Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2001
This cd is great! The only thing missing is the groups early Jazz leanings.IE Spider in your web.As rockers and balladeers no-one comes close to this much ignored, panned foursome from Nottingham. If you are new to their music..this IS a good place to start . Dan Jasper
0Comment55 of 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
Great compilation of tracks from this late 60s, British blues-rock band who are probably best known for their performance at the Woodstock festival. Features Norse God-alike Alvin Lee (aka Graham Barnes) on super-fast guitar, barnstorming his way through such chestnuts as I'm Going Home etc. Also try Cricklewood Green and Ssssh! for studio albums. For rock trivia fans: the name refers to their formation year of 1966, ten years after the Elvis Presley led Rock 'n' Roll explosion of 1956. R.I.P. Alvin Ssssh
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
If my memory serves me correctly there was a lot of musical snobbery surrounding Ten Years After and Alvin Lee by some of the 1970's musical press journalists ,which made me shy away from TYA at the time.I must have been a complete idiot to let them influence my musical tastes because if this album is anything to go by then I have wasted 40 odd years in NOT listening to them.This is the kind of classic rock / blues / jazz I was almost brought up on and not only is this album an absolute bargain and full of great stuff, I intend to start downloading their other albums as well which I hope is my small tribute and appreciation to the sadly departed Alvin Lee. Better late than never.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
This is a replacement cd for one that went missing and I hope that whoever ended up with it is enjoying this vastly underrated band greatly.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
I remember these from when they started and the music lyrics were as good if not better than a lot of other bands of the era. If you like rock, guitar, drums then you'll like this. I still think Cricklewood Green is their best ever album. I suppose if they hadn't have done as many US tours they would have given Cream, Free, etc. a bigger run for their money.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
took me back to my days when I could listen in peace to my music,I drive with the volume blastinging out Love like a Man
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
this is a great recording of a great band, rip alvin lee a great guitarist not many of them left ,brilliant cd
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
a great best of CD,the late great Alvin Lee at his best on this CD,a must have CD if your into TYA.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Ten Years After are a relatively average recording band who seem to become more than the sum of their parts when playing live to an audience. This is their best stuff but it doesn't stand up to live albums that I've listened to. Fans will still love it though. I do!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Quality, quality, quality. Add to this an exceptional guitarist and we have Ten Years After. 'The best of' gives you an insight of just how important this band were. After this selection try their Pure Blues album.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£3.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.