Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny People v Revolutionary Road
Hi, here's a 2 in 1 review for you.

Funny People - it's funny. Revolutionary Road - it's not. Funny People - it has drama. Revolutionary Road - it has people shouting at each other. Funny People - it has characters you care about. Revolutionary Road - it has characters you don't want to listen to. Funny People is longer than Revolutionary Road, but seems much...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Graham Chapman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Satire, drama, nice cast
As it's directed by Judd Apatow and has Seth Rogan and a variety of actors. I thought I'd watch it. Adam Sandler's older films are better. Leslie Mann stars. She was good in This Is 40. The stand up routines weren't funny to be honest. I liked the hot myspace groupies Mandy and Dawn. Aziz Ansari also features. Abit of a bromance/buddy movie. There are some funny scenes eg...
Published 5 months ago by Kish


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny People v Revolutionary Road, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Hi, here's a 2 in 1 review for you.

Funny People - it's funny. Revolutionary Road - it's not. Funny People - it has drama. Revolutionary Road - it has people shouting at each other. Funny People - it has characters you care about. Revolutionary Road - it has characters you don't want to listen to. Funny People is longer than Revolutionary Road, but seems much shorter.

Stand-up comedians make good subject matter ('Funny Bones', 'Punchline' were interesting films). Quarreling couples we can hear through the walls.

And Adam Sandler - I never got it with this actor, but in 'Anger Managment' and, particularly, 'Funny People' he works. Like Jerry Lewis in 'King of Comedy' - another good film about stand-ups. Stand-ups and salesmen - guaranteed good subject matter for films.

Some reviewers say this film isn't funny - even some who liked it said that. It is funny. It's not a comedy - that's true, but the title is accurate. Revolutionary Road, however, is a totally misleading title. It's not even ironic.

Buy or see 'Funny People' (5 stars). Avoid 'Revolutionary Road (2 stars).'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny People in an Emotional Drama, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
'Funny People' is an underrated comedy drama that released in 2009 to critical acclaim, however failed at the box-office.

The movie centres around the friendly relationship between a successful comedian/actor, George Simmons (Adam Sandler), who is diagnosed with Leukemia and an aspiring stand-up comedian, Ira Wright (Seth Rogen).

The movie has everything that we as an audience can relate to, which consists of, to name a few, comedy, emotions, friendship, loneliness and romance. The movie has all the essential elements for an out-and-out entertainer, it's funny, serious and emotional.

Adam Sandler portrays a serious character with a dry sense of humour in an excellent manner. He expresses the mixed emotions that he feels effectively. Seth Rogen is the show stealer with a fantastic comedic performance, every scene with him just made me laugh, even though it wasn't funny at times. Leslie Mann (plays the character of Laura) looks nice as Simmons ex-fiance but is unconvincing. Eric Bana who plays Mann's husband is competent. Jonah Hill, Jason Schwartzman and Aubrey Plaza, are all entertaining. Aziz Ansari (Randy Springs) is amusing.

The highlight of the movie is the chemistry between Sandler and Rogen, they bring the house down with every scene they jointly participate in. Their screen presence is great.

The only flaw is the duration of the movie, which is about 2 hours and 20 minutes causing it to drag in the end.

The director of the movie is Judd Apatow who previously directed the comedies, The 40-Year-Old Virgin and Knocked Up. Both of these movies starred Seth Rogen and were comedies throughout. In Funny People, Apatow succeeds in making an interesting comedy with the successful addition of drama. He also manages to extract good performances from the actors. This is Apatow's best effort so far.

The cracking mood lifting music for the movie is composed by Jason Schwartzman and Michael Andrews.

The things that I loved about the movie was the brilliant dialogues and the interesting situations. The movie made me laugh and at the same time was touching, thats what I call entertainment.

'Funny People' is absorbing and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really an Adam sandler fan but this is a great film. I actually watched it twice. You'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Satire, drama, nice cast, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
As it's directed by Judd Apatow and has Seth Rogan and a variety of actors. I thought I'd watch it. Adam Sandler's older films are better. Leslie Mann stars. She was good in This Is 40. The stand up routines weren't funny to be honest. I liked the hot myspace groupies Mandy and Dawn. Aziz Ansari also features. Abit of a bromance/buddy movie. There are some funny scenes eg with the european doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny just like the title, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great film great actors 2 of my fav and just like the title it's very funny and a great dtoryline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WHICH JOKE DID YOU FIND FUNNY?, 22 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Adam Sadler plays an unlikable comedian, George Simmons, who finds out he may be terminal with AML and tries an experimental drug. He decides to do stand up again when he meets comedian wanna-be Ira Wright (Seth Rogen) attempting stand-up. Sadler is impressed by Ira and hires him to write jokes and to be his personal go-fer. Ira finds out about the illness and convinces George to tell his family and friends about it. George plays the death card to patch up relationships, then suddenly he isn't going to die anymore. George re-examines his life, but even at mid-life he is still an immature a-hole. Everyone has sex but Ira, which seems to be a sad joke.

I found the jokes and humor to be at best, lame. The language was crude and sexual. Brief nudity. Perhaps what is best about the movie is that it makes sit-coms look really lame. If you think a guy saying "tweet" over and over again, spinning around in a circle is funny, then this movie is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but needs editing, 26 Feb 2013
By 
R. Williams (Dorchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Made by Judd Apatow, the man who brought us '40 year old virgin' and 'Knocked up', this is a slightly less commercial, more thoughtful film. George Simmons (Adam Sandler) is a successful comedian who discovers that he has a fatal blood disease. At the same time he is told of his condition his path crosses with Ira (Seth Rogen) an ambitious stand up comedian. the film charts their friendship and George's coming to terms with his condition.

The film is entertaining and there are some funny moments. My problem with the film was its length. With a bit of editing this could have been a satisfying experience. As it is it outstays it's welcome and by the end some of the jokes about bodily parts were getting a little tiresome. I am not an Adam Sandler fan, but I thought he was very good as a man coming to terms with his mortality and reflecting on his fame.

If you want a laugh you could do worse.

Check out if you like:

Hannah and her sisters
Knocked up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny first half - tragic comedy second act, 17 Jun 2012
This review is from: Funny People [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Funny People is about stand-up comedian/actor George Simmons (Adam Sadler) who learns he is dying of leukaemia and, obviously not feeling that in the mood to be funny, enlists the help of struggling comedian Ira Wright (Seth Rogen) to help out with some of the material.

With plenty of soul-searching and wondering where his life went wrong Simmons and Wright's exploits may not seem like the ideal source for a comedy movie. As with other Judd Apatow movies, it's quite long (over two hours). The first half manages to be pretty funny - helped along with various scenes of stand-up comedy and allowing the performers to be funny.

However, the second half takes a more darker tone (cue the inclusion of Eric Bana). There's nothing wrong with this change, but, if you're expecting a straight happy-go-lucky comedy (ala 40 Year Old Virgin or Knocked Up) this may surprise you.

I'm not much of a fan of Adam Sadler. Normally he annoys me, but I found him actually quite good at playing a more unlikeable character. His and Rogen's parts were written especially for them and it shows in their interaction, which does elevate the movie and carry it all the way through.

All in all, not your average comedy, but certainly funny enough to get a fair few laughs in. Then, once you've stopped laughing, there's enough human emotion to finish it off with to make it so you actually care about the characters.

Overall 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a laugh-a-minute comedy...but still a good piece of entertainment, 7 May 2012
I've never really liked Adam Sandler. In truth I don't find him that funny, and most of his work has struck me as quite juvenile. I'm not a comedy snob, I've just not appreciated much of his work to date. That opinion somewhat changed when I watched the fantastic Reign Over Me, and it's been re-inforced by Funny People.

Funny People isn't quite how the title suggests. In many ways it's not that funny, but it's funny in a Knocked Up kind of way. So it's quite uncomfortable at times, it deals with some darker subjects, but at the same time it deals with them in an entertaining way.

Sandler is a stand-up comic with more money than most people can imagine, and he's a bit of an ass. However, his world changes when he is diagnosed with a form of leukemia, and is told he doesn't have long to live. Enter Seth Rogan, a struggling comedian who lacks confidence and isn't really any good. He catches a break when Sandler employs him to write material for his own sets, and so embarks a strange friendship between the down-to-earth, down-on-his-luck protege and the spoiled, successful and ultimately unhappy star.

There are several funny moments in the movie, namely during the stand-up comedy scenes, but beneath this is a more serious movie about someone losing their way and trying to work out what's important in life. The script is solid, and if you like any of Seth Rogan's material, you're sure to enjoy this.

So not really a laugh out loud movie, but a great piece of entertainment regardless. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comedy with a difference: It's not a comedy. But it's still pretty funny., 9 April 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is something quite different from Adam Sandler and I must say it worked quite well. Although it's a film about stand-up comics, it's not really a comedy. It is funny though.

Funny People is more of a drama. The story follows George, (Adam Sandler) a successful Stand-up who is diagnosed with a rare blood disease and his helper/joke writer Ira (Seth Rogen) who is himself a struggling up and coming comic.

After a gig, George sees potential in Ira and hires him to write jokes for him and help out as his personal assistant. It's hard to describe this film, as not much happens. It's just a journey; a snap shot of people's lives, but nevertheless, it's pretty enjoyable.

It features an all star cast and lots off cameos, with anyone who's anyone on the comedy circuit with at least a few lines at some point in the film. One cameo of note was Marshall Mathers, AKA Eminem and another was MySpace founder, Tom.

Given the cast and the title, Funny People wasn't exactly what I expected, but I still enjoyed it and laughed and chuckled a lot. If you want a laugh with a difference, Funny People fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funny People [DVD] [2009]
Funny People [DVD] [2009] by Judd Apatow (DVD - 2010)
2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews