Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Skype but a bit complex, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
I appreciated all the other reviews here and was confident to make this purchase for my Dad who has memory problems. It's a great phone for Skype and SIP ( using voipfone in UK). When receiving a Skype call all you have to do is press the red speaker button and the video call starts. Perfect. Now my dad can be connected on Skype, and the product has so far (1 week) been rock solid reliable.

Complex:
If you want to make a Skype call you need to press the Skype softkey, and then select the person and then click the "call" softkey - for an older person this starts to get complex. Worse, when you finish the call it is a 2 step menu choice to minimize the Skype app to get back to the home screen. Not easy for my dad, so we just get other people to call first - if you are buying this for an older person etc then you will need to train them. They should upgrade the firmware so the screen just returns to the home (date, weather) screen after 5 minutes or something. Make it foolproof and easy!

Also, there is no speed dial!!!! You can't set a key for a quick dial. Again perhaps something a firmware upgrade can fx.

Overall though it does the one job needed - to receive Skype video call - the quality is excellent (remember to tweak the settings for max 512k bandwidth setting) and my dad is much happier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandstreams answer to the Germans "Eierlegende Wollmilchsau", 21 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
Believe me I have been waiting for this long time.
5 Years back I was already considering a solution like the GXV3140.
At that time the devices came with some kind of VOIP account bundle. So I was skeptical.

Especially Grandstream as a budget maker has a long history for hit or miss products.
If Grandstream can pull this product of the right way, make it work and actually deliver on the promises the brochure gives then this will be a 6 star product.

Grandstream has been promising before features that didn't make it into later firmware versions. So when I heard the GXV3140 comes out with all this killer applications built in I was even more skeptical.

The GXV3140 is clearly a device that focuses towards "one size fits all" - in other words - quantity.

The GXV3140 must be Grandstream's answer to the Germans "Eierlegende Wollmilchsau."*

- Skype
- Twitter
- Facebook
- Google voice
- Browser
- IM (Gmail, MSN, QQ, Yahoo)
- Weather
- Calender
(Display of holiday names in local language)
- Currency converter
- Calculator
- Stock ticker
- RSS feeds
- Mp3 player
- Internat radio (streaming)
- phonebook
- 3 sip accounts
- TV out connection (audio/video)

- USB port
- SD slot

With this vast amount of functionality the device can literally fulfill "little" technical wonders.
As a sidenode: The "bigger" wonders are fulfilled by you during the configuration period ;-)

The key to this success is that - after configuration - the user can enjoy all those applications without PC knowledge.

With all this privileges comes of course a new level of responsibilities. So keep in mind that running so many applications on a network device naturally increases the risk of becoming unstable.

The good thing (from security point of view) is most applications need to be started first before they can be used.

So first advice I would give is to update to the latest firmware.
(Users have been complaining about stability on earlier version.)

--- Update June 2010: ---
Since the official GA release of Firmware 1.0.1.18 (GA) on 24th August 2009 the phone has come a loooong way.
It became considerably more stable and usable.

--- Update November 2010 ---
Latest firmware version is 1.0.7.3

--- Update March 20111 ---
Firmware was overhauled and Interface feels now fast and snappy.
Especially web browser seems to have been improved again.

--- Update April 20111 ---
Linux Skype Ver. 2.2.xxx is now fully working with the GXV3140
This means that Grandstreams GXV3140 / Skype client now fully works with Windows / Mac / Linux Skype clients !!
Lets hope that next Skypes mobile client versions will include H.264 video.

Its pretty cool to have that much functionality after the initial 4 days of configuration.
So I don't need to startup my PC for smaller tasks anymore and my desk looks cleaner too.

My only complaint (for now) is that 3 sip accounts is no way enough for me.
(I would require roughly 6+). If you use 3 incoming DIDs (Tokyo, London, New York) with different providers and 3 others for outgoing calls than you already have an issue.

It can be an invaluable advantage to change the provider at a push of a button when the carriers voice quality varies. (as it does with many budget providers).

Having said that The GXV3140 has a remarkable voice quality even when the network is sluggish.
I am (still) a long term (5+ years) SNOM 360 user (and fan) and was buffled that the GXV3140 delivers even better voice quality.
The voice is literally crystal clear. Your partner will hear you taking a breath in and out. (and that's no joke !!)

I have to confirm yet if Netmeeting will work with it.
Ekiga does (think of it as a sip based Netmeeting) and there are other compatible softphones out there too like f.e portsip, eyeBeam etc.

Its pretty cool that you can receive PC calls.
This means that your partner does Not have to buy the GXV3140 if (s)he doesn't want to.

The video experience itself is pretty cool too, you can start to consider it a replacement for a video conference system.

For ADSL / SOHO users:
With Video Bit Rate : 256kbps it feels still like a web cam experience.
But, the video size is sufficient to confirm that its your mum on the other side.
That alone can make it worth if you live far away from people you care about.
I have read stories about it being used in health care as well.

For professional users:
With Video Bit Rate : 512kbps - 1024kbps it delivers quality like a video conference system.
The video can be output on your TV screen.
The quality is so good that it will bring tears (not only) to your granny.
That stuff just wasen't possible not so long time ago.

The key to being able to enjoying it is the networks latency and that is where you (usually) don't have influence in long distance calls.

Nevertheless we have been running tests between Tokyo (Japan) and Frankfurt (Germany). The slower end of the line ran on a DSL 384 kbps SOHO connection.

We found that it gave us sufficient performance to make us want to deploy it further.

Summary:

Spending $250 on a VoIP phone is not cheap, but with this amount of functionality its well worth considering. You get the most used functions accessible from your desk for the fraction of a power consumption a PC has.
In addition it also offers non technical users accessible functionality in a new package.

If you think about being able to see the people that are close to you, whether or not they are within the same building or on the other side of the street, the country or the ocean, then this alone is a big time motivation.

While the video experience alone might be the most attraction for some, for me its really the combination with the other applications that pull each separate function together and make it a whole package.

Also note while most phones are not used when you dont call, this phone has a screensaver, digital photo frame function, mp3 player, internet radio streaming function, weather function, currency converter etc. all build in.

Have I even mentioned yet that the interface currently already supports 11 languages ?
English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Chinese (twice), Korean, Japanese etc. - (the last language I am guessing is either Russian or perhaps Greek).

Overall, in its current state I think its well worth 4 stars.

Three things that immediately got my attention:

First, upgrade your phone to the latest firmware.
Second, I personally would like to see the GXV3140 offer at least 6 sip accounts.
This way I could take all current accounts from the "old" phone over to the new phone.

Thirdly, I would loved to see the device design more elegant and in different colours than black. (f.e coffee cream or pearl white) perhaps at some time skins will be available in several colors.

* A fairytale pig, which in addition gives milk and lays eggs and with a skin made of wool. You get the idea ? ;-)

This product shows Grandstreams commitment to develop it towards a six star killer application.

--- Stay tuned ---
Comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Great, Functions Well., 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
Phone arrived this morning and on first impression was pleased with the build quality. The menu was simple however it is a little slow to respond sometimes even when not actually selecting anything, just moving between options seemed to be a little bit laggy.

This phone is advertised as Wifi, but take note that you need to purchase the Wifi Adapter separate. Mine was 28.00. The Wifi adapter is quite bulky and cheap looking which needs to be plugged into the side of the phone, therefore sticks out. Looks awful to be honest so I have just ordered a right angled USB extension (20cm) so that I can neatly tuck the adapter behind the phone.

Setting up my SIP account was very easy via the web based admin interface accessed by the phones IP address in a browser, however making outgoing calls was a little more difficult. I kept getting a Dial Plan error, so after speaking with my VoIP provider SipCentric they gave me a Dial Plan that worked fine with all number formats, if it saves you a little time here's how to change it;

Web Based Admin > Account # > Call Settings > DialPlan > { x+ | *x+ }

The Skype application seems simple enough and works. Also supports chats which was an unexpected bonus.

Overall pleased with the phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
Though my shipment was delayed a bit(International Package), but I still I was constantly updated and finally got my package.
1st impression after I got the phone was like, Where's skype !! is this thing fake, but a bit of thoughts led me to upgrade and Voila!!..

Thanks for the excellent service..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
I bought it for my mum to keep in touch with the family, in the UK and abroad. We typed in the necessary Skype addresses, and she can use the devise with ease. We can ring her and she answers and she can see who is online and has phoned us, despite not being able to use a laptop or tablet. I recommend this phone for all technophobes who want to keep in touch with friends and family via Skype. I found attaching the phone directly to the router works well via wire works well, we bought the Grandstream Compatible WiFi USB Wireless Adapter and had difficulty getting it to work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Massive range of features, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
I do IP telephony for a living and wanted to see how much can be crammed into one box. This thing is exceptional. I've had it for over a year with no drop outs or problems.

The feature set is immense including video, Skype and even OpenVPN.

Expensive? Not compared to anything else with this feature set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Once set up and running there's no looking back, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
Found the item a bit pricy, but the quality is excellent and it works beautifully.
The initial set up take s a bit of getting used to as some of the alphabets and charachters are difficult to navigate and find.
But after that it works like a breeze. An amazing piece of equipment as I wanted to set this up for my retired mother who lives half way around the world.

Rather happy that I made this investement as its worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone (Office Product)
Does what it says.
I use it for the Skype Integration and will shortly be using it for the standard SIP features.
So far its worked perfectly, call quality is perfect and always works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab186a44)

This product

Grandstream GXV-3140 Video IP SIP Phone
143.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews