Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read on kindle
An excellent read on the kindle (which seems particularly well suited to periodicals). I actually enjoy this more on Kindle than on paper, the presentation is good and article selection astute. It makes me chuckle often. Occasionally it informs me too. Between this and The Spectator all bases are covered.
Recommended.
Published on 2 Jan 2011 by Duck Meister

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but ultimately infuriating
NS is an excellent hard copy magazine. Although extremely cheap, the Kindle version really is not worth bothering with, however. As others have noted, navigation is nearly impossible. The contents seem to be 'organised' in an almost random manner, so that a regular writer will be in one section one week, another the next. Indeed, the section names themselves change every...
Published 7 months ago by Andrew Mulholland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful mag, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
I love the New Statesman anyway and it's fantastic to be able to read it on Kindle as it suits my eyesight better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talking My Language, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
Look forward every Friday to receive my copy of the New Statesman, which I read from cover to cover with great interest. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
The New Statesman in Kindle format is well laid out, with a logical menu lay out, allowing easy viewing of all of the magazine, whilst also having the lovely point of being able to keep your copy without it taking up room in your house. Of course, if the New Statesman is not to your political leaning, then I wouldn't opt for it; obviously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The New Statesman, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
The New Statesman is one of a dying breed of political commentary magazines that covers a wide range of issues and you can always find something in there that you would not read elsewhere.Although it is allegedly 'left wing' it seems to retain a balanced and rather impartial tone, that is line with a certain type of BBC-ish journalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the kindle edition is great value., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
always packed with interesting informative articles. the kindle edition is great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars state, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
the magazine seems to be great..the format looked fine..i subscribed to the free trial and found it worthy.Looks good in kindle and reading experience is same as a paper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor layout, 10 Feb 2014
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
The electronic version is poorly laid out, just lists really with no ready way of browsing and nothing to catch the eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly good., 2 Jan 2011
By 
J. Pullman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
Update: The delivery issues have been sorted out and I've had excellent customer service from their subscription department. the new layout for magazines makes this easier to navigate. I'd still like some images though...

I'd love to be able to say that this was excellent, but I can't. It doesn't have any images, which while not being a disaster, means the Kindle version feels a bit cheap. The NY Times manages to provide images, so I'd love to see them incorporated into the New Statesman's Kindle offering. I'm also unsure how often it updates. I subscribed on Christmas day and the current issue is dated the 20th of Dec and as of the 2nd of Jan, there has been nothing new. Perhaps they take a break over Christmas, but otherwise I thought it was a weekly magazine.
Once images are added I'd be happy to add at least one more star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of the left, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. J. Mcneill (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Statesman (Kindle Edition)
The New Statesman ("The Staggers" in Private Eye speak) is what remains of several amalgamated left-leaning journals over the years. It normally has at least a couple of decent analyses, along the lines of a Guardian article plus an opinion and more background. Currently it's where John Pilger justifies his air miles and Will Self proves his skill at witty nothings. However there are big patches of each edition swamped in guff about Home Counties further education and adulatory rubbish about some fourth estate stalwarts nobody could care about. It has the air of a formerly worthy journal going down the pan while it's contributors desperately audition for a place on Standpoint. Essential reading if you want to know what's on in the theatre in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Statesman
New Statesman by New Statesman
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews