiff cardboard jigsaws that I have bought and reviewed from the Melissa & Doug range
This is made of plywood. The jigsaw sits in its own frame also plywood
The frame started to fall apart almost as soon as it was out of the packaging, not splitting in half but the side edges flaking of leaving ragged edges and bits on the floor.

The jigsaw pieces then also started to deteriorate around the edges with bits flaking off or splitting off as it was played with. It was not abused as such, this is a kids jigsaw and it should be up to the job of kids trying to fit bits together that do not go, then removing those bits to try again. Plywood is not a good product to use in those situations where the ply is only a few millimetres thick.

Shame
My kids love this jigsaw
1 its pirates
2 its in its own frame (so they can carry it to you, to show you its finished)

Its just not made from the right material for kids.

Lastly the printed image of the pirate ship is rather good, with lots of bright colours
and a large skull and cross bones (Jolly Rodger) main sail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews