Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive - read this and pass your SCBCD 5 for EJB3
This book is all you need to read if you want to know about EJB3, and it helpfully makes comparisons between EJB2 and EJB3 throughout the text.

If you read chapters 1 to 17 of this book, that's all you need to know to sit the Sun Certified Business Component Developer exam (JEE 5). I sat it this week and got 90%, using only this book and the Whizlabs mock exams...
Published on 13 Jun. 2008 by C. A. Rodger

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Well this is a bit of a shame because this is a great book...except if you buy it in the Kindle format which doesn't seem to have any diagrams in it, so you have passages of text describing what's going on in a diagram you can't see!

Just to clarify this, the kindle version seems to have diagrams if viewed on a kindle, for some strange reason the kindle app on...
Published on 12 Jan. 2011 by Willy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive - read this and pass your SCBCD 5 for EJB3, 13 Jun. 2008
By 
C. A. Rodger (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is all you need to read if you want to know about EJB3, and it helpfully makes comparisons between EJB2 and EJB3 throughout the text.

If you read chapters 1 to 17 of this book, that's all you need to know to sit the Sun Certified Business Component Developer exam (JEE 5). I sat it this week and got 90%, using only this book and the Whizlabs mock exams as a reference.

The only down point of the book is that it must be read like a novel to really understand EJB3. It's not an easy lookup reference book, you can't just dip in and out of it. For example, different aspects of persistence contexts and transactions are featured in more than one chapter, which is why it is better that you read the book from start to finish. You won't need to read chapter 17 onwards unless you want to know about web services.

It might seem like a long haul but it is definitely worth spending the time reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter = resource for the EJB 3.0, 31 Dec. 2009
By 
P. Apostolopoulos "papo2000" (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was the very first really helpfull book around the upcoming and trend nowdays - spec of EJB 3.0. Excellent examples, up to the point chapters. Must read for everyone that wishes to migrate from 2.1 to the new spec! Highly recommended even now that the EJB 3.1 spec is close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best EJB 3.0 book out there, 24 April 2008
By 
Remon Van Vliet "remonvv" (Amsterdam, Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have a couple of EJB3.0 books but this one is pretty much the one that's permanently on my desk. It's a perfect reference for me now and was a great source of information while I was familiarizing myself with EJB3.0.

The workbooks are relatively informative as well even for readers that do not use JBoss (me being one of those people). The only minor issue I can think of is the limited Web Service coverage and the JPA sections are a little limited. That said the book's main focus is EJB3.0 and it covers extremely well.

I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enterprise JavaBeans 3.0 (Kindle Edition)
Well this is a bit of a shame because this is a great book...except if you buy it in the Kindle format which doesn't seem to have any diagrams in it, so you have passages of text describing what's going on in a diagram you can't see!

Just to clarify this, the kindle version seems to have diagrams if viewed on a kindle, for some strange reason the kindle app on my pc fails to show them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ejb, 13 Oct. 2010
By 
Mr. Mujahed A. Syed "M Syed" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
certainly this book has been written in hurry, programs do not execute in jboss. workbook claims it does but it doesn't! used absolutely the correct version of jboss. This book is not for beginners. After losing about a week time I had lost hope with this book and purchased jboos in action. Jboss in action is good book for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK; rather dense!, 16 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. A. P. R. Cooper "paul_cooper" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book covers the ground, but in comparison with other O'Reilly texts it is hard going! And, because the method used is that of working through an example, it can be hard to find material if your model does not correspond tot he model being implemented in the example. A solid reference section would have been useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good for new programmers, 5 Aug. 2008
Not impressed with this book.
Information is scattered all over the pages. Not arranged in order.
No explanation for diagrams.
Introduction itself is bit strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enterprise JavaBeans 3.0
£25.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews