Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
115
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 May 2009
Yet another repackaging of Ealing's finest hours.This is, in fact, the second outing for this particular box set, which came out a few years ago with a slightly different cover. The 5 films here, 4 of them starring Alec Guinness, are indeed all classics of the studio's output, although the inclusion of MAN IN THE WHITE SUIT, very much a minor success,rather than WHISKEY GALORE does mean that this is not truly a Best Of. Neverthless, for someone looking for most of the cream of Ealing's comedy crop this 5 disc box set is essential. My personal favourite THE LADYKILLERS is still as fresh today as it was in 1955 and features one of the best ensemble casts British film has ever mustered and is far superior to the very average Coen Bros/Tom Hanks 2004 remake.Guinness' tour de force KIND HEARTS & CORONETS is usually considered to be the other standout feature of these 5 films, but personally I prefer PASSPORT TO PIMLICO whose themes have remained curiously topical even 60 years on. THE LAVENDER HILL MOB is another of Alec Guinness' great performances and a sheer joy to watch. All of these films contain great performances from actors who were allowed to do some of their best work; Guinness, of course, Dennis Price, Stanley Holloway, Peter Sellers, Sid James,Cecil Parker, Herbert Lom and let's not forget Katie Johnson who just about steals the show in THE LADYKILLERS.

THE LADYKILLERS; 5 inept robbers led by a truly sinister Alec Guinness hole up in Katie Johnson's crumbling house by the railway to plan and execute a major heist.

KIND HEARTS AND CORONETS; Dennis Price's illegitimate heir to a fortune gradually bumps off his rivals, all of them played by Alec Guinness, until he gets his just desserts.

THE MAN IN THE WHITE SUIT; a naive young chemist (Guinness) invents an indestructible fibre that he thinks will be only beneficial, but soon finds out his mistake when the cotton mill workers and owners rise up against him.

PASSPORT TO PIMLICO; In dour, rationed, post-war London a charter is discovered dating back to medieval times which makes the borough of Pimlico part of France.

THE LAVENDER HILL MOB; A corrupt bank clerk (Guinness) befriends a souvenier maker (Stanley Holloway)and with the aid of 2 professional crooks (Sid James & Alfie Bass)cooks up an ingenious plan to steal millions in gold bars and smuggle them out of the country.

None of these films has been remastered, although they're all fairly decent prints, and it seems to be a straight reissue of the 2002 release by Studio Canal in slightly different packaging. Nevertheless, I'd highly recommend this box set to anyone not already if possesion of this marvellous collection. Not only does it contain classic comic performances and fantastic and very clever scripts, but it also provides a wonderful window onto post-war England.
55 comments| 199 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
They're all there - all your dad's fave's from when you were a kid and they were being shown on BBC2 in black and white. Plenty of laughs to be had. Lady Killers is my particular favourite. Its a Britain that has vanished - but you can still get a feel of it through these classics. THis boxed set very good value for money. No problems with quality of picture or sound.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
This is an incredible selection of classic films all of which stand up to countless repeat viewings. It is worth buying just for Kind Hearts and Coronets which is my personal favorite film of all time. The only possible let down is the inclusion of the Man in the White Suit over some of Ealings many other good films. Overall an unregrettable purchase.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
great films that no longer seem to appear on tv these days so i bought the box set.typical wet sunday afternoon enjoyment as it used to be.very british ol style humour with no nastyness or jokes in poor taste they don't make them like this anymore!enjoy.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
An excellent set taking you back to your younger days.

I watched 'The Lavender Hill Mob' with my 15 year old daughter who thought it was good - amazing to say there's no CGI and nothing other than good classic action in true Ealing Comedy style.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Having watched The Ladykillers for the first time in goodness-knows-how-long on TV recently, I was reminded how brilliant, clever, funny, entertaining, clean, witty (and thought-provoking) the films from the Ealing Comedy era were (and still are) - especially the talents of the late, great Sir Alec Guinness (pre-Star Wars Obi Wan Kenobi) who was the original Father Brown (before Kenneth Moore and Mark Williams). I bought this collection of my favourite Ealing Comedies to save me waiting for ages until some television channel decides to show them again... and I can enjoy them whenever I like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
An excellent collection of some of the best of the Ealing Comedies: there are more that are not in this set, 'Whisky Galore' and the 'Titfield Thunderbolt' are two that come to mind. I was a little supprised to find that the set includes 'The Man in the White Suit' - not, I think, my first choice for a comedy, although there is an important message in the story. But for nostalgia, these films bring back the memories of times past and a cinema full of laughter !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
Very little can be said that hasn't already been written about Ealing Studios and the late, great Sir Alex Guinness.
However, British cinema doesn't come much better than this....!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
If you are a fan of the Ealing Studios films, this is a boxed set not to miss. Four of the best films to come from Ealing studios in a value box. Unbeatable value and entertainment that will will enjoy for life. There is no point in commenting on the films themselves, they are timeless masterpieces that can be enjoyed by people of any age.

My suggestion is, buy this set, in fact, buy two at least, then you have a wonderful Christmas or birthday gift, or just a gift for any occassion in your possession.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
What a pity these films have such terrible sound tracks. I remember seeing all of them when they originally came out - no doubt through dense smoke - and thought them superb. They are a wonderful bit of British Cimema history and highly evokative. However, I did find them difficult to follow and my Spanish wife, who speaks excellent English and is a real film buff, couldn't make head not tail of the dialogue. Sub titles are essential for full enjoyment.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)