Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (246)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immersion Taken To A New Level
To put this review in context, I've been looking forward to Red Dead Redemption for a long time: it's the only game I've ever pre-ordered. And I am glad I did, because not only is this one of the strongest contenders for Game Of The Year, but it may even be one of (that's 'one of', for the Ocarina fans) the greatest games ever made.

Graphics - Incredible,...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Carl

versus
51 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting.
I`m old(ish). I`ve played a fair few games over the past 25 years. I am quite hard to please (I admit that), but I think the following review is honest and fair.

RDR was highly anticipated, and got some great reviews. I`m not a fan of cowboy films or the Wild West theme, but the prospects for this game sounded good, so I took the plunge. Earlier today I...
Published on 1 July 2010 by Derv


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immersion Taken To A New Level, 24 May 2010
By 
Carl (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To put this review in context, I've been looking forward to Red Dead Redemption for a long time: it's the only game I've ever pre-ordered. And I am glad I did, because not only is this one of the strongest contenders for Game Of The Year, but it may even be one of (that's 'one of', for the Ocarina fans) the greatest games ever made.

Graphics - Incredible, simply incredible. To call this game beautiful is a disgraceful understatement. Besides Final Fantasy XIII, I can't think of many games which better RDR's graphics, and considering the sheer size of the map and the possible number of enemies duelling onscreen at one time that's a huge achievement. From everything to cacti in the desert to the muscles of the horses you ride, everything looks exactly as you'd imagine it to. This is life in the old west brought to life. Besides camera angles, the cut-scenes and gameplay are almost indistinguishable, and the characters look pretty damn realistic (like a great film, you can tell what the characters are thinking just by looking at their facial expressions and body language). In short, this a beautiful, beautiful game.

Sound - Perfect. Graphics may improve, gameplay may improve, but I honestly couldn't see how the soundtrack to this game could be any better. You really become immersed in the game when you have the traditional Spaghetti Western style music playing as you ride after outlaws in the desert. I was worried that having that kind of music in the game would make it seem cheesy or fake, but it really does add a sense of atmosphere. The voice-acting is also superb, as is now standard for Rockstar games. The greatest moment so far was a flash and the sound of thunder during a storm, causing all the horses outside the saloon to whinny and struggle against their hitchings in fright.

Length - This is a long game. Besides the main story mode, which is a good 20 hours by itself, there is a huge number of side activities to engage in. Hunting, breaking in horses, poker, duelling, horseshoes, blackjack, Liar's Dice, bounty hunting, stagecoach-robbing (or saving, if you come across one being attacked), challenges, collecting outfits... The list really does go on, and you'll be entertained by this for a long time.

Gameplay - The meat of any game, and I've saved the best till last. From riding horses to hunting outlaws, there really is a vast number of things to do. This variation ensures the experience never gets repetitive, and it really is just mind-blowing. The controls are great, and although the horse riding takes a little getting used to, you come to realise that there is no better way to ride a horse and shoot outlaws at the same time. And the attention to detail is awesome, in the true sense of the word. It's satisfying to blow someone off horseback with a shotgun, only to find that their foot becomes stuck in the stirrups as their horse rides away in fright, or when you lasso a wanted criminal and drag them to the Sheriff's office at high speed on your horse. There are a few glitches in the game, and occasional slowdown, but this really doesn't detract from the experience and happens so infrequently that it's barely worth mentioning.

Without a doubt MY now favourite game, I'm sure this will be many people's opinion in the coming weeks. I cannot stress enough how much you need to buy it. Happy trails!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing short of spectacular, 18 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As far as games go, I've had good experiences, and bad experiences. I won't mention the bad experiences, but as for the good ones, Red Dead Redemption tops the list. The deep, moving and exciting story, the perfectly designed gameplay mechanics, and a fun, original multiplayer element makes this not only the best sandbox game of all time, but the best game I have ever encountered.

You play as John Marston, a former outlaw, trying to hunt down his former brother in arms. Things go south quickly when the U.S Marshals, The Mexican Government, and John's wife and son all become embroiled in the plot. Within the first hour, the story, and many of the main characters are introduced. The first mission drops you straight into the struggle, and you will soon realise that this hunt goes much deeper that it first seems. The characters are all typically Western, but without being characatures. Both the voice acting, and the personalities of these characters are top notch.

Being made by Rockstar Games, the gameplay will be familiar anyone who has played a Grand Theft Auto game. This means that the gunplay, fisticuffs and just general motion, will feel a lot like GTA IV. But this game is so much more that GTA in the wild west. You have period-authentic weapons at your disposal, and rather than fast cars, you will have horses, stagecoaches, and even a train, which you can use to travel across the gorgeous western landscape. Or, if you want to take things more slowly, you can simply wander. Travelling to forts, you will also have the opportunity to use terrifying gattling guns and cannons.

The environment this game provides you with is truly something to behold. You start the game in the sandy, rocky landscapes that all feel familiar to those who have ever seen a western film. But, as you unlock more of the world, you will able to travel into the far north, where snow capped peaks, creepy forests, and big game like bears await. Or, you can go south of the border, to Mexico. Each of the games worlds are unique, offering varied terrain, new creatures to hunt, and fascinating new people to meet. Exploration is rewarded in Red Dead Redemption.

As well as the fantastic single player, the action continues online. In Free-Roam, you and up to sixteen friends, can explore the entire game map from the single player campaign, form Posses, find treasure, lead assaults on gang-hideouts, hunt wild animals, and so much more. As well as this, there are death match, capture the flag, and other team-based gametypes. The game has a smart levelling system, and, as with the single player campaign, you are rewarded simply for playing the game.

This is quite simply, the best game of the last decade, and that is saying a lot. With a brilliantly exciting single player campaign, great shooting, a dazzling cast of characters, one of the largest and best looking game-maps around and fun, enjoyable multiplayer, "Fantastic" simply doesn't do it justice. I doubt that anyone has ever played a game quite like Red Dead Redemption. And I doubt anyone ever will again for some quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, get it ordered!, 21 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Even though I have only played a few hours sometimes you just know how good a game is going to be from the off, and this is fantastic.

I have seen it described as GTA in the Wild West, and I cant really argue with that. Similar idea of having a main story thread which you can pick up and put down, along with various side missions. There is also the fun to be had from just riding around, with no real purpose, just doing stuff you come across on the way (ie hunting). I dont want to give anything away so will not mention anything about the story, other than you have a few gentle tutorial style missions initially, and then thats it, you are straight into the action.

The game looks great (there are a few glitches here and there but jeez to get a piece of work this large and detailed to be perfect must be nigh on impossible) and the sound is also excellent.

The attention to detail that Rockstar add to their games is what makes them so special, and for anyone who enjoyed GTA style games, this is going to be right up your street.

Multiplayer - I have only had a brief go but it works fine on day 1 - which is good, and seems a lot of fun also with various game modes. Personally I bore of deathmatch style play, so the objective type games are a really welcome addition.

If you are considering buying this then Im sure you pretty much know what to expect. For those who like to sit back when a hyped game comes out and wait and see how it has turned out I just want to say not to worry, they havent messed this up, so get it bought, you will not regret it. Enjoy, I certainly am, and expect to be for months to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sets some great standards, 2 Jun 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Hello people,

Its hard to know where to start when reviewing a game such as Red Dead Redemption, so i will break this down into different points.

Storyline: Firstly this is a sandbox game, much in the same style as GTA 4. I personally find it hard to really connect with story and characters when it comes to sandbox games. This is due to the fact that there is just so much to do that i find myself getting side-tracked with exploring, side missions and generally just seeing what the game has to offer. The problem is you can spend an hour or two progressing the story, then just feel like messing around in the open-world. This doesn't create a very linear storyline like Bioshock or Alan Wake. I understand that both games used as examples of a linear storyline are both totally different to RDR.
I wont say to much about the storyline other than you play as John Marston, a man who travels to America during the industrial revolution on some sort of a revenge mission. John Marston is your typical bad guy turned good. The best thing about the storyline is the very unexpected twist at the end. **NO SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO ARE YET TO FINISH THE GAME PLEASE (IF YOU DO COMMENT)**

Graphics: The graphics are of a very high standard, which many gamers of today will expect. Personally i look past not so good graphics, if the gameplay is fun and makes me want to continue playing i'm fine with that. Anyway, using the same or a very similar game engine to that of GTA4, you can get an idea of what to expect, however the game is much sharper. I haven't experienced any bad frame rates or the ground beneath you disappearing briefly, both problems that occur in GTA4.
The detail in RDR is spot on from the weapons, the horse movement, the way animals in the wild move, weather effects. Basically the game looks wonderful, so if its great graphics and detail you are looking for then RDR is for you.

Multiplayer: Ok so multiplayer is split into two different sections including free roam and competitive game modes (bag grab and death-match etc) Firstly free roam is the whole RDR world, the map holds a maximum of sixteen players, now this is fun when playing with a group of friends or joining other players within the world to form a posse. The posse system is very good, it enables you to have eight players in the same posse at one time, you can all go off your own way and aren't restricted to staying in close proximity of the other posse members. There isn't a huge amount to do in free roam, mainly clearing gang hideouts and being rewarded with EXP for this, there are only seven gang hideouts throughout the world, which isn't many in comparison to the size of the world. EXP can also be gained through completing challenges such as shoot five birds or become most wanted for ten minutes etc etc. you will also gain EXP from shooting other players in the world. Basically free roam is the whole world for you to enjoy with your friends or other players, its just a lot more limited to what you can do compared to single player.
Competitive game modes are enjoyable, it isn't MW2 or BFBC2 but it is still a lot of fun, there is a levelling up system which is linked to free roam, so no matter what game type you play you will be levelling up your player for any multiplayer mode. *there is no levelling system in the single player* As you level up you will unlock new weapons, new titles for you character and new mounts (horses)

Overall RDR is a great game, well worthy of the hype and is a very strong contender for game of the year. Sorry if this review wasn't as informative as it could have been, but i didn't want to include every last detail of the game, leaving no room for little surprises for you. Anyway hope you enjoy the game if you have it or are thinking of getting it.

Thanks for reading my review guys :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great game. Quite like Grand Theft Auto (same producers), Red Dead Redemption is a totally different game that is hardly ever on the market. The campaign is great, not too short, not too long - and a fantastic storyline. A lot of interesting side missions too, and you're bound to see something fun happen - whether it's being attacked by a bear or falling downstairs drunk when you've had one pint too many at the saloon.

Multiplayer is good too, however, I found it to get a bit repetitive after a while - especially on the mine missions. I love the shootouts, however, when everyone got used to them and figured out tips and tricks it defeats the object.

I furthermore love how you can play things such as poker along the way, to maybe take a break from the campaign.

Overall, a fantastic game that I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game of the year For a reason!!, 4 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This wont be a very long review as this game winning Game of The Year says enough!

It is one of the BEST games I have ever played!! I'm hooked and since seeing me playing it other friends and family member bought it and are also hooked!

HOURS AND HOURS of gaming time to be had here and on Xbox Live its brilliant a game that never grows boring!

THIS GAME DOMINATES MY CONSOLE!!

(I bought the Game of the Year Special addition as-well and must say the extras on the disc are phenomenal!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 6 Jan 2012
By 
Mark Swindell (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you haven't already got this game then snap it up now. For under 20 you'd be mad not to. This is the kind of game consoles were invented for. Incredible graphics, teriffic gameplay and a storyline that draws you right in. A real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game i've played!, 18 Nov 2011
By 
J. O'Neill "J. O'Neill" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I just recently got this game after reading the reviews. I heard of it a while back but did not give it much notice thinking it wouldn't be good... but i was wrong! This game is probably the best game i've played and i prefer it to GTA 4. It has more atmosphere and lets face it, riding horses is better than driving cars. This game seems more detailed and has a better story-line comparered to GTA 4. Also, in this game you can choose to be either good or bad but in GTA4 the emphasis seemed more on being bad. I'd highly recommend this game to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe the poor reviews..., 31 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is superb. I can only believe the poor reviews are from new gamers who never played games on a Specccy/Com 64/ NES etc.
This is just fantastic! Sometimes I just load it up to play Poker or to go out shooting. I've played 70 hours and am just about to go to Mexico ( so I'm 30% through the game).

This is just gaming perfection...do anything...go anywhere...total immersion...fantastic.

Thank you Rockstar. Take no notice of the people who obviously have no clue what a great game is.

Can't wait for RDD2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dead Redemption, 18 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The only reason I decided I should purchase this game was because it was made by rockstar, and in my experience rockstar games fail to disappoint, and once again, they released a game, I thoroughly enjoyed. The missions were top notch onece again, the story was top notch, everything was really good in the game, maybamee except for the excessive amounts of horse riding, but once you get over that hurdle, you have a huge gaming world to experience, stumbling on people needing your help, finding gangs to kill, or just exploring. It was all there for you to do. This game still keeps me pre occupied everytime I play it and makes me want to get the Undead Nightmare Add on, especially the way they have tried to link that with this game.

Overall I think this game is definately worth a purchase, as long as you don't get fed up of riding horses. A good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360)
Red Dead Redemption (Xbox 360) by Rockstar (Xbox 360)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews