Customer Reviews


408 Reviews
5 star:
 (304)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


195 of 206 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected.
Let me just start by saying game is better than I first expected, simply because open world free-roam games are nothing new anymore, particularly from rockstar and personally I feel that the GTA series has really reached the end because there isn't really much scope left for another game. Rockstar possibly feel the same way, so they have been putting all their heart into...
Published on 25 May 2010

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A major disappointment
One of my initial thoughts when playing Red Dead Redemption for the first time was that it looked beautiful. And it does. However, when I began to move my character I was immediately disappointed. One thing Rockstar cannot do well is smooth character movement and responsive controls. Play any other decent third-person game and you'll know what I mean.

I had...
Published on 20 Jun. 2012 by Uther Doul


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are John Marston..., 5 July 2010
By 
Mark (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
This is one tremendous game. If you like Westerns, love Sergio Leone films and secretly imagine that you are Clint Eastwood: get this game. The start is slow, introducing you to the game mechanics and controls but you'll soon get caught up in Johns situation. I've never felt so sympathetic to a playable character before - I chose to play John as a good guy on the first playthrough. By the end of the game, you have been put through the ringer in terms of alliances made, old friends betrayed and a life regained. There is simply so much to do in Red Dead Redemption, 50% of it voluntarily which means that you can concentrate on the story missions and blow through the game in about 15 hours of gameplay. Thankfully, the nature of the world is so well realised that you can't help but go off and treasure hunt, help strangers and go hunting bears. I even spent an evening just sitting in a saloon, playing poker and listening to my opponents have the craic. I can't recommend this game enough. If you have any interest in the Western genre of films, this lets you be completely IN one of the best ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Surprisingly Awesome Game I've Ever Played, 12 Sept. 2010
By 
C. Pendlebury "Pentdad" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
Okay I play GTA 4 I know it's gonna' be great. I play the new COD- again, it's gonna' be amazing. But I wanted something different, and I sure did find it with Red Dead Redemption.

Firstly, the graphics and setting could be some of the most beautiful ever seen in a videogame. The wilderness is exactly what you would hope for and expect. Birds in the sky, animals running around, nothing on the horizon for miles... it's quite incredible. Rockstar have shown yet again that they are the largest company still willing to take risks. Because this game will not sell a zillion copies, but those of us who have bought it will know how it grips you. Not just the missions, but side missions- one small example is becomming a 'legendary hunter' by hunting all different kinds of creature. It's just one small part, one small example, of a huge game. Hell you can even go around collecting herbs and plants if you like to become a legendary survivalist.

It's just... stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of the Year, 14 July 2010
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
GTA with horses may seem like a lazy description, but it's pretty accurate for the opening hours of Red Dead Redemption. Missions are located by markers on the map, saving advances time 6 hours. Personally, it took a while to get going, and has a more languorous pace than Rockstar's flagship series. However, John Marston's story is epic, with a dark, bleak tone that few developers can achieve, and culminates in one of the greatest endings in recent memory.
Redemptions true depth isn't immediately obvious; the map is huge but seemingly empty. This is because many events are experienced firsthand, meaning the location has to be visited and explored. This gives a fantastic sense of discovery; stranger missions are a fine example of this. Random world events do suffer from repetition, but overall it's well varied.

The ecosystem is another subtle addition. Around 30 species of animal are located throughout the map, wolves are the most common, but bears, ducks and even boars can be hunted at the right locations. Animals can be skinned for meat and pelt, which in turn can be sold at stores. Flowers and herbs can also be picked and sold. Ambient challenges include Hunting and Survivalist (in addition to Sharpshooter and Treasure Hunter), which exploits these aspects into rewards. Mini-games also include Horseshoes, Five Finger Fillet, Arm Wrestling, Liars Dice, Blackjack and Poker. Story missions can be replayed in a similar style to Episodes from Liberty City. Rankings are also achieved, but replacing the brutally difficult % scoring is a medal system, which is more forgiving. Whilst not essential for anything, it is nice to be able to replay favourite missions. There are some wonderfully eccentric trophies. One for exterminating a species and another for tying a woman to the train tracks. Some of the trophy titles illustrate Rockstar's brilliantly twisted sense of humour. E.g. `Heading south on a white bronco' seems like a reference to O.J. Simpsons infamous car chase.

The online aspect is very tight. Finding a decent match is a chore sometimes, but friends can be located with ease and the whole experience is lag free. The wealth of game types is impressive. Free roam allows the player to wander the landscape, just like single player. Posses can be created with friends and encountered players, who can then fight together in the different game modes. Lobbies have been created with care and attention; the avatars all congregate at a specific area of the map. The tendency is to start a mass brawl whilst waiting for the game to load, which is infinitely more fun than cold, clinical menu screens. The free to download co-op pack, `Outlaws to the End' has just been released, adding 6 online missions. A further 4 DLC packs are set for release this year, and will ensure Red Dead remains a massive online presence for the foreseeable future.
The western setting has rarely been attempted (and never successfully) before, which makes Redemption such a unique experience. Absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money!, 6 July 2010
By 
D. C. R. Holland (leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
i'll just start by saying that im no longer a hardcore gamer as i use to be in my younger days. and due to the price of games now £40 - £50, which i think is far to expensive when there's more important things to be paying out for. but this game is worth every penny, i dont think i've ever bought a game and had such value for money out of it. i've took my time with the game and had a good 2 months of play out of it. and im only just getting into the online playing features now. there is so much you can do in the game and the graphics and acting talents are brilliant.
dont listen to people saying that the game is exactly like the grand theft auto games because red dead is so much better in every way. if your looking for a game which is worth your hard earned money then this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
R. Cassells "Firhillista" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
If you're a guy of a certain age, you almost certainly spent most of your childhood pretending to be a gunslinger shooting your pals with a plastic gun. (Anyone remember caps?) Or watching westerns on t.v. or at the pictures. Then, as an adult, your guilty pleasure was taken to a new level by Sergio Leone and the Man with No Name movies. Well, we've all moved on, but this game is what we've all been waiting for all these years. Red Dead Redemption puts you right back into that world. It immerses you in it. You get to live through all the scenarios you've seen in the movies, all the gunfights you played out with your pals, the lot. This game is superb.

(Sometimes I just get on the horse and ride out to look at the scenery - how cool is that?)

Best game. Ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Genius Rockstar, 17 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is probably the best game I have played, and will probably be and is a lot of people's best game.EVER!!.
I have completed the game once and I am on my second run, and it is even more fun.
I used to play the game 24/7, barely slept, and still haven't finished the whole game, it truly is a Legendary game, and it is the WILD WEST, not like it, Exactly IT.
Rockstar will blow your mind with this game, and with many more games that they launch, GTA 4 was good, but this game probably set the for free roam games, that many brilliant games don't even scratch this beautiful game.
The only problem is BUGS, but thats okay, they can be fixed with a few patches, so that shouldn't take anything from the score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free roaming at a higher level than GTA IV, 4 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
Red Dead Redemption is definitely more than just 'GTA with horses'. The western atmosphere breathes throughout the whole game. Graphics, music, setting is all perfectly matched onto the western theme of the game.
The game gives a whole new dimension to the free roam genre and builds upon it's predecessor, GTA IV, using the same engine for graphics.
The main story offers a lot of cool missions, but the side quests, challenges and mini games offer so much more than just a story. Playing some high stakes poker could last for over 2 hours, but it never get's boring.

If you like free roaming games like GTA and if you're into cowboys and western, this game is a must buy. Instant gratification assured!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, 1 Sept. 2010
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
I just wanted to share my opinion of this game,even though many reviews have already been done.However in my opinion this game is just brilliant.I have always liked the GTA series and so with the same people bringing us this game i knew it had to be good and i wasn't disappointed.Massive game and endless places to go to and explore.Some people have mentioned how they got bored or just tired of looking around however if you mix things up and do different things like search around for a while and then do a mission and search and do some side missions then it never gets boring i have found as you are always doing something new.Very enjoyable and a brilliant game overall.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 7 July 2010
By 
C. M. Upton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this for my husband but have not played it myself as I don't play video games He loves cowboys so I thought it was right up his street. He took a while to actually start playing it as there is quite a lot of things to learn with the controls having different functions whether one is on the horse or not plus there are lots of options as to what one can do, just as in real life. He is used to the usual war like games where there is less going on but overall I think he enjoys it. You do need plenty of time to spare to make full use of all the variations. The graphics are excellent and you can soon lose yourself in this imaginary world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your hands upon a dead man's gun. and your....., 15 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (PS3) (Video Game)
This game lights up the mind, and is a treat for the senses.

Sometimes console games surpass certain standards of acceptance and take things a step further. This game does just that. What I mean by that is there seems to be similar features that re-occur throughout video games, predictability ensues; games fall from being magnificent to good. Which is no huge criticism, we all need escapisms and video games are, by and by an effective means of pursuing this. However this is no average game, this doesn't fall into mediocrity and its attention to detail from every aspect make it stand out; it is one of those gems that could inspire people non too keen on console gaming to take a second look.

What sets Red Dead Redemption apart is its ability to immerse you in a truly believable world. From the off the voice acting is fantastic, "Rob Wietoff" the guy voice acting John Marston is tremendous. The intonation is perfectly balanced; you can detect sarcasm, anger, sadness, humility all with realism and moderation. Voice acting has a tendency towards either drab and uninspiring or grossly melodramatic. The quality of the voice acting is similar to Uncharted 2. There are times in this game where you'll put the controller down and enjoy five minutes of conversation on a journey between two places (a journey you can skip) it brings a smile to your face; for example the mission which involves travelling to Bonnie McFarlane's ranch with Abbey Marston is supremely entertaining, a sticky love triangle gently ensues . It's highly entertaining to watch.

The game has a fantastic story line that has different counter-plots unfolding at the same time, this adds fullness and dimension. Predictability never rears its ugly head and you are genuinely gripped by what the game has to offer. There really is a rewarding feeling completing various tasks the game has to offer; skinning animals, completing challenges, becoming more adept at various jobs, unlocking outfits and helping strangers. Up until recently I preferred the term computer-game over video-game. I now understand why the term may be in use, it feels like an interactive video, one in which you feel you have a tremendous level of control over the direction and the pace of the plot. You become incredibly attached to John Marston.

Graphically it's a treat, there are awe-inspiring expanses, mountains, rivers, ravines, the sun sets, the sun rises, it all creates a completely new world; you will often find yourself taking a few seconds out just simply to admire the sights around you, sat atop your horse watching the sunset, you're on the tip of a huge orange-sunburnt plateau, a ravine unfolds underneath you, a train rumbles by down below in the distance, passers-by acknowledge you a carry on their journey to the nearest town.

The sound is fantastic, the sound effects executed brilliantly. There is a deep-south blue grassy folk feel to the soundtrack, which pertains to Ennio Morricone's the good the bad and the ugly. The sound track introduces various artists which add further character to the game. On entering Mexico, Jose Gonzales' "Far Away" kicks it, a memorable `shivers down spine' moment. Secondly after a climactic series of events Jamie Liddell's "Compass" begins playing; which sets the mood and epitomises John Marston's constant striving for what he holds dear to him.

Underneath all this is a really cool western inspired game, the bulk of which makes you feel pretty damn good about riding around the dying west basically doing what the hell you want. You're a tobacco chewing, sawn off wielding ex outlaw. There are shoot outs, bar brawls, prostitution, gambling, killing, kidnapping, horse stealing. You raid a fort near the beginning of the game in some sort of A-team hijacked stage coach brandishing a Gatling-gun. You spring out of the roof, the music kicks in, hell breaks loose and you suddenly go..."yeah, this is what it's all about"...it clicks.

It seems bizarre to conclude a review and leave out the game's mechanics and playing style. I simply feel most readers would be reasonably understanding of how the game would play, what I felt it important to include were the mesh of things that are to be appreciated that aren't instantly recognisable from watching a video or looking at the back of a box. This game will draw you in and you will become a part of its story, it will stay with you for an extremely long time. I couldn't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dead Redemption (PS3)
Red Dead Redemption (PS3) by Take 2 Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews