Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2010
Like others I first heard Nell on Radio 2, then saw her interview on BBC Breakfast. The album is a superb piece of work with strong vocals from Nell and some excellent work on the musical arrangements. Not really picked a favourite track but Second Time Around is great and reminds me a bit of SRV and just oozes the sleezy atmosphere shown in the video. In all a brilliant album from a singer who is definatly going to go on to greater things, a real pleasure to listen to someone who has learnt their craft.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2010
Absolutely love this album!

It's great to hear that Nell is as good on this recording as she is live - i've seen her perform quite a few times over 2010 and there are a lot of big names i'd compare her to - there's a bit of Bob Dylan; a touch of Annie Lennox; a slice of Carly Simon and Connie Francis. She's a young lady with a big voice that sounds older than her years.

Newer songs like Goodbye sit nicely alongside the epic vocals of It's Not Like Loving You. She's a rare talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
hi there, I am over 50 so I expect albums to be reflective of the artist's work at that period in time - and this is. there are a few great songs, and there are a few songs that should always be on an album. Overall the album is great and certainly well worth the money - it is a mixture of country sounding mainstream girl songs. A wee bit dusty springfield, a wee bit duffy and a wee bit Shania Twain. I am glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
Got the CD this morning as I had heard track 2 on the radio and ordered the Cd on the merit of this song, I have listened to the Album and it does not disappoint. Out of all the tracks I can not say there is that I do not like which is unusual. The music is both uplifting and provocative. I would recommend this album and just one other point the tracks are all Nell's own compositions no covers here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
I had never heard of Nell Bryden until I heard her on Radio 2, ordered this CD and am really pleased with the purchase. Great voice and great songs and this from someone who is not a real country music fan. Excellent service from the supplier, item arrived before the listed date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
Having never heard of nell brydon till hearing "not like loving you",i was extremely happy to find the rest of her album was as good as the first song of hers that i heard.

The Album just gets better with every play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
what a remarkable voice,pure and clear,thank goodness for forgotten paintings.Beautiful and natural.some great songs full of energy.Tracks 1,3,6 are super all the rest is good despite being countryish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
saw the band live in newcastle one friday evening at the intimate cluny. all 100 of the audience raptured by the vitality and energy put in to the performance. well done nelly now im off to the zoo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
I hadn't heard of this singer before hearing one of the tracks being played on the BBC from this CD. Nell has a beautiful, sensitive voice and sings with great depth of feeling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Nell Bryden is one of the greatest singer songwriters around at the moment. This album has some fabulous tracks including the very sad 'Helen's Requiem'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)