Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unexpected treat...
I bought this book as it meeets the criteria that I have for a book, was not expecting too much though as the book description I found was a little limited, but what a surprise, did not put the book down until I had finished, a real page turner!
Published 23 months ago by strawberrymoose

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to When Darkness Comes
Embrace the Darkness is the second book in the Guardians of Eternity series. Following the events in When Darkness Comes (Book 1), Viper (chief of a vampire clan) buys the Lady Shay (last of the Shalott demons, though technically she's half human) at auction. This annoys her more than a little as in the previous book she did save his life. Though Viper's motives may...
Published on 21 Feb 2008 by Lesley70


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to When Darkness Comes, 21 Feb 2008
Embrace the Darkness is the second book in the Guardians of Eternity series. Following the events in When Darkness Comes (Book 1), Viper (chief of a vampire clan) buys the Lady Shay (last of the Shalott demons, though technically she's half human) at auction. This annoys her more than a little as in the previous book she did save his life. Though Viper's motives may appear nefarious, he actually wants to protect Shay. However, unknown to both of them, she's actually in a lot more danger than they suspect. To survive, they'll not only have to depend on each other, but also their friends - both old and new.

I have a problem with this book, it was just so nice. Too nice. The bad guys were bad (or misunderstood), the good guys were good. It was well written. There were nice (there's that word again) comic touches from Levet, the heroine's gargoyle companion. But I don't think it's quite for me. I'm finding I prefer urban fantasy with its darker undertones, over paranormal romance.

Having said that, Shay and Viper have some strong dialogue and a great chemistry. I found Viper to be the more well-rounded character of the two, Shay was not quite so interesting. Levet is a little gargoyle with a big heart. He works as both a sidekick and a conscience and has some of the best lines.

There are some inconsistencies in the plot, or maybe I didn't pick up on all the subtleties. Specifically relating to Shay's curse. There's also a tendency to pull back from things, for example when Viper talks about the time before he was a clan chief how terrible things were for him. Shay questions him, but he just says - 'you don't want to know'. Also about the powers of each vampire clan chief - it's confidential. I'll make allowances for this once in a story, but more than that and it starts to annoy.

Alexandra Ivy does know how to keep her readers interested. New vampires are introduced here - Styx and Santiago. And there's mention of a 'young and fierce werewolf'. She puts in just enough to keep you interested in where the story is going. I also like that she makes the bad guy a little more three dimensional than your standard evil overlord. We get a glimpse of the hero he might have been in the past.

It's a nice story, well written with engaging moments. Slightly too light for me. The humour, and chemistry between the characters lifts it above a lot of the other paranormal romance out there. Recommended for fans of Jacquelyn Frank and Alyssa Day.

Book 1 - When Darkness Comes (available)
Book 3 - Darkness Everlasting (May 2008)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars supernatural, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoying this series, and this book does not disappoint looking forward to the
next in this series, a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unexpected treat..., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as it meeets the criteria that I have for a book, was not expecting too much though as the book description I found was a little limited, but what a surprise, did not put the book down until I had finished, a real page turner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great 2nd installment, 6 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Ivy continues her Guards series with another well placed story - this time of Viper and Lady Shay, two characters we were introduced to in the first book. In this instalment we have two central characters who are as brave, feisty and headstrong as each other. Viper, thinking to control his feelings for Shay, buys her from Evor's auction house and so becomes embroiled in a fight to save Shay from the same fate as her father. She is understandably upset as she saved Viper's life in the first book and can't believe he has 'bought' her. Not finding their feelings for each other an easy thing to explore, they have a argumentative relationship with each other that provides an interesting plot diversion - of course we know what will happen in the end but, the obvious can be fun too. Definitely worth a read if you liked the first in this series and the third - well, you've got to read that ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Dee (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love the Guardians of Eternity books by Alexandra Ivy, they are amazing. The characters are all strong Alpha types whilst the heroines are all feisty, strong willed and accepting of the paranormal. Long may this series continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!!, 23 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't go into the storyline as the other reviewers have done but this is a really good vampire romance book and I can't wait for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews