Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than standard upright graters
I am very pleased with this grater. It is very easy to use and clean and is nice that you can grate straight onto toast so less plate washing. Can be assembled for right or left handed operation. As said very easy to keep clean just rinse parts under hot water no need even for dish washer as is so quick to clen would be clean before can even open the dishwasher door let...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by Mr. C. Pugh

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not grate (couldn't resist the pun sorry)
I bought this grater because carpal tunnel issues have left me with stiff weak wrists and hands which makes using a normal grater difficult and uncomfortable.

I had very high hopes for this grater but unfortunately I still struggled because to make it work properly you have to really squeeze the top down into the handle or the cheese doesn't stay in contact...
Published 20 months ago by emmyloug


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Handles Break Easily, 11 Nov 2013
By 
T (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
Both of the handles broke on second and third use. Nice idea but flimsy plastic. Unsure if I had a poorly made one. I am in the process of trying to get a replacement. I will update my review if it is any more sturdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, Easy Grating!, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
Pop the fine or coarse grater into the socket, pop in the cheese, and turn the handle. It couldn't be simpler. Out comes your wonderfully grated cheese.

The action is wonderfully smooth and gives the impression of a well-made, well-fitting unit.

Almost all the product is grated, with only the thinnest slivers remaining in the unit afterwards.

The only surprise is that the larger than usual drum produces 2cm strips of finely grated cheese. Most users will be expecting short crumbs just a few mm long, using a regular grater.

Cleaning is easy.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER SMASHING GRATE, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
" CHEESED OFF ? " I am pleased to say I am. What an efficient cheese grater this is. Have only used it for cheese. A joy to use. No more aching arms and wrists. No dread of " I've got to grate the cheese yet ". Simple, efficient and easy to clean. As far as I am concerned; what more could you ask for in a cheese grater ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worked ok for medium amounts at first but had it just over 3 weeks and it's broken in two places, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
When I first got the grater I thought it was good; not great but ok for grating a 'larger than usual' amount of cheese ....... say a 500g block - definitely a bit quicker than using a hand grater. However, we've only been using it for about 3 weeks and the rubber part of the handle has broken, which means we have had to remove it and it's now painful to use (blister on thumb!); in addition the 'push' button has broken (that you use to remove the drum), so it can't be removed properly. In terms of cleaning it's ok - just what you'd expect really! Cheese isn't going to be easy to remove if you leave it to dry, so best to clean asap after you've used it then it's fine. Overall though pretty disappointed with the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grate!!, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
Bad pun in my title but not a bad item. Would highly recommend this. I've bought cheaper metal versions in the past but they just bent and were of no use. This is sturdy and easy to use and clean. I've used it for both cheese and carrots so far and neither were a problem to grate. Handy that it gives two drums for different coarseness for grating as the fine one is ideal for the carrots for carrot cake. Also can be adapted for left or right handed people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor product, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
Poor product, cutting edges not sharp, hold the unit and the handle hits your knuckles as you turn the handle, product gets jammed with cheese at the far end and you have to keep stopping and remove the jammed area, put some hard cheese in it and it just spins as the cutting edges are not sharp.Very "plasticy design". better off using a standard cheese grater. NOT IMPRESSED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is sturdy, well-made and easy to wash, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
This is sturdy, well-made and easy to wash. It also looks good. However, sadly, I don't find the ergonomics suit my small-to-average female hands. It does not sit comfortably in my left hand as the handle is quite short, and you need to apply a lot of pressure with your thumb to keep the cheese in contact with the grater drum; I find that the exact spot where this pressure needs to be applied is higher than my thumb will comfortably reach. Also the handle of the revolving drum tends to collapse (it is meant to be collapsible, but not in use!) It is not the answer to my prayers that I thought it would be and I'm still looking for a grater which doesn't put me off recipes using grated cheese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much easier, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
Nice quality makes grating cheese a pleasure. and the cheese doesn't go all over the place when the attachment is on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars we were very pleased with its performance, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
When we purchased this grater, we were very pleased with its performance. It grated all types of cheese well with little effort, especially if the cheese had been well refrigerated first. The changeable cutters were excellent and all was good.
But how long would you expect something like this to last?
Mine was 2 years. After that time with only general occasional use, the 'push' button to lock the handle in place and the grey handle knob has broken away. The grater is still usable but somewhat more delicately than before.

Excellent grater but don't expect a long life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as much of an upgrade to our lifestyle as we'd hoped, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zyliss Extra Large Rotary Cheese Grater with Fine and Coarse Drums (Kitchen & Home)
We've used this snazzy grater exactly twice. It tends to spew cheese, and isn't that much easier to use (or clean) than a traditional grater. Doesn't seem to save much labour and is just a bit awkward to use. Now sharing garage shelf space with the other unloved kitchen gadgets (rotary garlic chopper, I mean you) destined for the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews