Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a win for the housemartins!
when you first put this cd on your foot starts tapping immediately, and you'll find yourself singing to yourself for the rest of the day.If like me, you hadnt heard these songs for a while you'll forgotten just how good they are. Go on treat yourself you'll be glad you did!.
Published on 29 Aug 2010 by squidge

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good, yet could have been so much definitively better
As mentioned in the previous review, there are indeed small causes of annoyance for the purist in this Deluxe Edition, all of them on the 2nd disc, and some more serious than others:

Let's start with the most annoying howler when it comes to Disc 2, which is after all the reason for most fans to buy this release (and who, other than longterm fans, will be...
Published on 16 July 2010 by feverpitch96


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good, yet could have been so much definitively better, 16 July 2010
By 
feverpitch96 "Never mix, never worry" (Southern Highlands, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
As mentioned in the previous review, there are indeed small causes of annoyance for the purist in this Deluxe Edition, all of them on the 2nd disc, and some more serious than others:

Let's start with the most annoying howler when it comes to Disc 2, which is after all the reason for most fans to buy this release (and who, other than longterm fans, will be considering this purchase?). The first two-thirds of this disc are clearly intended to be a complete set of B-sides from the L0H4-era singles, "Flag Day" through to "Think For A Minute", together with the utterly different single cuts of those two particular A-sides. However, on that score, someone has boobed, because where the B-side 7" version of "Drop Down Dead" should appear, we instead have the version from the 21/7/1985 John Peel session, as previously released on the 1988 "Now That's What I Call Quite Good" compilation. This means (if we're being REALLY fussy) that the liner art for this Deluxe release should include Ted Key, who played bass on that Peel Session (and the first single) before Norman Cook hove into view. But the bigger beef is that this means that the B-side 7" version of "DDD" is STILL yet to be released on CD.

Secondly, of the three tracks included from the 6/11/1985 Janice Long session and labelled as Unreleased, the version of "Freedom" used here was most definitely previously released, again on "Now That's What I Call Quite Good", despite it being credited in the booklet as 2009 BBC (along with the other two). Who checks these things?

The other things are more minor curios and unnecessary missed opportunities. The Housemartins (or someone in the record company at the time) seemed to play a little fast and loose with very slightly different edits of B-sides at times. For example, the 7" and 12" cuts of "Who Needs The Limelight?" varied slightly a la the occasional mono vs stereo Beatles tracks, with the version on the 12" single of "Think For A Minute" being the same take but several seconds longer on the front, complete with false start and Paul Heaton yelling out "Hello Knebworth!". This Deluxe CD release opts instead for the version from the 7" B-side, which deletes the false start and Heaton yell. As the 12" cut contained the 7" version fully within it, it seems a shame someone didn't go the extra foot-and-a-half to make the Deluxe Edition track choice definitive.

By contrast, there is the version of "The Mighty 'Ship" used on this Deluxe release, supposedly as the B-side version from "Happy Hour". Ostensibly the same take as used on the 7" and 12" of "Happy Hour" as well as on the first CD edition of L0H4 and "Now That's What I Call Quite Good", the Deluxe Edition version has the roll-off fade at the end of the track delayed to make a longer final chord and there is a false start, similar to the 12" cut of "Who Needs The Limelight?". So AFAIK, this version appears to be otherwise unreleased, despite the tracklisters being seemingly unaware of this. Good to have of course, especially as the other version is well-represented elsewhere, but it's a little unnerving to have the compilers labelling released as unreleased and vice versa, as if they'd just grabbed any cut from the archives and stuck it down on the compilation master.

Talking of mastering, Disc 1 seems noticeably softer (less compressed?) than the bonus disc in this set, which is hard to explain.

This is a beautiful, beautiful set apart from the above, though, with the genuinely unreleased radio sessions being a lot of fun and well worth having (including the version of "We're Not Deep" with completely different verses!). The good news is that it doesn't make owners of Live At The BBC think they've had to double-dip. The bits of bad news lie in the above bits of sloppiness.

I wonder if a similar set will follow for "The People Who Grinned Themselves To Death", and whether it will necessarily include the many B-sides from the between-albums 12" of "Caravan Of Love"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Housemartins are great, but this release could have been better!, 1 July 2009
This review is from: London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Finally! The b-sides and more BBC session tracks! From what I expected this Deluxe Edition to be, I would have given it a five star plus rating. The original album and the bonus tracks are of course excellent! But there are simply too many mistakes on the bonus disc, as the other reviewer has already explained.

Sadly, I have to add two more complaints: The intro of "Who Needs The Limelight" is missing, and "The Mighty Ship" sounds different to all the previous releases of that song. I'm not sure if it's an outtake or a session version, but it's definitely not the normal studio version. Although that's in fact very interesting, I would have loved to have the original version remastered and this previosly unreleased version credited correctly.

The most frustrating thing however is that the original b-side version of "Drop Down Dead" and some of the acapella b-sides remain unavailable on CD!

On the plus side, the bonus disc is nearly completing the "Live at the BBC" compilation, and maybe we'll get the rest of what we need from the Deluxe Edition of "The People Who Grinned Themselves To Death", which will hopefully follow sooner or later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a win for the housemartins!, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
when you first put this cd on your foot starts tapping immediately, and you'll find yourself singing to yourself for the rest of the day.If like me, you hadnt heard these songs for a while you'll forgotten just how good they are. Go on treat yourself you'll be glad you did!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Housemartins - 1st album (deluxe edn): 2CD., 2 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Thoroughly recommended.

Originally released on CD/Vinyl/cassette in 1986. CD did sound a bit flat.

This 2CD is remastered with much better sound quality.

British pop/rock at its best while the Smiths were out of town or misbehaving in Manchester eg Johnny Marr loaning Noel Gallagher(Oasis) an electric guitar.

Pity about the drummer <Whitaker> going a bit didlo and having to be released from his contract with record label for obvious reasons.!

Stan Cullimore looks a bit like Hank Marvin circa 1958.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome the best housemartins, 5 Dec 2009
By 
Massimo Pulleghini (curtatone (mantova, italy)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
this is the new edition of maybe the best housemartins record. even the title is funny and so is the music. you cannot consider it as rock music, just pop songs in trio arrangement (rickenbacker+bass+drums, sometimes a shy piano), but played wonderfully and sung heavenly. everybody should have this record and don't forget the second cd, including alternate takes with odds and sods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London 0-4 Hull, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
I remember a time when London 0-4 Hull meant something different to this CD. The days Hull City were in the premier were the best days of my life! We ripped apart Arsenal Tottenham WestHam and Fulham!! Cannot wait until we can do it again next season! COME ON YOU HULL. EVERYWHERE WE GO, EVERYONE WILL KNOW, WE LOVE CITY, WE LOVE CITY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London 0 -  Hull 4 Deluxe Edition
London 0 - Hull 4 Deluxe Edition by Housemartins (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews