Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will be living in my CD player for some time
I first heard Nell on BBC Radio 2 and was taken aback by her single Second Time Around. Now the album is out I must sing her praises - it really is a musical masterpiece. 11 tracks of pure bliss, beginning with the title track right through to 'Late Night Call' - not one piece of filler in sight. If you are a fan of singer songwriters with big voices and touching lyrics,...
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by randompete

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nell bryden
Tonight was by far the best song on the album and unfortunately nothing else really came close. Was well worth it though, whata fantasic song!
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by Kay Fern


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will be living in my CD player for some time, 12 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
I first heard Nell on BBC Radio 2 and was taken aback by her single Second Time Around. Now the album is out I must sing her praises - it really is a musical masterpiece. 11 tracks of pure bliss, beginning with the title track right through to 'Late Night Call' - not one piece of filler in sight. If you are a fan of singer songwriters with big voices and touching lyrics, this is definitely the CD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 18 Nov 2009
By 
A. J. RYLAND - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after seeing Nell do a very good live show in Birmingham, and wasn't disappointed; her voice, which is exceptional heard live, is captured perfectly and all the tracks are very strong, there's not a single filler on the entire album. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something For Everyone, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Christopher Lee (beverley - yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
Terrific effort from Ms Brydon - a little country a dash of blues some rock n'roll even a jazzy vaudeville number combined with a great versatile voice makes this a worthy cd for anyone who likes an eclectic mix.
Like a less rockier and more restrained Imelda May this has radio two friendly written all over it but don't let that put you off or you'll miss one of the more engaging records of 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the buy, 10 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
I took a gamble on this but not disappointed at all. A very well composed album, mix's a great blend of style's and instruments. Take a chance you won't be disappointed. Only gave it 4, because 5 is for best of the best, close but not quite there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth listening to, 31 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
Great album, plenty of light and shade in the tracks and the musical style

Well worth having in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future classic., 26 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Anthony Kilcoyne (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
Even though it's only march, i'd say this is one of the albums of the year.
Not Like Loving you, Helen's Requiem, Green Dress and tonight just 4 of the standout tracks
but there's not one bad song on this cd, all penned by Nell Bryden.
If this isn't up for top awards, then there's no fairness. Best thing I've
heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!! TWICE OVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Geordyboy (Wolverhampton UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
First heard Nell thanx to Radio 2 , not that I DON'T listen to Radio 2 ,, and when the opportunity came to purchase
" What Does It Take " no time was wasted ,, played twice first time round , not to make sure mind you , I was hooked from the start . No favourite track , they're ALL terrific , beautiful voice , great lyrics what more could you ask for ??

PS. to this message Jan 20th ..,,On Yahoo or Google I came across Nell and looking down the list came a gig date where She was playing ,, well I'm working in central London this week com :-mon 18th Jan. and LO Nell is playing LIVE not more than 1.5 miles from Me so off I went ( tue 19th) and WHAT a night , truly FANTASTIC !!!!! if you have the chance to go see Her DON'T waste it ,, you WILL be BITTERLY disappointed ,,,../
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 28 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does It Take? (Audio CD)
I am particularly fussy when it comes to female singers ie there aren't many female singers' CDs that I end up buying. I Only heard of Nell Bryden recently whilst listening to radio 2. Heard only a small part of 'Second Time Around' and it grabbed my attention immediately. Listened on-line to other tracks and bought the CD. I love all the tracks but my particular favorites are the feel-good 'Second Time Around' and 'What Does It Take' but the most beautiful, I think, is 'Meridian (I love The Same)' She has a brilliant voice and I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nell Bryden, 20 May 2010
By 
Mrs. M. A. Legg (Isle of Wight, uK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does It Take? (MP3 Download)
If you like Nell Bryden then you'll know she can do no wrong. This track is one of her more up-tempo numbers and her vocals, as ever, are superb (and sound very like Annie Lennox!)It has now become one of my favourite Nell Bryden songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classy!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Does It Take? (MP3 Download)
Nell Bryden is one of the greatest singer songwriters around at the moment. This album has some fabulous tracks including the very sad 'Helen's Requiem'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Does It Take
What Does It Take by Nell Bryden
Buy MP3 Album: Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews