Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great excitement and adventure (not for claustrophobics), 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Dr. Geoffrey Kemball Cook (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
A stunning book in (almost) every way. Full of huge characters, great excitement and adventure (not for claustrophobics), and of course great mystery. I would seriously wonder about anyone who could not get a lot from this book.

Howevers:
1. It was written after an expedition that took place in 1956, and so there are some attitudes and descriptions that might be phrased differently if the events took place now (we would say that we are a little more advanced now than he and his party were...). To set against that, there is little doubt that many of the adventures described within would have been approached very differently in this age of omnipresent Health & Safety.
2. Heyerdahl was well-known to favour his own ideas that Easter Island was colonised from the east (mainland S America, particularly Peru), and he has been criticised for "being selective" or even ignoring evidence that colonisation proceeded from the west, as the tag-end of the gradual eastward spread of Polynesians (ultimately from Asia). Well, if a Big Idea leads a man to lead an outstandingly successful adventure bringing the first true archaeological investigation to the island, I guess we can make some allowances. You can of course read more recent accounts based on follow-up archaeology (such as Easter Island, Earth Island) which give a strong argument against Heyerdahl's ideas, and make up your mind.

I decline to remove a single star for either of these caveats.

Nevertheless,even if many of Heyerdahl's conclusions are ultimately thought to be incorrect by the academic consensus, this book is thrilling and inspirational. REAL ADVENTURE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aku-Aku Review, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
I read and enjoyed the Kon-Tiki expedition and thought Aku Aku looked interesting. I was not disappointed! The book provided a really eye opening insight into Easter Island, its history and myths. Thor gives enough information to really get the imagination going. Sometimes Thor made me laugh with some of his comments as he likes his readers to know he is the boss of the expedition! Theres some good pictures in there too, although you can tell the book was written a while ago! Recently bought another copy of the book for my mate as thought he would like it too.

If you want an adventure book and interested in Easter Island you cant go far wrong with this. You can pick up copies of this book very cheap too if you don't mind them being a bit battered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aku-Aku Thor Heyerdahl, 25 May 2004
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Hardcover)
Aku-Aku was the first book by Thor Heyerdahl that i encountered. I have since read the Kon-Tiki expedition and Fatu-Hiva which are also great works in themselves. Aku-Aku is primarily an account of a year spent away from western society on the tiny speck of land that is Easter Island. Thor Heyerdahls work is rich with description of the immediate surroundings in which he spends his time. The language he uses is often poetic, and at times quite beautiful as he describes what is quite possibly the most remote inhabited land on earth. Aku-Aku is however no mere travel dialogue. It is a book filled with high adventure and wonderful characters who welcome Heyerdahl into their way of life with open arms. The simplicity of their lives is in great contrast with the mighty stone monuments that litter the tiny island in their hundreds. To investigate these monuments is of course the main purpose for Heyerdahls's presence on the island, and he does not disapoint the reader as he searches relentlessly for answers to age old mysteries. In short Aku-Aku has everything that could ever be asked of a book. It has a main character who everyone would love to have as a travel companion, while at the same time it introduces some of the most genuine and friendly people one could hope to find anywhere on earth. High adventure and mystery awaits the reader around every corner in the account of a year in the life of one of the most extraordinary men who has ever lived. This book will not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY SPECIAL STORY, 15 Feb. 2005
By 
Mrs R Williamson (Thirsk, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
I read Aku Aku many years ago. It is an account of Thor Hyerdahl's journey to Rapa Nui (Easter Island) with his family,and discovering many secrets of the Island. The truth of this Island is stranger than fiction. Many years later I was lucky enough to meet Thor Hyerdahl at an Easter Island Foundation conference at Alberque University and a few years later on Easter Island. I expected disapointment as I had built this Island up in my mind, instead I found the most magical place in the world. Thor Hyerdahl manages to convey this magic in Aku Aku. Still my favourite book in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great background if yo are planning a trip, 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
A great read, especially if you are planning a trip, subject to the vagaries of the author's theories. It seems he is still well known on the island, and at least one expedition member spent a good deal more time there in later years, putting statues back up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recycling, 1 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
good to find recycled books where the main price is the postage. This gives people
the opportunity to find books they want to read without having to buy new, and this book
was delivered in good time and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the navel of the world, 23 April 2007
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
thor heyerdahls novels are in my mind,the most absorbing books you will ever read, i bought aku aku in tel aviv and travelled back home by boat, train and bus happily ensconced in the world of easter island,its history and its people.
i have never found another writers book,that can draw you in like thor heyerdahls.
aku aku is about his first expedition to easter island,and his study of the statues and the people of the island.
the way it is written,you are drawn into the individual lives of the people,that make up the population of easter island , and through their lives and there forebears lives,the mystery of easter island is slowly unravelled.
so if you love travel writing,history and anthropology,books that will transport you to places you have never been,buy this book and pass it on.its to good to keep it,collecting dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
Just started reading this book. Fasinated with the story of Easter Island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans of Rapa Nui, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aku-Aku (Paperback)
Not finished reading this yet but a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book as described by the seller; however the delivery was left outside in the rain which caused some damage, 10 May 2014
By 
Rob "Rob" (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is a shame that the delivery person decided to leave a book outside in the rain in a cardboard cover; the book was very wet and damaged as a result; there was a dry storage box which should have been used. There seems little the seller could have done, although if they used a plastic waterproof pack for shipping books, then there would not have been any damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aku-Aku: The Secret of Easter Island
Aku-Aku: The Secret of Easter Island by Thor Heyerdahl (Hardcover - 1958)
Used & New from: £23.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews