Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely recording... I can't recommend it enough..., 16 July 2009
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
The high points of Oasis gigs have changed over the years. When I first saw them ten years ago, the best moments were Cigarettes and Alcohol, Some Might Say and Rock `n' Roll Star. Last week at Wembley, the highlights for me (by a long way) were Half The World Away, and a spectacular spine-tingling acoustic version of Don't Look Back in Anger in the encore. That may be because I've seen Oasis live many times, and because I'm less interested these days in the mad euphoria in the middle of the crowd. Or it may be that over the test of time, those are the songs that endure for Oasis.

These days, I am far more interested in something like this album than I am in the latest studio offering. This is a live recording of Noel Gallagher singing a string of Oasis' best songs acoustically. Included here are a couple of covers, a guest appearance by Paul Weller, and some lovely, lovely recordings which demonstrate the power of Gallagher's songwriting.

The songs which have always been stripped-down classics are here - Talk Tonight, Cast No Shadow and Ryan Adams-influenced Wonderwall. There are some other songs which benefit hugely from the acoustic treatment - notably Fade Away (a similar version of which appeared on a War Child album) and Don't Go Away, the single that never was from Be Here Now.

There has always been something magic about seeing Noel singing his songs live: whilst Liam's stronger voice on studio albums is what has driven Oasis to their huge success, the emotion and commitment that Noel puts into his music is far more spell-binding.

This is an excellent album for new fan and old. It will excite you if you have everything Oasis ever released, and probably surprise you if you don't. There are a number of B-sides here which - in this format in particular - are among the finest songs Noel has ever written. I recommend this album very highly (and it's for a good cause)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Live Performance, But A Shame It Was Never Released Physically, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
Noel is on top form here and his joint performances with Paul Weller stand out brilliantly. Well worth the price, though as the title suggests, it would have been superb to own a physical copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
Great Album and all for a good cause! Its quite hard to find Live Music on CD from Noel Gallagher and you wont be disappointed by this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Live Album, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
Noel Gallagher absolutely on form with the welcome addition of guest Paul Weller.
Definitely one for the collection if you like Noel Gallagher or Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics revamped, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
If you have any doubt about buying this, probably on the basis you already have most of the songs on other albums, doubt no longer. This is a brilliant live album. Conversely the cover versions (like the Butterfly Collector, a duet with Paul Weller, directly from the bar...) aren't actually my favourites, it's listening to acoustic versions of Oasis tunes with track 9, "Listen Up" being given a completely new lease of life from it's original B side/Masterplan release.

The use of the live brass instruments etc makes this a must-have for any Noel or Oasis fan, absolutely top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Noel Gallagher, 12 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
This is typical Noel at his best, a few of the best oasis tracks and a duet with Paul Weller, it doesn't get much better. Even a rare and fantastic performance of Cast No Shadow, one of oasis underrated and rarely (if ever) played songs written about Richard Ashcroft. A must for all Oasis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that there's after Oasis for Noel, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
Really good album and it shows how good Noel Gallagher will be now that oasis have split. It takes the best bits of Oasis and gives it his own twist. A very good live album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noel at his best!, 3 Dec 2009
By 
M. L. Bryaes "Classless, Clever & Free" (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust) (MP3 Download)
This album is classic Oasis. Not only does it feature some of the best Oasis tracks ever recorded it also has some classic B-sides which are as good if not better than the chart topping classics. The acoustic sound with string backing is similar to that used on the infamous MTV unplugged sessions where Liam didnt show up. In my opinion this is some of the best sounding acoustic recordings by Oasis. Shame they split up :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews