Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JavaScript the language, presented for professional programmers
In this small and dense book you will find JavaScript guru Douglas Crockford's presentation of the beautiful subset of a language that lies within JavaScript as a whole. You can use this subset to write serious programs. Occasionally you might have to use some of what Crockford calls "the bad parts", but at least you'll know the dangers, and how to mitigate them...
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by A Reader

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners
If you haven't used Javascript for more than 6 months, or if you're just startng your journey into the beautiful world of the world's most misunderstood language, do NOT buy this book. This book is full of good advice, but it is written in a style and language which will make sense only to professional javascript programmers.
I'd suggest that you read the Rhino...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by A. T. Jadhav


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JavaScript: The Good Parts: The Good Parts (Kindle Edition)
Best JS book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read! Amazing book, very well written and to read it straight from the horse's mouth is actually a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very dense content, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a MUST have javascript book. It gives very good information. Everyone developing javascript should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly good!, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book around 6 months after getting interested in javascript. I was at best a intermediate novice before picking this book up, and still did not understand many of the concepts. This book brought it all to life, sometimes requiring several reads to get the penny to drop, but always getting there. I would not have progressed in my learning without this book. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, no need for any other javascript book, 8 Dec 2012
This is an excellent book - very well written and covers all aspects you would want to know. the best part is that it is a short book so is easily readable and comfortable enough to take most of it in without getting lost within hundreds of pages.

needs a good few solid concentrated reads to enable all theories to sink in, but as above being a short book helps you achieve this quicker than with a monstrous 500+ page book.

its definitely all you will need to gain a solid understanding in the language, which you can build on and write much, much better code than you would have done without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 25 Feb 2012
Banish all those terrible coding practices that you picked up by copying and pasting snippets of javascript code that you 'found' on the web into the your applications. Anyone who is starting to develop in javascript should definitely read this book to help learn the best practices and the worst practices to avoid. This book is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 4 Dec 2011
There are no more words needed. This book is simply awesome just as everything Mr. Crokford writes. He is a great referent in Javascript development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for seasoned programmers, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Until I got this book I thought JavaScript sucked, but then I realized I was not using it properly. It actually is a quite fun and powerful language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very good parts, 12 Oct 2011
This book has really helped my understanding of javascript. In particular it helped to demystify objects, arrays and functions. I'm a better programmer as a result. It's not a complete reference or cook book, it's more illuminating than either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book and I fundamentally disagree with the negative reviews. This is *definitely* a good book for beginners, you might want to have done a little JavaScript first but I'd definitely start with this rather thna something like the definitive guide.

My only criticism is the same thing some others have made, namely some sentences in the book are poorly worded. When these poorly worded sentences are describing some odd JavaScript behavior I did get a little lost, but in each case a simple google search set me straight.

Its a small criticism and definitely shouldn't put you off as in general the book is well written and delivers a lot of bang for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JavaScript: The Good Parts: The Good Parts
£11.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews