Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital Signs
Since his Bronski Beat debut in 1984 with (the still
wonderful) 'Smalltown Boy' Jimmy Somerville has always been
true to himself. His music, his politics and his lifestyle
are inseperable. He is also a thoroughly decent chap.

His voice is a remarkable instrument. A true falsetto which
can act as both a salve and a sword. A gentle dragon of...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by The Wolf

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation for a cheap price, but...
Track 3 on Disc 2 is certainly NOT the San Paulo Remix of "Never Can Say Goodbye"! I bought this specifically to get that mix on CD, and was devastated to find it wasn't there!
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by craig


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital Signs, 17 Jan 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
Since his Bronski Beat debut in 1984 with (the still
wonderful) 'Smalltown Boy' Jimmy Somerville has always been
true to himself. His music, his politics and his lifestyle
are inseperable. He is also a thoroughly decent chap.

His voice is a remarkable instrument. A true falsetto which
can act as both a salve and a sword. A gentle dragon of a
voice, instantly recognisable and still solid as a rock.

This fine 2 CD compilation is a worthy retrospective of
Mr Somerville's career (how can a quarter of a century have
passed by so quickly?!) and includes pretty much everything
you might wish to hear by way of an introduction to his
worthy and extensive back catalogue.

To hear The Communards' 'For A Friend' again is alone worth the
price of the album. This utterly beautiful, heartwrenching song
is Mr Somerville's finest moment. The emotional truth and power
of the composition remains one of the most affecting expressions
of love and loss ever to have drawn breath in the listening world.

There's a lot of fun to be had as well as the odd tear however.
The rendition of 'Never Can Say Goodbye' stokes up more energy
than a rampant herd of migrating wildebeest. The earth truly
shakes with the bouncy, bouncy exhilaration of it all! If you
don't feel like dancing to this track then you should not have
come to the party! Disco heaven continues in the shape of the
FABULOUS arrangements of Sylvester's 'You Make Me Feel (Mighty
Real' (the brass burns holes in the dancefloor!); 'Read My Lips
(Enough Is Enough)'(Hands In The Air Everyone!!); the magical
take on 'Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You' and the blissfully
uplifting 'Don't Leave Me This Way' (still packing a mighty
punch twenty-five years on!!)

Mr Somerville is a little hero in his own quiet way.

He should be proud.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy is perfect on a long journey, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
Can't get enough of Jimmy's outstanding voice & arrangements. He's been accompanying on many of my recent journeys at the expence of Madge, Kylie, Scissors, Debbie H, and a host of others.

Beautifully balanced album and especially enjoy the second disc with most of his solo work on it.

Can't speak too highly of it.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation for a cheap price, but..., 24 Mar 2010
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
Track 3 on Disc 2 is certainly NOT the San Paulo Remix of "Never Can Say Goodbye"! I bought this specifically to get that mix on CD, and was devastated to find it wasn't there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For A Friend, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
Fabulous album. All the major classic hits from both bands and when he was a solo artist. A feel good cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For A Friend: the best of Bronski Beat / The Communards / Jimmy Somerville, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
What a wonderful thing - to have the awesome voice and music of the wonderful Jimmy Somerville back in my life again....how i've missed you, Jimmy!
This double disk set is just superb; sublime! Classic tracks from Bronski Beat, The Communards, and Jimmy Somerville. A very worthwhile purchase. The feisty little Glaswegian with a wonderfully angelic voice, really packs a punch. A nice range of musical styles and genres. A comprehensive look at the work of this very impressive, gay artist.
In short: bl**dy fantastic - just buy it! ...lots of really great feel-good tunes. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Eighties Flashback, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
Superb soulful sometimes haunting ...this CD is full of memories, beautifully evoked by Jimmy Somervilles stunning lyrics. As for the saxophone it pours into your ears like melted chocolate mmm ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Jimmy Somerville compilation, 20 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
This is probably the best of the three Bronski Beat/Communards/Jimmy Somerville compilations, spread over 2 CDs in nice presentation box with good sleeve notes too. These were radical songs in the 80s/90s pop charts, mainly because of the bold gay lyrics, sometimes political but more often love songs addressed to same-sex partners; still rare today and therefore of equal importance for the modern gay community. I bought this collection because of the more recent material included, such as the wonderful US Dance Chart topper "Heartbeat", the delicious "By Your Side" and the ultra-camp "Can't Take My Eyes Off Of you", plus the extended versions of major hits such as Don't Leave Me This Way and especially the excellent San Paulo mix of "Never Can Say Goodbye". Its a shame that Bronski Beat's terrific post-Jimmy song "Hit That Perfect Beat" (a big hit) and Jimmy's minor hit "Hurts So Good" aren't included, but this is the most comprehensive collection available to date. Even the less familar songs are very catchy, but the best material remains the early Bronski Beat songs, which have a darker and more soulful feel than the Communards and Jimmy's solo material. Very pleased by the inclusion of the Doors cover "People Are Strange" in which Jimmy loses his falsetto as he did in the early Bronski Beat song "Junk"; however I think his voice remains strong and possibly richer in the later recordings, although these are less well known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely - a blast from my past, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
A great cd full f my old favourites plus a couple that were new to me, but really enjoyable. I good addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For a Friend CD : Jimmy Somerville, 8 April 2014
By 
Wyndham Hibberd (Bridgend, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
Great album at a fantastic price on Amazon. Can't fail to like the variety of stuff on this. Pure Somerville sound and beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville (Audio CD)
This really is a collection from this mans whole career and has hit record after hit record throughout and then throw in some politically aware songs and you have a fantastic collection..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For a Friend: The Best of Bronski Beat, The Communards & Jimmy Somerville
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews