Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Timeless
This double CD Live set provides the uninitiated with a snapshot of the early career (first four albums) of one of the most unique prog rock outfits ever, and shows these five guys in their natural habitat, LIVE. I saw Marillion several times in the eighties, always at Hammersmith Odeon or The Marquee Club and they always did the business. This album is also notable as...
Published on 18 April 2007 by Andy

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marillian Live
Sorry a Marillian live cd without Forgotten Sons just isnt on.This was the must play track at early concerts,so its exclusion makes this cd just okay.Better to buy Receital Of The Script for the best live offering.There is also far to much Misplaced Childhood on this for my taste.
Published on 8 July 2010 by Craig Savage


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Timeless, 18 April 2007
By 
Andy (Retford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thieving Magpie (Audio CD)
This double CD Live set provides the uninitiated with a snapshot of the early career (first four albums) of one of the most unique prog rock outfits ever, and shows these five guys in their natural habitat, LIVE. I saw Marillion several times in the eighties, always at Hammersmith Odeon or The Marquee Club and they always did the business. This album is also notable as the last hurrah for the Fish era. The songs on disc 1 are an eclectic mix from the first four albums, although they are not on the disc in chronological order. The Thieving Magpie disc 1, has great renditions of Chelsea Monday, Script, Sugar Mice, Incommunicado, White Russian, and disc 2 recites Misplaced Childhood practically note for note. I bought this CD shortly after it's release in '88 and still love it today. It was as good a way to say goodbye to Fish as any and remains a great album to pull out whenever you hear someone whinge about how appalling the music was in the eighties (which all too often is me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era for marillion. At their all time best LIVE, 20 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Thieving Magpie (Audio CD)
This album captivates the essence of marillion with fish. Its full of all the classics performed the only way they should be. Live and with fish. Chelsea Monday sums up the the quality of lirics and talent this band had as live performers, but the whole album is a must for all marillion fans. There are no bad tracks and the quality is excellent for a live recording. A MUST HAVE album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of Marillion's career., 2 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thieving Magpie (Audio CD)
I miss the Fish era of Marillion. His lyrics and his voice; but also the beautifully crafted songs. This live album has all the greats from that time and I have to say that since their This Strange Engine (Post Fish) album they seem to have become somewhat predictable.
This is live progressive rock at its best. Can't go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was pretty fantastic., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for a friend, so I can't write much about it.

Mostly in excellent condition, and the vinyl itself had no serious damage.

Quite a marvellous live collection, even for people who aren't keen on live recorded songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Dr. David C. Aldridge "David" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thieving Magpie (La Gazza Ladra) (Audio CD)
I love this album... I had it many years back at university, and finally got round to buying it again on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good live recording, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a huge Marillion fan and my preference is for the early material. This is an excellent rendition of the band at their peak (in my opinion). The full live production of Misplaced Childhood is worth the price alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marillion live, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. T. Bourke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thieving Magpie (La Gazza Ladra) (Audio CD)
Without doubt their best work live, also bought " Live from Loreley" which has a few different tracks but no where as good as this recording. I ordered this as I had a disc missing from the one I bought many years ago and still think the into "La Gazza Ladra" which runs into Sainte Mhath the best start to a rock concert I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The original Marillion at their best, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Little Cat Voom (The middle of England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thieving Magpie (La Gazza Ladra) (Audio CD)
It`s almost impossible to accept that Steve Hogarth has been Marillion`s frontman for over twenty years, whilst Fish was only the singer between 1981-88!! That isn`t to say anything negative about "H", just that I love Fish. And the first side (particularly the first side) of this album is a seamless, majestic collection of music. I`m reluctant to use careless phrases like prog-rock, as I never felt that pigeon-holing was necessary or appropriate - this is just great music. Marillion were very dramatic with Fish at the helm - the intro of "Slainte Mhath" for example, there`s something of the Pixies - bear with me! - about it. QuietLoudQuiet. And Fish is quite happy to throw in poetry, drama, comedy, peaks of emotional happiness or despair, always beautifully underscored by the flawless Rothery, Trewavas, Kelly and Mosley. I listen to this regularly, and I first bought it on tape in upon release when I was 13...it`s still great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fish's swan song, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thieving Magpie (Audio CD)
A two-CD live set from 1988, recorded on the Straws tour, this is Fish's swan song and an excellent live souvenir of the great band's work with that singer. All of their albums are featured strongly with Fugazi and Misplaced Childhood getting the whole of their title tracks/suites in their entirety. Early classics like He Knows You Know get an outing; Chelsea Monday features an outstanding guitar solo. Fugazi is the highlight of disc 1. Disc 2 is dominated by the whole of side 1 of Misplaced Childhood with the highlight being Heart Of Lothian which comes across particularly well live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recommended, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent condition brought secondhand - arrived promptly and have just listened to this album great songs by a great rock band, all round very happy bunny !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thieving Magpie (La Gazza Ladra)
Thieving Magpie (La Gazza Ladra) by Marillion (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews