Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous little thing!
I bought this for my sister for christmas. She wanted one as she had bought one for me a couple of years ago and I have found it so incredibly useful. It is light, easy to use and very strong, even though some of the screw heads aren't very big they can still deal with big jobs. My sis and I are both over 60 so we didnt want big heavy cordless screwdrivers.
The only...
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by MattySheffield

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bosch IXO 4 Cordless Screwdriver
Nice little screwdriver that fits the hand comfortably and screws on door hinges easily so lithium power is there OK.

Didn't like the forward/reverse switch though, as its too close to the on/off switch. Being loose too, means that I continually found that the direction selected was easily changed back inadvertantly!

The screw bits provided were...
Published on 26 July 2010 by mike punnett


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous little thing!, 13 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
I bought this for my sister for christmas. She wanted one as she had bought one for me a couple of years ago and I have found it so incredibly useful. It is light, easy to use and very strong, even though some of the screw heads aren't very big they can still deal with big jobs. My sis and I are both over 60 so we didnt want big heavy cordless screwdrivers.
The only down side for me is the fact that the heads are held magnetically in the base while not in use. Now although this is a fabulous idea so they dont fall out, I have arthritic hands and find it quite difficult to pull them out. I use one of those grippy rubber things you use to get the tops off jars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bosch IXO 4 Cordless Screwdriver, 26 July 2010
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Nice little screwdriver that fits the hand comfortably and screws on door hinges easily so lithium power is there OK.

Didn't like the forward/reverse switch though, as its too close to the on/off switch. Being loose too, means that I continually found that the direction selected was easily changed back inadvertantly!

The screw bits provided were nearly all for crosshead screws so had to find other types elsewhere. I know I could have paid for extra bits but I'm reviewing the driver as it comes.

Box is very pretty presentwise but when driver in use with charger its bulk gets in the way.

All in all, good value for money at Amazon price but too expensive at retail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bosch IXO - Excellent!!, 30 April 2010
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
I work in the motor trade as a technician and this tool is very useful, saves me loads of time. Lots of torque and very easy to handle due to it's compact size and weight. Can't comment on how it performs with screws into wood but judging by its performance it should cope pretty well. Well worth the money! Top tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
This is a super little screwdriver, A bit on the small side so not good for people who have large hands! But great for getting into small spaces.
After charging it seems to go on and on! Don't let the cheap price put you off, I've bought much more expensive ones that have broken after a short while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat little screwdriver, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Nicely made electric screwdriver, small and lightweight, my only negative point would be not enough flathead screw bits with it but these are easily bought from most d.i.y stores. Would buy direct from Amazon though not the Amazon's marketplace for this item in my experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing with no variable drive, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Before you buy this, be sure to consider that this does not have variable speed drive nor a torque out clutch mechanism. This makes using this driver quite poor in many cases. Its fine for removing screws but a real nuisance for driving, especially into more fragile materials like plastic or into a very solid dead stop

The problem is that as you are nearing the completion of driving a screw you either want to back off the speed to slowly drive the screw to its final position or drill in at full speed and let the clutch torque out. With this drill it just fires in at full speed and will destroy your workpiece or jump out of the screw. The only way to help solve the problem it is to pulse the trigger to try to gradually drive the screw in by small amounts or torque the screw by manually turning the unit like a screw driver.... far from ideal. If you didnt quite drive a screw all the way and you just want to tweak it, this driver just blasts it at full speed or nothing, whereas any other drill/driver you can tweak it a very low speed. Its less of a problem when driving with a very tight screw (slowing the unit down) or when there is a lot of flex when tightening, but still its better to have this feature

Its a handy size and nice to hold but in my opinion its better to get something else, either a full size drill/driver (which by default tend to have both a clutch and variable speed) for a similar price or another driver with either torques setting or variable speed or both.

Shame on Bosch for not at least giving this unit variable drive, its hardly a driver without this function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screwdriver, 16 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Fantastic little gadget, ideal for all those jobs around the house. Can somebody please stop my husband from unscrewing everything!
Also has a very neat storage case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bosch electric screwdriver, 15 Mar 2010
By 
M. Hughes "england reviews" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
i agree with the other one star, this tool has no torque or speed adjustment so it is very difficult to use on some screws, this is why i am sending it back to amazon for a full refund, i hope i don't disappoint anybody by this review but to be honest you are better off getting the cheaper more reliable black and decker PLR36NC twist scredriver (this one has a speed adjustment, torque adjustment and has a useful twist function) i am disappointed with bosch as i have had a good tool experience from them up till now, but i think they haven't thought about this tool very carefully although it does look nice. **1 star**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORKING TOOL/ BOSCH SCREWDRIVER, 7 May 2010
By 
Mr. A. Roebuck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
Beautifull Battery screwdriver, have used it regularly since buying and it never has failed me, one small drawback, the forward/reverse button could be made more posotive,otherwise,a nice little tool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Midget of a screw driver, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. N. D. Withyman "nwithyman" (Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch IXO Cordless Lithium-Ion Screwdriver (DIY & Tools)
I bought this to replace my failed and ancient Black & Decker rechargeable screwdriver which is about x10 bigger and .25 powerful! Although quite expensive for a rechargeable driver, it has the undoubted benefits of the Lithium battery ie rapid charge, no loss of charge when not in use and a considerable amount of torque.
Some have said that they want a torque and speed adjustment but I cannot see that this would improve the excellent performance of this unit; neither have I ever seen such on any small electric screwdriver. I would have liked to have seen a bit extension but as I do have a spare, this too doesn't bother me unduly.
Altogether, I'm delighted with this purchase which has already been used in making a set of cupboard shelves - without the need for a recharge!
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews