Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars82
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2015
read this book through, good as a guide to get started on javascript and also for future reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
A fantastic resource for javascript developers a book you'll come back to again and again..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Concise and to the point. Highly recommended for anyone grappling with ‘real’ JavaScript.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
This is a great book for learning JavaScript the programming language. Be warned however, that it doesn't say much at all about programming for web browsers. I've spent a lot of time using object oriented languages (C#, Java, C++). JavaScript is different from these languages in important ways and this book helped me learn how to use it effectively. Douglas Crockford is a recognised expert on JavaScript, and this concise but deeply technical book shows why.
I wouldn't recommend this book for novice programmers, but it's ideal for experienced programmers new to JavaScript or for JavaScript programmers who want to dig deeper into the language. This is likely to be my favourite JavaScript book for many years.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Light and meaningful guidance on what to do and not to do in JS - worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2011
This is a tough read for a newbie but it does say that it is a book for programmers and by extension therefore not for beginners.
There are some errors of presentation for example a circle is not an oval (see page 5) which left me wondering if I was missing something and wether there are other errors which I am not equipped to spot.

It can be repetitive.

I do not think I will be able to write programs just from reading this book but I think it will be a useful resource if I ever manage to get to grips with the language.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
As the Preface (which sadly you can't see until you've bought the book) says, Javascript is full of horrible evil things, but also has some relatively good parts.

And since we're stuck with it for browser scripting we'd better learn how best to use the good bits and avoid the rest.

This is essential book for anyone writing Javascript. If you are new to Javascript buy this book together with your chosen tutorial and read them together. It will save you endless grief.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Excellent distillation of JavaScript for experienced programmers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Cracking book a must read for new and old developers alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Don't pick up this book expecting to learn Javascript from it (though you could). Read either because you have been using Javascript for a while and want to learn the best practice tips or because you are an accomplished developer who is intrigued by the idea that this 'toy' language really could be more than you think.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)