Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrrsing Around
I came across this album by accident on the internet, then simply had to buy it. Any fans of experimental music should investigate these guys. Street Horrsing is an avalanche of tribal drums and grinding Mogwai-like guitars countered by soft synthesizers and deft melodies. Each of the tracks tends to build up to a screaming crescendo and various samples and patterns...
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by DB

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rabbit in the headlights
I read somewhere that this was better listening than Animal Collectives' latest offering.......i'm not sure.Perhaps because i'm a pop fan at heart. Let's face it,anything slightly experimental and requiring some listening will either be classed as utterly pretentious or fascinating and great by others.It depends where you lie. It is hard listening and sometimes scary and...
Published on 25 Mar 2009 by C. Whitworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrrsing Around, 3 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
I came across this album by accident on the internet, then simply had to buy it. Any fans of experimental music should investigate these guys. Street Horrsing is an avalanche of tribal drums and grinding Mogwai-like guitars countered by soft synthesizers and deft melodies. Each of the tracks tends to build up to a screaming crescendo and various samples and patterns emerge throughout the whole album...coming to an almighty climax in the last two tracks. If you catch a track in isolation, you can be forgiven for thinking that it's all a bit too weird, but as a whole I think Street Horssing is easily one of the best albums I've purchased in the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rabbit in the headlights, 25 Mar 2009
By 
C. Whitworth "juliehill87" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
I read somewhere that this was better listening than Animal Collectives' latest offering.......i'm not sure.Perhaps because i'm a pop fan at heart. Let's face it,anything slightly experimental and requiring some listening will either be classed as utterly pretentious or fascinating and great by others.It depends where you lie. It is hard listening and sometimes scary and rather lovely...but i think rewarding. I burned my copy onto the computer and then sat there utterly hypnotized! Rabbit in the headlights! They've definitely got something. I will say one thing though...drop the name.It's not big or clever. Listen to it with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euphoric noise, 30 Mar 2008
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
Bought this totally on a whim, as I was intrigued by both the name of the band and the album name, definitely not mainstream so it fitted into my music library quite nicely. Not sure what to expect, I put it on, and as soon as the opener got going I knew I was in for something a bit special. Sure, not everyone will like it, but me having grown up around oddball, leftfield electronica and noise music love it. It's the kind of droney album you can simply get lost in, yes it may be repetitive but thats the point. You can totally immerse yourself in the music, but be warned - it may hurt your ears if listened to loud enough. But the sweeet little melodic hooks in each of the tracks make it easier to listen to so it isn't wall to wall static for 6 tracks. Best track for me is Race You To My Bedroom/Spirit Rise, a 9 minute euphoric monster which you can completely lose yourself in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful noise - shame about Mr. Shouty, 16 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
Any fool can make an unholy racket and call it art. It takes talent and a nuanced ear to be able to take noise and craft it into something beautiful. A bit of musical structure, the odd tune and knowing when to turn the volume up (and down) help too. Perhaps this is why I prefer MBV over Merzbow, Mogwai over Wolf Eyes. FB make precisely the kind of noise-based music I love.

FB's first album 'Street Horrrsing' is a curious experience, especially on first listen. Like Mogwai, they use a limited palette of sounds to create their music - loud distortion, tinkly piano, church organ, tribal drums, yelping and someone screaming obscenities into the void. Despite the high volume and abrasiveness, the warm layers of distortion and the endless repetition lull you into a calm, meditative state. I'm reminded of the more upbeat moments of Seefeel's 'Quique' played at maximum volume through a transistor radio. ...And then the Masonna-esque screaming starts, which kind of ruins the mood. It's a bit like crawling under a warm duvet on a cold winter night, only to find that someone has hidden a cactus in there with you. Still, on 'Bright Tomorrow' or 'Colours Move' the whole experience is genuinely euphoric, especially at high volume.

On their subsequent album ('Tarot Sport'), FB fortunately ditched the screaming, but then drifted a little too close to creating a soundtrack for Saturday afternoon sport (see 'Olympians'). Here they are at their noisy best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing Music, 29 May 2009
By 
AB (Loughborough UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
I tracked down this band last year and fell in love with them.

I cannot stress how much this band changed the way i listen to and make music.

The opening track "Sweet love for planet Earth" - turns reality upside down. Beauty folds in on itself and turns into waves of static joy. The rest of the album falls nicely in line behind this.

I look forward to seeing them live in 2009 having missed them at Leicester's Summer Sundae festival last year.

Buy, live with, let it take you on a fantastic journey.

This is a vital record by one of the most important bands of the last 10 years.

Now go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Noise + trance, 30 April 2008
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
If like me you're interested in some of the Noise bands that are doing the rounds at the moment but wish they would throw in the odd tune( I know, maybe not the point of the genre)then try this.
This is big,loud and ear bleeding but also works on a more trance like level.Six drawn out drones with sweet little melodies tickling them along.It has the same meditative effect as the likes of Alice Coltrane ,Gorecki,Earth..
Only four stars because I want to hear the push the boundaries even futher next time.
great debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. James Porich (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
Don't buy it because of the name. I purchased this after listening to a couple of tracks (courtesy of Triple J radio) and found the sound to be an excellent change in direction of almost every type of music I've ever heard.

Every track has amazing rise and build in its sound that fits perfectly into the album and each is able to stand alone in a playlist. The only exception I'd have to that is Ribs Out which I wasn't too fond of by itself (maybe it had to do with the shorter track time) but nevertheless made sense as a track when listening to the album in full ;)

A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORE FB, 6 Mar 2008
By 
markw999 "markw999" (away from this stupid film) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
So many people hate this and I don't know why. Yeah, it borders on noise, but they never said they were Oasis. Sweet Love for Planet Earth is an amazing track, as is Colours Move. They are also awesome live. More FB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot music, 29 Jan 2008
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
This album's serious, awesome name, awesome "music", so talented all over. Any monkey could play this music given a copy of the cd and a hi-fi, impressing his monkey friends. This is tastey plastic, hot paper and bendy time for those who inhale it. A win-win predicament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful noise., 14 April 2008
By 
James Lappin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Street Horrrsing (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of a review I read somewhere, the name escapes me.

Ok, back to the point, Horrrssing - this album is definitely not for the mainstream - therefore for the people that 'get' this album, they will really really enjoy this noise, drone, soulful, melodic album.

I really cannot thing of a comparative band for this band. Create a precedent for yourself and get yourself a copy of this album. This album will widen your taste of the musical spectrum, that I guarantee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street Horrrsing
Street Horrrsing by Fuck Buttons
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews