Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Being Ernest
There as no trouble with the ordering and delivery of the disc; it was well up to your usual standard. I was a little disappointed with the quality of the re-mastering of the film. There is considerable fluctuation in the colour shade and the sound is not clear. I realise that the film is of some age and that there would be difficulty in the re-processing but I thought it...
Published on 29 May 2012 by highwayman

versus
44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superb adaptation, but very poor sound mars main feature
Asquith's is a superb adaption of Oscar Wilde's very funny comedy. The film is undoubtedly worth a 5 star rating, but unfortunately the sound of the main feature is extremely muffled (at least there are subtitles for the hearing impaired!). This is despite the claim on the front cover that the film has been "digitally remastered". It's really, really hard to follow the...
Published on 28 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I love the play, but the recording sent to me was awful., 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
There was something definitely wrong with the sound track. Both on my television and my daughter's, we had to have the sound up to maximum and then we could barely hear it. Any slight noise in the room and the sound was lost completely. Other than that it was lovely to see the old version again.

We both watch lots of DVDs - this was the first time we had experienced this poor sound quality. I bought Nicholas Nickleby at the same time and although an old recording, the sound track was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good film bad sound, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
The film is good, but the dvd is not so good because the audio is so bad you can't hear it very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This DVD was spoilt for us by the dreadful sound, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Wonderful film but the sound was so bad that it was difficult to follow what the actors were saying. The lines are full of humour but if you can't hear them it is very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually excellent but poor sound level, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Good quality picture but the sound level was very low - had to crank up the volume level on player. Bought this for my other half and he loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film VERY POOR sound Quality, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
It is a shame that a very good film is ruined by such a poor sound recording track.
I've put three stars because of the film, which I know is an excellent film from previous viewings, sadly I could not watch this dvd.
This was because the sound quality which even being a little generous is a dull inaudible mumble!!
I find it hard to believe that Amazon allows this quality of product to ruin their reputation.
I brought it from Amazon rather than an independent as in the past this has guaranteed quality.
It would seem Amazon has gone the Yellow slit eyed way of doing business, just to extract money.
This is done by having products that look good are moderately priced but in reality is poor quality CRAP!!!
WAKE UP AMAZON TEST THE PRODUCT... Your putting your good name to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD review, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film...it is one of my favourites. The only trouble was that the sound quality was very poor and I couldn't increase it. Tried all ways but to no avail. I bought the film especially to show a friend of mine. She also enjoyed it apart from straining to hear what was being said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Magnificent Film Ruined, 13 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. Derek R. Osbourne (New Malden, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Importance of Being Earnest is one of my favourite movies adapted from one of my favourite plays written by one of my favourite playwrights - but the sound quality on this DVD is awful and entirely ruins the enjoyment that we should be expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wilde’s Delightful Comedy Satire, 12 May 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This 1952 Anthony Asquith-directed (and adapted) version of Oscar Wilde’s light-hearted satire is a joy to watch and, whilst being (of course) defined by Wilde’s dextrous and witty wordplay, the look and feel of Asquith’s film at times reminded me of Robert Hamer’s classic Ealing (admittedly darker) comedy, Kind Hearts and Coronets. Asquith was also fortunate to be able to assemble a near-perfect cast for 'Earnest’ and the visual and aural qualities of the production are exemplified by art director Carmen Dillon’s beautiful ‘stage sets’ and Benjamin Frankel’s sparse, and alternately jaunty and ominous, musical score.

Michael Redgrave and Michael Denison play the pair of 'identity crisis-suffering’ aristocrats, respectively Jack Worthing and Algernon ('Algie’) Moncrieff at the heart of Wilde’s comedy of manners, both feigning ('bunburying’) their ‘true’ identities (for ‘imaginary Ernests’), thereby circumventing 'society protocols’ in order to secure the affections of Joan Greenwood’s demure and nervy, Gwendolen Fairfax and Dorothy Tutin’s Cecily Cardew. Standing in their way, however, is Edith Evans’ bravura performance as the 'prim and proper’ (and tyrannical) Lady Bracknell (mother to Gwendolen and aunt of Algie), the 'absolute gorgon’, whose grilling of Worthing as to his 'credentials’ for Gwendolen’s hand forms one of the showpiece scenes in the film (and features Evans’ legendary exclamation, 'A handbag!’). Elsewhere, each of Margaret Rutherford’s shrinking, tutor, Miss Prism, and Miles Malleson’s bumbling rector, Canon Chasuble make up Asquith’s superlative cast.

Wilde’s satirical take on social pretension and convention is (predominantly) relatively light here, and frequently hilarious – with its focus on that societal cornerstone, 'earnestness’, and privilege, as Lady Bracknell quips, 'Untruthful. Impossible, he was at Oxford’. But there are also hints at the author’s perhaps more personal (moral) concerns, such as when Algie observes, 'More than half of modern culture depends on what one shouldn’t read’. Much to admire, here, therefore and Wilde’s 'Dickensian’ narrative twist at the film’s conclusion is brilliantly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of any version, 21 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I did not require a recommendation from anyone when purchasing this DVD. I already owned a VHS copy of it and just wanted to upgrade to the more recent and improved format. I seldom rate anything with a maximum of a five stars but this one is exceptional
with a wonderful cast Dame Edith Evans will forever be remembered for her explosive utterance of " A HANDBAG ? !". As Lady Bracknell
she will forever reign supreme. Full justice is done to Oscar Wilde's masterpiece.
Allan Ashby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's that damn sound., 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I would not normally bother to review a film of this quality and reputation, but the sound really is appalling and all copies should have been recalled - I am amazed that anyone who has taken the trouble to write a review to state the obvious about the reputation of this film can fail to acknowledge and warn that it is, in the sound department at least (even the picture is mediocre) a disgrace - and an Oscar Wilde play at that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952]
The Importance Of Being Earnest [DVD] [1952] by Anthony Asquith (DVD - 2009)
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews