Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Tell You It Was A Masterpiece
2 pieces of context which should be borne in mind if you're reading this review - 1. I came to the Tom Tom Club late and so heard "Close to the Bone" before discovering the first album in the mid-80s, hence CTTB has always been a personal favourite, and 2. Despite all the "Island 50" celebrations, it's hard nowadays to imagine just how cool Island Records were in the late...
Published on 8 Jun. 2009 by not_a_real_folkie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never knew they made so many great tracks!
Well it is a great addition to anyone's collection but there are a few too many remixes for me. Maybe better going for the non delux edition but make sure all the tracks you want are on it before completely snubbing this one.

The recording quality is pretty good too considering the age and relatively poor recording of the original material.
Published on 20 Jun. 2013 by Scott Braithwaite


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Tell You It Was A Masterpiece, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
2 pieces of context which should be borne in mind if you're reading this review - 1. I came to the Tom Tom Club late and so heard "Close to the Bone" before discovering the first album in the mid-80s, hence CTTB has always been a personal favourite, and 2. Despite all the "Island 50" celebrations, it's hard nowadays to imagine just how cool Island Records were in the late 70s and early 80s - the B52s, Marianne Faithfull's Broken English, Grace Jones in her prime, The Slits, Bob Marley... they could do no wrong. Tom Tom Club's Island recordings fitted into this lineage perfectly.

So, the Tom Tom Club album sounds magnificent and as well as the hits sounding superb on this remaster, the less well-known tracks are punchy and bursting with sunshine. L'Elephant and On, On, On... sound excellent. The bonus mixes and "Under The Boardwalk" are a slightly mixed bag; I've always loved the funky feel the band gave to Under The Boardwalk, but less keen on the smoothed-out remixes of Lorelei and On, On etc. The B-side of Wordy Rappinghood also seemed more of a novelty to me then, and still does now. Nevertheless a life-affirming album done justice at last.

Close To The Bone on CD is of course a real catch for those that love the album. I got almost scared to play the vinyl album in case I damaged it, but now it's here and sounding wonderful. Aside from the long, dance-y tracks (1 and 5 on the CD), the shorter songs are all consistently punchy and still great fun - despite the reported change of 'vibe' during the recording sessions. "Bamboo Town" is one of *the* coolest reggae tracks, and a must for a long, sultry summer's day. "Never Took A Penny" is chunky and solid, "Measure Up" disguises grown-up lyrics behind the usual saccharine-coated vocals of the Weymouth gals.

The bonus tracks here are all good - 12-inch and dub versions of the singles released from CTTB ("dub" here meaning proper dub, not the dull instrumentals that usually got rushed out under that name in the 80s). The Mr Yella version of "Yella" is "Genius of Love" with Robert Palmer shouting and rapping over the top - bear in mind that he was in his experimental "Is It Live?" phase at the time this was recorded, rather than the Mr Smoothie mode that came later.

Immense fun and the closest thing to bottled sunshine you'll get from Amazon this - or any - summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last! Justice For The Tom Tom Club!, 21 May 2009
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Finally this album gets the CD it deserves! Not only that but this package contains the follow up Close to the Bone as a second disc, both with all the bonus tracks you'd hope for, that were on single B-sides. This is a treat as I have not heard Elephant (an instrumental version of L'Elephant which more strongly features Adrian Belew's guitar) for about 25 years. That track was only ever on the 12' single version of Wordy Rappinghood.

The other great disappointments, up until now, were 1) The quality of the CD of Tom Tom Club was so poor. I bought that CD quite early on in my transfer of my music collection to CD and it was one of the real disappointments and a real example to be used by those who said that vinyl was better than CD. This new version shows that it is not the technology itself that creates the inferior sound it was its sloppy application in early transfers that lead to unfavourable comparisons being made 2) The track listing in the first CD edition was different from the original with some god track being left off when it was changed to include Under the Boardwalk despite the increased capacity that CD gave 3) Close to the Bone has not been available on CD until now. This was a shameful way to treat such a wonderfully upbeat album. Little wonder that Chris and Tina mighthave felt a bit neglected in the aftermath of the demise of Talking Heads and it is about time that this fittingly complete version of their first two albums was released.

I was in Fopp record, Rose Street Edinburgh just after the release of this when I heard the beautifully clear intro to On On On On... and it was like meeting an old friend who I had not seen in year!

Talking to the assistant in the shop she thought it was ironic that this music was just so joyful but it was pouring with rain outside. This certainly brought the sunshine back into my day when I got it home and put it on. The music really jumps out of the speaker on this new version in all its multi textured glory. Unlike many of these 2 CD Deluxe Editions this package isn't just the album with some random bonus track then a second CD of multiple alternate takes and demos; this is two complete albums with some B-sides and remixes that were all popular at the time and DJs did play all the B-sides. Most of this will be well remembered by fans of this group and for those who only know the odd single, and Wordy Rappinghood was very odd at the time, this will open your ears to what a wonderful band this was.

Buy this now it is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Deluxe (2CD) edition, 10 Feb. 2012
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a copy of a review which I posted on Amazon in 2009 but which seems to have disappeared... this is for the 2-CD "deluxe" edition of the album:

2 pieces of context which should be borne in mind if you're reading this review - 1. I came to the Tom Tom Club late and so heard "Close to the Bone" before discovering the first album in the mid-80s, hence CTTB has always been a personal favourite, and 2. Despite all the "Island 50" celebrations, it's hard nowadays to imagine just how cool Island Records were in the late 70s and early 80s - the B52s, Marianne Faithfull's Broken English, Grace Jones in her prime, The Slits, Bob Marley... they could do no wrong. Tom Tom Club's Island recordings fitted into this lineage perfectly.

So, the Tom Tom Club album sounds magnificent and as well as the hits sounding superb on this remaster, the less well-known tracks are punchy and bursting with sunshine. L'Elephant and On, On, On... sound excellent. The bonus mixes and "Under The Boardwalk" are a slightly mixed bag; I've always loved the funky feel the band gave to Under The Boardwalk, but less keen on the smoothed-out remixes of Lorelei and On, On etc. The B-side of Wordy Rappinghood also seemed more of a novelty to me then, and still does now. Nevertheless a life-affirming album done justice at last.

Close To The Bone on CD is of course a real catch for those that love the album. I got almost scared to play the vinyl album in case I damaged it, but now it's here and sounding wonderful. Aside from the long, dance-y tracks (1 and 5 on the CD), the shorter songs are all consistently punchy and still great fun - despite the reported change of 'vibe' during the recording sessions. "Bamboo Town" is one of *the* coolest reggae tracks, and a must for a long, sultry summer's day. "Never Took A Penny" is chunky and solid, "Measure Up" disguises grown-up lyrics behind the usual saccharine-coated vocals of the Weymouth gals.

The bonus tracks here are all good - 12-inch and dub versions of the singles released from CTTB ("dub" here meaning proper dub, not the dull instrumentals that usually got rushed out under that name in the 80s). The Mr Yella version of "Yella" is "Genius of Love" with Robert Palmer shouting and rapping over the top - bear in mind that he was in his experimental "Is It Live?" phase at the time this was recorded, rather than the Mr Smoothie mode that came later.

Immense fun and the closest thing to bottled sunshine you'll get from Amazon this - or any - summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring the Sunshine into your Life., 24 May 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
This deluxe edition finally does justice to this project and every tracks sounds wonderfully clear and brings the spirit of Compass Point studios and the sunshine of the Bahamas into your living room.

A 2CD package with a very extensive booklet covering the whole history of the band along with numerous photographs and artworks; the music covers their first two albums as well as dub versions, extra tracks and B sides. It's all got that infectious groove that pervaded everything Island records and Chris Blackwell did in the period - for example, Sly and Robbie were next door with Grace Jones Private Life: The Compass Point Sessions [2CD].

The music developed out of Talking Heads and the groove-based tracks they started exploring in Fear of Music and this album comes after Remain in Light. Chris and Tina were drummer and bass player and much like Sly and Robbie, anchored the band - but here they introduce Tina's sisters for a unique contrast in the vocals. Rap meets Everly Brothers harmonies - meets funk and reggae dub beats.

It's all well-known now and has been sampled and covered by many newer bands and artists - but the unique sound of this collaboration deserves a package like this and it is worthy of a place in most collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never knew they made so many great tracks!, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Well it is a great addition to anyone's collection but there are a few too many remixes for me. Maybe better going for the non delux edition but make sure all the tracks you want are on it before completely snubbing this one.

The recording quality is pretty good too considering the age and relatively poor recording of the original material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bang the drum for Tom Tom Club, 24 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Unusually for these products, Tom Tom Club themselves (or at least Chris Frantz) supervised this reissue. It shows in the attention to detail. Both albums sound full, unlike previous issues, and the slew of extras are manna for any fans wanting to hear obscure remixes and instrumentals. The Tom Tom Club story is detailed by Ian Gilchrist, with plenty of rare pix. Finally, these idiosyncratic albums, so much a product of their place and time, can really shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atzababy!...Porky O'Blivion, 1 July 2009
By 
Porky O'Blivion (Surrey Quays,London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Finally, thank goodness!!!, the best Tom Tom Club album ever made available on CD.Im of course talking about the second disc in this package ,not the main disc which is a great album ,but the acompanying disc, which was their second album 'Close to the bone', hidden here as a free second disc for reasons they havent explained....It's been years since this album came out and i cant believe its taken this long for it to finally get to CD..(i guess it must be copyright problems or something like that) .if you liked the 'Wordy Rappinghood' and 'Under the boardwalk' singles then this album will not dissapoint.
right from the off it is great ! tracks like 'Close to the bone','Man with the four way hips','Atzababy!' sheer perfection...please Tom Tom club ..dont ever retire.....you are cooler than cool and a fantastical sound creating new wave/reggae/funk/pop band.... something to fill the daylight hours since Talking Heads dissapeared....get it and enjoy ....x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A group from my past, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw them at Glastonbury (on telly!) remembered them, brought back memories. enjoying them again, nice! Probably more so second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Tom Club, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
Sue (BATH, Avon, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Just as good as it was in 1981 - and now I have introduced my offspring to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
G. M. Lyon "Mcscruffer" (Tranmere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
If you love Talking Heads then you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition
Tom Tom Club - Deluxe Edition by Tom Tom Club (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews