Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


183 of 184 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics
Yet another repackaging of Ealing's finest hours.This is, in fact, the second outing for this particular box set, which came out a few years ago with a slightly different cover. The 5 films here, 4 of them starring Alec Guinness, are indeed all classics of the studio's output, although the inclusion of MAN IN THE WHITE SUIT, very much a minor success,rather than WHISKEY...
Published on 15 May 2009 by Johnnybluetime

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classics yes, but terrible sound tracks.
What a pity these films have such terrible sound tracks. I remember seeing all of them when they originally came out - no doubt through dense smoke - and thought them superb. They are a wonderful bit of British Cimema history and highly evokative. However, I did find them difficult to follow and my Spanish wife, who speaks excellent English and is a real film buff,...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by ColinSpain


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

183 of 184 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, 15 May 2009
By 
Johnnybluetime - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another repackaging of Ealing's finest hours.This is, in fact, the second outing for this particular box set, which came out a few years ago with a slightly different cover. The 5 films here, 4 of them starring Alec Guinness, are indeed all classics of the studio's output, although the inclusion of MAN IN THE WHITE SUIT, very much a minor success,rather than WHISKEY GALORE does mean that this is not truly a Best Of. Neverthless, for someone looking for most of the cream of Ealing's comedy crop this 5 disc box set is essential. My personal favourite THE LADYKILLERS is still as fresh today as it was in 1955 and features one of the best ensemble casts British film has ever mustered and is far superior to the very average Coen Bros/Tom Hanks 2004 remake.Guinness' tour de force KIND HEARTS & CORONETS is usually considered to be the other standout feature of these 5 films, but personally I prefer PASSPORT TO PIMLICO whose themes have remained curiously topical even 60 years on. THE LAVENDER HILL MOB is another of Alec Guinness' great performances and a sheer joy to watch. All of these films contain great performances from actors who were allowed to do some of their best work; Guinness, of course, Dennis Price, Stanley Holloway, Peter Sellers, Sid James,Cecil Parker, Herbert Lom and let's not forget Katie Johnson who just about steals the show in THE LADYKILLERS.

THE LADYKILLERS; 5 inept robbers led by a truly sinister Alec Guinness hole up in Katie Johnson's crumbling house by the railway to plan and execute a major heist.

KIND HEARTS AND CORONETS; Dennis Price's illegitimate heir to a fortune gradually bumps off his rivals, all of them played by Alec Guinness, until he gets his just desserts.

THE MAN IN THE WHITE SUIT; a naive young chemist (Guinness) invents an indestructible fibre that he thinks will be only beneficial, but soon finds out his mistake when the cotton mill workers and owners rise up against him.

PASSPORT TO PIMLICO; In dour, rationed, post-war London a charter is discovered dating back to medieval times which makes the borough of Pimlico part of France.

THE LAVENDER HILL MOB; A corrupt bank clerk (Guinness) befriends a souvenier maker (Stanley Holloway)and with the aid of 2 professional crooks (Sid James & Alfie Bass)cooks up an ingenious plan to steal millions in gold bars and smuggle them out of the country.

None of these films has been remastered, although they're all fairly decent prints, and it seems to be a straight reissue of the 2002 release by Studio Canal in slightly different packaging. Nevertheless, I'd highly recommend this box set to anyone not already if possesion of this marvellous collection. Not only does it contain classic comic performances and fantastic and very clever scripts, but it also provides a wonderful window onto post-war England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ealing Comedies, 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
They're all there - all your dad's fave's from when you were a kid and they were being shown on BBC2 in black and white. Plenty of laughs to be had. Lady Killers is my particular favourite. Its a Britain that has vanished - but you can still get a feel of it through these classics. THis boxed set very good value for money. No problems with quality of picture or sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best box-set I own, 31 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is an incredible selection of classic films all of which stand up to countless repeat viewings. It is worth buying just for Kind Hearts and Coronets which is my personal favorite film of all time. The only possible let down is the inclusion of the Man in the White Suit over some of Ealings many other good films. Overall an unregrettable purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ealing Studios, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. James P. Lally (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of the Ealing Studios films, this is a boxed set not to miss. Four of the best films to come from Ealing studios in a value box. Unbeatable value and entertainment that will will enjoy for life. There is no point in commenting on the films themselves, they are timeless masterpieces that can be enjoyed by people of any age.

My suggestion is, buy this set, in fact, buy two at least, then you have a wonderful Christmas or birthday gift, or just a gift for any occassion in your possession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ealing comedies brilliant., 31 July 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
great films that no longer seem to appear on tv these days so i bought the box set.typical wet sunday afternoon enjoyment as it used to be.very british ol style humour with no nastyness or jokes in poor taste they don't make them like this anymore!enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia rules :-), 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent set taking you back to your younger days.

I watched 'The Lavender Hill Mob' with my 15 year old daughter who thought it was good - amazing to say there's no CGI and nothing other than good classic action in true Ealing Comedy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British at its best, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Very little can be said that hasn't already been written about Ealing Studios and the late, great Sir Alex Guinness.
However, British cinema doesn't come much better than this....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for nostalgia, 15 Dec 2011
By 
John Eyles (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent collection of some of the best of the Ealing Comedies: there are more that are not in this set, 'Whisky Galore' and the 'Titfield Thunderbolt' are two that come to mind. I was a little supprised to find that the set includes 'The Man in the White Suit' - not, I think, my first choice for a comedy, although there is an important message in the story. But for nostalgia, these films bring back the memories of times past and a cinema full of laughter !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classics yes, but terrible sound tracks., 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What a pity these films have such terrible sound tracks. I remember seeing all of them when they originally came out - no doubt through dense smoke - and thought them superb. They are a wonderful bit of British Cimema history and highly evokative. However, I did find them difficult to follow and my Spanish wife, who speaks excellent English and is a real film buff, couldn't make head not tail of the dialogue. Sub titles are essential for full enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little collection, 9 April 2010
This review is from: The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is indeed a great collection of Ealing's output-though many may argue that "Man in the White Suit" should have been replaced by "Whisky Galore" or perhaps "The Titfield Thunderbolt". Still, if you aren't familiar with Ealing it is the best starting point-unlike the 16-disc "definitive Ealing collection" (also marketed by Amazon) which has a number of not so good films.
The production of this particular set of discs is not that good with some skipping. Other reviewers have commented on the poor quality of discs from this manufacturer (Optimum). Subtitling would have helped as the soundtracks are not too good, since not all viewers would follow the British accent entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3d1a0d8)

This product

The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD]
The Best Of Ealing Box Set [DVD] by Charles Crichton (DVD - 2008)
9.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews