Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early days, so much promise......
In the early eighties the dream of any band within the "rock" genre, was the famed Hammersmith Odeon. Most bands who played there were already established "names", but Marillion had by this stage built up a strong reputation on the live circuit, through relentless touring of lesser venues, steadily gaining a following of devoted fans. After only one album release, they...
Published on 12 May 2002 by Pete France (pete@excitablebea...

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fish at his best as a singer.
This video was made during Marillion's early years before they managed to shake off the distinctly Genesis feel about their music. It is not from my favourite period of the band's career and was recorded before the band's spellbounding Misplaced Childhood rock album, but on the positive side it catches singer Fish at his peak, before his voice began to lose its strength,...
Published on 16 Nov 2000 by themoon73@aol.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early days, so much promise......, 12 May 2002
In the early eighties the dream of any band within the "rock" genre, was the famed Hammersmith Odeon. Most bands who played there were already established "names", but Marillion had by this stage built up a strong reputation on the live circuit, through relentless touring of lesser venues, steadily gaining a following of devoted fans. After only one album release, they were able to sell out the hall, to a loyal and devoted fan base. This video captures them in their youthful, enthusiastic first flush. It's certainly not as polished as later efforts, and does not contain any of their more familiar work, such as the singles "Kayeligh" and "Lavender", but anyone who buys this tape will be able to see a band pushing forward their own brand of music with a passion and belief that these days are rarely seen. "Recital of the Script" is a snapshot of an early dream, Marillion's original singer Fish in full make up and the band, long haired, supporting him to the full. A true piece of rock theatre. Better things were to come, but this is well worth the money, the potential of this unique group shines through. Snap it up now and then investigate the rest of their output. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recital Of The Script, 8 July 2010
By 
Craig Savage - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recital Of The Script (Audio CD)
This takes me back to 1982 Theakston Music Festival I was nursing a hangover from hell,so we decided to listen to the bottom of the bill unsigned band who where due to start Saturdays proceedings.Wasnt I glad we did,I managed to see them again a further ten times in four years,and they where always excellant.Sometimes not as good as others,to much Misplaced Childhood towards the end,but always great.
My old vhs is long gone so this is a very nice addition which will be played to death.
This was the golden age of Marillian live,Script,Grendal,The Web all are here and as the show stopper Forgotten Sons.Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous grease-painted, fish flavoured stuff!, 19 Sep 2003
By 
carl iredale (halifax, west yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This really took me back! A live concert of Marillion when they were fantastic! All look very young and fresh-faced and on the brink of stardom live at the Hammersmith Odeon. Fish (Marillion's then lead singer) still has a head full of hair and the band really look to be enjoying themselves. They tear through all the tracks off their first and best album 'Script for a jester's tear'. We are also treated to some extra tracks, Grendel (all 17 mins of it, complete with a somewhat Peter Gabriel-esque mask) and some other rare footage of the band, same period from the Marquee club in London. Things to watch out for are Fish's attack on a rubber plant (yes that's right, a rubber plant), more prog rock widdley widdley keyboard solos than you could shake a stick at and an all round good show. Fab retro stuff, something you'll look at again and again and again. I have for years, this is just to replace my VHS copy which is now past it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halcyon Days!, 12 Oct 2009
This was Marillion at the moment they started on their journey to stadium filling chart toppers. Always deeply unfashionable, the bucked every trend of the day and defied all logic to become as massive as they did. The reason can only be their mesmerising music, supreme musicianship and astonisging talents and character of frontman Fish. This concert takes place during their first major headline tour in support of debut album Script For a Jester's Tear and showcases the whole album (six epic songs)as wel as the bonus of an apparently unplanned encore of the 17-minute masterwork 'Grendel'. To have been along for the ride at this stage in the band's career would have been very special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mar...vellous, 24 Oct 2009
By 
P. Musgrave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Recital Of The Script (Audio CD)
Wasn't sure about buying this because have reservations about live recordings. But...am REALLY glad I did. Have been wearing out my iPod playing this since it came. Particularly like Fish's wee stories between the tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, the complete prog picture!, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been many years since I last watched my old VHS version of this and since then I never did manage to catch sight of it's 'sister' footage - the two track VHS of The Web and Grendel. Little did I know they were from the same gig! Here they are, reunited at last as the complete gig they were meant to be, and the mystery of the soil on Fish's shirt is solved!

This is Marillion at their most prog-entrenched - the whole of the debut LP plus the epic Grendel and debut single Market Square Heroes. Yes it's been said they were Genesis clones and there's more than a touch of Peter Gabriel about Fish's on stage posturings and characterisations, but then we all knew that!

The extras are worth a look - some Marquee footage gives the impression of a very crowded stage, so you can see why the Hammersmith footage was chosen for the release.

Well packaged with colour photos I've never seen before at a nice price too - a must for any Marillion fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 3 Feb 2007
By 
S. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Watched this last night and my first reaction was the quality of the soundtrack. Excellent - and that's what matters the most with a music DVD.

Secondly, I can't believe just how good a voice Fish had in those days. Having just watched his DVD from 2005 (Return to Childhood) where he was all over the place vocally, this is a treasure indeed.

Lastly, although the musicianship of all involved was exemplary, you can't help feeling that Fish was totally the creative force and charisma behind Marillion as the other band members look far to dull and serious (and still do) which explains why the camera is 90% of the time focused on the lead singer.

Marillion died after Fish left as far as i'm concerned, and this is a great DVD to remind you of a time that they were in their creative ascendency. Check out "Live from Lorelei" on DVD aswell if you to want to hear music from the other three Fish/Marillion albums played live or even if you just want to see how much weight a rock star can put on in four years!

Oh yeah, and if anyone can explain the significance of the rubber plant, please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
A. Wells "S T Reese" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars marillion.recital of the script, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recital Of The Script (Audio CD)
been a big marillion fan since the early day's.anything with the fish lineup will do for me.not keen on the steve hogarth lineup at all gave up on them after afraid of sunlight album.stil there a good band but just don't do it for me at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWSOME DVD, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IT HAS BEEN THAT LONG SINCE I SAW THIS MARILLION GIG I HAD FORGOT HOW GOOD IT WAS AS THE LAST TIME WAS WHEN I HAD IT ON VHS, AWSOME GIG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Recital Of The Script
Recital Of The Script by Marillion (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews