Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More comprehensive and cheaper alternatives are available.
I think that this is a very good book to have by your side when you are coding. You could save money by downloading the PHP documentation from php.net, that is much more comprehensive, and free. One caveat, don't buy this book and O'Reilly's Webmaster in a nutshell (an excellent book) as the latter includes all of php pocket reference and much much more. I did exactly...
Published on 18 July 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly useless for most people
I bought this book already knowing PHP but needing a quick reference to refer to for all the built-in functions (there's no way I can memorize them all!) so I could quickly look up the correct function to use. For that purpose this book is totally useless. Let us count the ways:

1. the function reference is not categorized (array functions, database functions...
Published on 8 April 2008 by T. McKittrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More comprehensive and cheaper alternatives are available., 18 July 2001
By A Customer
I think that this is a very good book to have by your side when you are coding. You could save money by downloading the PHP documentation from php.net, that is much more comprehensive, and free. One caveat, don't buy this book and O'Reilly's Webmaster in a nutshell (an excellent book) as the latter includes all of php pocket reference and much much more. I did exactly that and was a bit annoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly useless for most people, 8 April 2008
By 
T. McKittrick (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
I bought this book already knowing PHP but needing a quick reference to refer to for all the built-in functions (there's no way I can memorize them all!) so I could quickly look up the correct function to use. For that purpose this book is totally useless. Let us count the ways:

1. the function reference is not categorized (array functions, database functions etc) in any way, it's just a LOOONG list of all the functions in alphabetical order so you need to know the name of the function you're looking for before you even start looking.

2. No index, which could have made (1) slightly less of a problem.

3. Each function in the reference begins with the return type (string, int etc). Handy, but as these return types are all different lengths, and there's no padding to make the function names after them line up, you can't just scan down the page at the function names, you have to first find where the function name starts on the line. Slow slow slow. Would a bit of spacing really have hurt that much?

I get the feeling this book was thrown together in a very short time, with very little care and no thought put into its usability as a reference of any kind.

Stick to the online documentation if you're after the kind of quick reference this book should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best buy ever, 19 April 2003
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
If you are like me, you buy the Pocket Reference books to gain a fast track insight into a particular language or framework. The PHP Pocket Reference does precisely this: the first thirty pages run through all of the core syntax of PHP. These pages alone justify buying the book. The remaining 100 pages of the book take the form of an alphabetical function reference (function signatures together with very brief descriptions). To be honest, this reference is of little to no use. To use it, you either must know the name of the function you wish to look up, or you must make an educated guess at what the function is called. This section of the book would have been infinitely more useful had the author compiled it on a categorical basis in a similar way to the documentation that ships with PHP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little bundle of joy, 25 Jun 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
I was fed up with having to dig out my monster PHP book, just to lookup something simple that only took up a paragraph of space to explain.
This book is ideal for php user that wants/needs a quick ref now and again. It has nearly pages at the end of the page covering core PHP functions, although not all are listed there, the main continually used ones are.
If you are getting in to PHP, I'd advise getting a bigger book with alots of examples and maybe turn to this one at the alter date, but for the intermediate user this book makes light work of finding information fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference for the beginner, 29 Feb 2004
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
This book pitches you headlong into coding PHP. By the time you've finished the first two chapters, you'll be able to implement any of the thousands of function references that make up the rest of the title. A great sidearm for web developers, whatever your experience level, and another worthwhile product from O'Reilly Press. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst techbook I bought, 4 Sep 2008
By 
G. G. B. Apeldoorn (NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
The first 34 pages are somewhat useful, where some basics of php are explained briefly.

After that, there is an alphabetical list of functions with 1 line of explanation for each.

Totally useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could also be used to level your table !, 20 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: PHP Pocket Reference (Paperback)
The copy I bought is the 2nd Edition (covering PHP4) in paperback. I'm learning PHP and thought it would be useful, but the Function Reference section starts at page 34 through to 132, and as a previous reviewer has said, "There is no index". The list of functions are not sorted alphabetically either ! The good side is that the book wasn't expensive and I might find something useful in it eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and lacking a Index, but otherwise useful, 26 Jan 2002
By 
Alexander Davies (Lincolnshire, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This book was written for a late version of PHP3, so when running PHP4 you get annoyed to find that some functions have been removed! Other than that, its very useful. It almost makes up for the lack of a Index by sorting the functions into 3-4 pages per catagory i.e. file handling or mysql database which makes it easy to find what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential PHP reference, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This book contains everything you need to know about programming in PHP3. A complete function list and a small tutorial, squeezed into a compact pocket sized book to sit on your desktop.
Unfortunately, many of the people interested in this book may have, (like me), already bought O'reilly's 'Webmaster in a Nutshell Second Edition'. If so, you'll find that you've already got every word printed in this apparently new book! (I'm not joking! This book is a reprint of the chapter on PHP within the 'Webmaster' book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It may be out of date but it is still helpful, 2 Nov 2002
By 
As other reviewers have said, this book is quite out fo date. Having said that, most of the commands covered in it are still current it later versions of PHP and therefore this book is still very useful. Ever since I started writing PHP, I have kept this book handy. A very worthwile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP Pocket Reference
PHP Pocket Reference by Rasmus Lerdorf
4.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews