Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning - This is not Volume 7 Of The Collection Series!!
This is a note for the Midsomer fans who already own Midsomer Murders Collection The First -Sixth Collection.

This is not the next part of that series, you already have these episodes.
Published on 19 July 2009 by Gerald S.

versus
77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clarification
I have just received this item, but will need to return it, as the reviews here are correct, and I already have the episodes.

I would just like to clarify something. There are two main types of box set for Midsomer Murders. There is a "collection" box set (10 investigations) and a "series" box set. The collection box set contains random episodes that are in...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by Me


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clarification, 28 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
I have just received this item, but will need to return it, as the reviews here are correct, and I already have the episodes.

I would just like to clarify something. There are two main types of box set for Midsomer Murders. There is a "collection" box set (10 investigations) and a "series" box set. The collection box set contains random episodes that are in the series box set, like a compilation. In order to avoid buying the same episodes over again, you'll need to stick with one type, either series or collection, as one of the reviewers here has previously stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning - This is not Volume 7 Of The Collection Series!!, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
This is a note for the Midsomer fans who already own Midsomer Murders Collection The First -Sixth Collection.

This is not the next part of that series, you already have these episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE VIEWING, 7 Jan 2011
By 
D. Hutchinson (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
1 THE GREEN MAN
2 BAD TIDINGS
3 THE FISHER KING
4 SINS OF COMMISSION
5 THE MAID IN SPLENDER
6 THE STRAW WOMAN
7 CHRISTMAS PAST
until recently i had not watched Midsomer Murders, and i quickly got into them and enjoyed the storylines unfolding. it did make me nervous with some of the reviews stating that they were repeated in other box sets, but like one other reviewer said, if you stick to one type of midsomers, either collection or series there isn't a problem. each film long episodes of 1 hour 30mins or so for the price, is exceptional value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It says SERIES seven., 13 Feb 2010
By 
K. Evans "clive" (Cleveland,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
Why people are giving this seies low scoring is beyond me. It is their fault they can't read properly and don't research what is on the set before buying!!!. Anyway if you are buying the series of series :) ten go ahead and buy it. ciao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not that confusing..., 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
Having read all the previous reviews I find it hard to understand how people can get in such a flap...It clearly states that this is Midsomer Murders SERIES 7, not collection 7 or special edition 7....SERIES 7.

So, if like me you are collecting all the 'series' of Midsomer Murders, have finished watching the last episode of 'series 6' and wish to continue...then buy this item.

The end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Series versus Collections, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Konstanze Allsopp (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
I started collecting the individual tapes beginning with The Killings at Badger's Drift in Series 1 to Birds of Prey which is the end of series 6 (and each episode cost me a veritable fortune, so I now buy the box sets). Anybody who has bought the series (plural) will be happy to get the next 7 episodes, anyone who has bought 10 episode collection sets will be confused or angry, because, as it has been said repeatedly, the collection box sets DO NOT contain the series in order of shooting and airing on TV and never will. If you want Midsomer Murders from A to Z (so-to-speak), invest in the Box sets 1-2, 3-4, 5-6,and then individual series box sets 7, 8, 9 to currently 13. And read the comments BEFORE you start buying. As to this series - it's as good as it gets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer Murders srs 7, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Gordon Smith (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
John Nettles was the best Barnaby and these box sets are reasonably-priced. Later dvds went to single episodes (a rip-off) and grossly overpriced box sets. The later Barnaby is dreadfully miscast for the role, in my view. It would have been far better to promote the sargeant to Inspector and bring in a new (funny?) character as his subordinate. A great opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good light entertainment., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
More of the same well written recipe of stories from this well loved series. A good stock item to have in your DVD library to watch on a day when the telly does not live up to expectations. I just love this programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
Also not sure why some people score this low, nor why they found it hard to work out which episodes would be on this DVD. If you've bought Troy's casebook which is GREAT value then want the next lot, the first one on here (The Green Man) will be duplicated, but the other six will be new. I think that's decent value for this price given the length of each episode and the quality of the guest actors (Haydn Gwynne, John Standing, Linda Bellingham, Malcom Tierney, Donald Sumpter, Keith Barron to name but a few).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS Series Seven (and very enjoyable it is too!), 25 July 2009
This review is from: Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD] (DVD)
It seems a shame that people might be put off buying this set by a number of negative reviews from people who made a mistake about what they were ordering. This box-set is correctly described as 'Series 7' of Midsomer Murders and that's exactly what it is - perhaps it's helpful to list the episodes - The Green Man, Bad Tidings, The Fisher King, Sins of Commission, The Maid in Splendour, The Straw Woman and Ghosts of Christmas Past. Very enjoyable series, particularly 'Bad Tidings', 'The Straw Woman' and 'Ghosts of Christmas Past', but all the storylines are of a high standard. 'The Fisher King' contains a particularly classic exchange between Barnaby and his Sergeant which nicely sums up the gently self-aware humour of Midsomer:

Sergeant Scott: Is the murder rate always this high around here, Sir?
Barnaby: It has been remarked upon.

What this *isn't* is 'Midsomer Murders: A Seventh Collection' (that is a different set containing episodes from series 11 and 12; personally, I think 'Midsomer Murders' had gone very much downhill by the time you reach series 11 and 12 but if you want episodes from those series you need to look elsewhere).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa72308ac)

This product

Midsomer Murders: The Complete Series Seven [DVD]
16.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews