Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back Sabbath - Greatest Hits
All the stuff you expect from Black Sabbath with Ozzy at his best and the others burning hotter than Hell backing him up. All their classics though there are a few more I can think off not on here but still a great CD for Sabbath fans or newbies. Great songs like Paranoid, Iron Man and War Pigs all the songs that the local boys TRY to play down at your local pub but NEVER...
Published on 30 July 2012 by A F Middleton

versus
34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another "greatest hits" package to add to an already huge list.
Being an avid rock and metal fan for nearly 15 years now, and spending much of my free time searching for missing albums or EP's to fill in gaps in my collection, these greatest hits releases certainly to me personally are largely irrelevant as i'v not wanted to spend my money twice, for very often buying the same selection of songs spread across many of the albums i...
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by Agma


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back Sabbath - Greatest Hits, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
All the stuff you expect from Black Sabbath with Ozzy at his best and the others burning hotter than Hell backing him up. All their classics though there are a few more I can think off not on here but still a great CD for Sabbath fans or newbies. Great songs like Paranoid, Iron Man and War Pigs all the songs that the local boys TRY to play down at your local pub but NEVER really get it right. Don't waste money on the newer 'remastered' CD's they are no better than this one. Go on treat yourself you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLACK SABBATH, 26 Sep 2009
By 
C. Thraves "cruiser" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
My wife bought me Black Sabbaths greatest hits as a surprise and i was over the moon as i have been a great fan of them and Ozzie Osbourne for years. I certainly wasnt dissapointed as some of the tracks brought back great memories for me as i hadnt heard them for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation Of Sabbath Greatness, 2 May 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
CD Info.
Black Sabbath Greatest Hits, 1970-1978.
14 Tracks.

Review.
This is a excellent compilation of Black Sabbaths first 8 albums featuring lead singer Ozzy Osbourne.

This album features the original Black Sabbath line up that's full of Sabbaths iconic monster rock riffs & dark moody lyrics that delivers some of the most inspiring influential music to come out of the 70's era.

This album has all the classics from Iron Man-Changes, Paranoid-Sabbath Bloody Sabbath the Brummie rockers deliver there most loved hits in spades.

One of the best Sabbath Greatest Hits albums to date & a ideal purchase if your a casual fan & don't wish to purchase the entire back catalogue, Yet for hardcore Black Sabbath fan's this is an essential purchase.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another "greatest hits" package to add to an already huge list., 20 Jun 2009
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
Being an avid rock and metal fan for nearly 15 years now, and spending much of my free time searching for missing albums or EP's to fill in gaps in my collection, these greatest hits releases certainly to me personally are largely irrelevant as i'v not wanted to spend my money twice, for very often buying the same selection of songs spread across many of the albums i actually already own.

So for Album collectors such as myself will find very little in terms of value in this at all, however album completeists particularly Black sabbath crazy heads who must have ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING released by Black sabbath will no doubt include this in as well, (If only for this classic looking cover!)

Ozzy only fans of the black Sabbath era may well find terrific value in purchasing this as the song selection is quite good as "MOST" of the stone-cold classics from the ozzy period are on here, crazingly though missing out any tracks from the Sabotage album which is surely one of their best, why none from this album made it on here is beyond me! but at least we were saved from the poorish contributions on "Technical ecstasy" but then again though, so was the best of Black sabbath 2006.
This Greatest hits track listing is for the most part very good in my opinion, and it's main market would probably be directed towards newcomers to the band or the occasional fan, unfortunatly in recent years we have been awash with these best off's and greatest hits across the music board i might add, which sadly to say in many ways eclipses the value of this new addition.

But now though it has really got to the stage where they are starting to become pointless, there are now a bucketful of choices to choose from. This does at a glance look like a blatent cash-in to coincide with Heaven and hell's new album "Devil you know" (make up your own mind on that one!) but i guess the value of this greatest hits CD to you, will all depend really on how much of a fan you are, if your new to Sabbath starting here would definately be a smart choice to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars if you are a fan, what more would you want ?, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
A 'best of' albrum from a legendry and iconic band. No doubt about it, this is a pretty complete collection. 'Paranoid', 'Children of the grave', 'Iron Man' etc, they are all here.

As with all 'best of' album, it comes down to whether you liked the band, or not. If this is your cup of tea, it is an absolute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
no probs and great listening, head bangind days over but still brings back the memories and range of music tastes and moods. delivery and quality fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where's the digital booklet?, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this earlier today via the android Amazon mp3 app on a Samsung S3. There's no sign of the digital booklet which should come with it. I've searched for it every way I can think of. Can't find it.

If this doesn't work for android downloads then that should be made clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath Greattttt! Golden oldies from my youth., 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
Golden oldies from my youth. Rock Classic tunes that never date .Great!!!! Classic stuff - early rock chick, check out Black Sabbath, Snowblind and NIB and War Pigs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so black, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
I'm not the biggest fan and there are a few 'best of's and 'Greatest Hits' out there. However, this seems to contain all I want from BS.

What I do like is the inclusion of a few melodic tracks like Changes which shows the lighter side of BS.

Take your pick but this was better than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sanctuary (Audio CD)
Good old ozzi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sanctuary
Sanctuary by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
In stock on December 22, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews