Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greattttt
bought one for me and one for mum.
had greatest hits album in 80's wore it out.all old favourites.
totally sing along for playing whilst doing those mundane jobs
prompt delivery
Published 21 months ago by fleurplumb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unknown
I think i must have bought this for someone else as i dont remember being a fan of Dr Hook but there are some songs i did like of theirs.
Published 6 months ago by E. Beauchamp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greattttt, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought one for me and one for mum.
had greatest hits album in 80's wore it out.all old favourites.
totally sing along for playing whilst doing those mundane jobs
prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first Dr.Hook's best, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Mailian (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a compilation of the 3 albums Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show released in the early 1970s. Almost all of their tracks are Shel Silverstein compositions with witty, irreverent humoristic lyrics, folk style vocals by Ray Sawyer (Dr. Hook) and country-rock backup. Next to the wellknown Sylvia's mother and Cover of the Rolling Stone are other great tracks such as Marie Lavaux, The ballad of Lucy Jordan, Freakin' at the freakers ball, Roland the roadie... and Judy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before They Became Simply Dr Hook, 13 April 2013
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dr Hook were initially known as Dr Hook & The Medicine Show up until 1975, but for the purpose of this review I shall simply refer to them as Dr Hook.

There are two distinct eras of the music of Dr Hook and this compilation released in 2000 covers a large part of what is to my mind their best period. (The early 1970s) Classics such as Life Ain't Easy, Roland The Roadie, Cover of The Rolling Stone, Queen of The Silver Dollar, Sylvia's Mother and my all time favorite Dr Hook song Carry Me Carrie are all here. Virtually all the songs on this release were written by the late Shel Silverstein (He of 'A Boy Named Sue' fame). As someone has already pointed out, this covers only their first three albums under CBS / Sony, so a few tracks such as I Got Stoned & I Missed It / A Couple More Years & Everybody's Makin' It Big But Me are missing. However this does not take away from the overall package. The general feel of this compilation is of country rock with more than a little bit of humor thrown in. The vocals of Denis Lacorriere (main vocalist) are superb showing emotion especially on Carry Me Carrie , Sylvia's Mother and Ballad of Lucy Jordan to name three. Of the 24 songs on offer here at least two that I am aware of have been covered by other artists. The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan famously by Marianne Faithful, and here in Ireland The Queen Of The Silver Dollar was given the Irish Country treatment (Never a great move but at least it was a nod in the right direction).

Very much an essential cog within country rock history and a band that deserves much more recognition than they get for their contribution to early 70s music. If you have always found their output of the 1980s to be lightweight pop, then I urge you to have a listen to this collection. It might even change your mind about the relevance of Dr Hook within the development of country rock, but it will surprise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only 1 Dr Hook, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Dr. Hook (MP3 Download)
Why did they ever split up.................... they provided entertainment for so many varied tastes
Glad I was able to see them live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mix, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent combination of better known and classic older songs. I would recommend this to anyone as an example of both the passionate heartfelt material alongside the anarchic songs which epitomize Dr Hook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unknown, 1 Mar 2014
By 
E. Beauchamp (Bracknell Berks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think i must have bought this for someone else as i dont remember being a fan of Dr Hook but there are some songs i did like of theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Coasters meet Gary Paxton, 22 Nov 2013
Until 1970 country music got short shrift from rock critics but few artists if any took notice.
Ray Sawyer for instance cut 2 singles for the Gulf Coast label SANDY in the early 60s before forming the Chocolate Papers to play country music and R & B as Shel Silverstein drew cartoons and wrote songs for Johnny Cash with a strong emphasis on comedy
That's what's on here but note that this is the earliest edition of Dr Hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars THE VERY BEST OF DR HOOK, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE VERY BEST OF DR HOOK

I THOUGHT IT WAS BORING NOT UP TO THEIR USUAL STANDARD

I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dr Hook, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Dr Hook music but this CD does not quite step up to the mark. In future i will buy known titles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect but not too bab either, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One or two of the songs jump but just about bearable , glad i didnt pay too much for it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Dr. Hook
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews