Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
114
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2009
Well the track listing has been released (May 7th 2009) and whilst I am still looking forward to a long overdue release I have to say I am disappointed at the lack of imagination in the song selection. One wonders which "focus group" came up with this all too predictable collection.

It seems there is no place for "Your love is forever" from the 1978 "George Harrison" album; a solo Beatle classic and a fantastic demonstration of George's open D tuning and vastly underrated, slide guitar technique.

In addition there is no room for "Life Itself," "Run of the mill" "Tired of midnight blue" "Cockamamie Business," the Philly inspired "Woman don't you cry for me" "Unknown delight" "Awaiting on you all" "Beware of darkness," "Stuck inside a cloud" and many many more. This might have been an excellent opportunity to release one or two tracks that have been lying in the vaults - "Lay his head" is the one that immediately springs to mind.

One can only hope that Olivia Harrison, who hitherto has managed George's not inconsiderable legacy with a dignity and a grace which has been truly inspiring, will persuade the powers that be to re-visit this project and add another disc which will do justice to a talent that for so long has been overlooked.

All of the above being said I will still order a copy - from Amazon of course

Roger Bell - Ascot, Berkshire
1515 comments| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
Still not good enough, this compilation falls short to portrait the man s' best songs. Of course the cd includes some of the best, but, there was enough songs left for a double CD.

Even some big or minor hits are not included like the following :

Bangla Desh (the original studio hit single)
You (hit single)
Crackerbox Palace (hit single)
Dark Horse (hit single)
Cloud Nine (single)
This Guitar Cant Keep from Crying (single)

Some great songs included on his solo albums:
Beautiful Girl (a forgotten song)
Dear One (a great song)
Your Love is Forever (one of his best songs)
Love comes to everyone
Here comes the moon

Some singles that were not big hits:
Faster (single)
Teardrops (single)
Wake up my love (single)
Life Itself
Ding Dong Ding Dong (received a lot of airplay)

Some B Sides:
Miss O'Dell (single B side)
Deep Blue (single B side)
I don't care anymore (rare B side)
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This CD contains some well known and some unfamiliar tracks.

I have been playing it in the car for over 8 weeks- nearly continuously- and find it helps me cope with the traffic and the days frustrations- I just listen to George and chill!
Especially moved by 'All Things Must Pass' and 'Isn't it a Pity'.

The Quiet Beatle and the BEST Beatle in my humble opinion.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 May 2009
Fair enough, for those expecting a comprehensive 'best of' this is a bit of a let down because it's the same old, same old - very good 'same old' mind, but there you go!

I think this is a great place to start if you're new to George Harrison. There's loads of great songs here and it gives you a real taster to go explore his other albums. Many of them are superb.

If you like this, snap up the 'All Things Must Pass' album and 'Brainwashed'. They top and tail his career and are both excellent.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
An almost complete best of, with original and updated version of his most popular songs. Excellent audio quality. Sometimes Harrison sounds boring and too poor, like there is not a big musical density and not always a great melodic roundness. He does his best with brilliant and lighhearted stuff (like in Brainwashed, whose songs are not included, or with Travelling Wylburis), or in classic ballads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2009
I do agree with many of the sentiments of the other reviewers regarding this album. Yes it could have been so much better and many favorites have been ommited which has frustrated many....but hey come on it is George Harrison we're talking about...one of the greatest musicians/composers of all time and I just think it's great that almost 8 years after his death we still can have a George album doing so well in the pre-order chart and the fact that we're all here still debating the tracklist...well it's just fab.

Thank you for the music George...we still miss you....sleep well you beautiful man.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
An atractive compilation to remember one of a legendary singer and composer. The sound is excellent, well remastered. EMI did a good job. The booklet is beautiful, with a lot of information and big coloured pictures. The only deficiency is the lack of the timing and any information about the album from which the songs were selected or, at least, the year of first release. We are obliged to look somewhere else for such information. Otherwise, an A++ album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2009
First off, which no one seems to be saying is that the sound quality here is top notch with songs like "cheer down" and "got my mind set on you" sounding blisteringly great; but what's the latter doing on a collection called "songs of George Harrison" anyway? He didn't write it.
I think one live version would have sufficed, or how about the stunning "Old brown shoe" from his "Live in Japan" cd? My big quibble though is the omission of some of Harrison's best single releases, especially "Bangla Desh" and its great b side "Deep Blue"
Have to agree with others - should have been a double with the addition of the following :
Bangla Desh (single)
Deep Blue (single B side)
Cloud Nine (single)
This Guitar (single)
You (single)
Pisces Fish (from "Brainwashed")
Life Itself
Crackerjack Palace (single)
Love comes to everyone
Here comes the moon
I don't care anymore (rare B side)
Dark Horse (single)
Faster (single)
Teardrops (single)
Wake up my love (single)
Miss O'Dell (single B side)

mind you, it was great to hear the Bob Dylan song from one of the Porkys movies!
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
Looking at this release my first thought is "about bloody time" but my second has to be "wow they have missed so many great Harrison songs off it"
Sure the track list reads for an album many fans will be more than happy to own and certainly worth 5 stars, but I feel I cannot give it 5 owing to the ommission of songs I could mention from his time with the WILBURYS. The cd also seems to virtually forget the existence of the 33 1/3, Gone Troppo, Extra Texture and Dark Horse albums. There is such a wealth of material out there by George that surely the record company could offer fans the option of purchasing a more complete 2 disc edition. Sure there is no doubt I will be buying this one but not until I have held out long enough just to see if a 2 disc collection will emerge.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This latest collection of George Harrison's spectacular musical history contains the most popular hits of his career. To be noted, there are some hits that are excluded, but are available on other Harrisons Collections such as, 'Best of' and 'Best of Dark Horse'. The best part of this disc is the fantastic remastering done by Giles Martin at EMI's Abbey Road Studio; the birthplace of the Beatles. Expert Warren Zanes has extensive liner notes that reveal the heart and soul of George Harrison and some insights into his person and music. Zanes notes that George Harrison has twice been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame both as a solo artist and as a Beatles member. Also included are the amazing mentions of Harrison's eleven (11) Grammy awards from the Beatles, his solo work and 'The Traveling Wilbury's'.

This collection spans George Harrison's entire solo recording career, including the #1 singles "My Sweet Lord," "Isn't It A Pity," "Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)," and "Got My Mind Set On You." The collection also includes three live recordings of Harrison-penned Beatles songs, including, "Something," "While My Guitar Gently Weeps," and "Here Comes The Sun." from Concert for Bangladesh the 1971 all-concert benefit at Madison Square Garden. Five of the songs are from Harrisons groundbreaking triple album, 'All Things Must Pass [BOXED EDITION]'.

For the true fan, there are dozens and dozens of album cut gems from other albums in Harrison's tremendous career.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)