Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Seekers & Skeptics
I've read many books on the historical reliability (and unreliability) of the New Testament; I've seen many educated opinions varying in every way; I done studies many resurrections-centered topics; but I've never seen a book quite like this! Morrison takes nothing for granted. He trusts his instincts, and, though coming shy of any kind of Biblical-Christian opinion,...
Published on 28 July 1999

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logical Inferences, Dated Presentation
Who Moved the Stone? was an enjoyable read.

Morison's main contention is to show that the tomb of Jesus was indeed empty on that first Easter morning. But he doesn't go much further than that. There is little discussion of the nature or meaning of the resurrection appearances for example, or the implications of empty tomb + appearances = risen Christ...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. T. E. Rochester


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Seekers & Skeptics, 28 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
I've read many books on the historical reliability (and unreliability) of the New Testament; I've seen many educated opinions varying in every way; I done studies many resurrections-centered topics; but I've never seen a book quite like this! Morrison takes nothing for granted. He trusts his instincts, and, though coming shy of any kind of Biblical-Christian opinion, he beautifully defends the resurrection in this short examination. As a doubter I find it difficult to swallow what many Christians take for granted in their own faith. This book is not like most. However, as a believer I was thrown by Morrison into the last week of Jesus' life (and the following weeks) as I never have by any lecture or writing. Morrison brings to light many historical details missed my so many people (including myself). He is easy to read and difficult to put down.
To the skeptics: I was once a skeptic. It was not a brief reading of one or two apologetic works that convinced me; instead, it was months and months of hard research, with this book as one of the many highlights. I encourage all to read this.
Morrison's book will forever remain one of my personal favorites.
Luke Gilkerson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logical Inferences, Dated Presentation, 4 April 2014
By 
Mr. T. E. Rochester (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
Who Moved the Stone? was an enjoyable read.

Morison's main contention is to show that the tomb of Jesus was indeed empty on that first Easter morning. But he doesn't go much further than that. There is little discussion of the nature or meaning of the resurrection appearances for example, or the implications of empty tomb + appearances = risen Christ.

The prose is quite dated at nearly 80 years old, but take it slowly and carefully and its entirely manageable. Some readers may be put off by his characterisations of the women disciples of Jesus. Furthermore, he makes references to authors or arguments yet provides no footnotes to back up his quotes and let the reader follow his trail.

Some of the minutiae in his case seems a bit odd too.
For example, he argues that we can have no idea who the "young man" at the tomb in Mark's gospel is, because he dismisses Luke and Matthew's accounts that there were angels at the tomb as later legendary additions. Instead, Morison prefers some unknown disciple, not one of the Twelve and not one of the women, who believed Jesus' message about his forthcoming resurrection and hurried to the tomb first thing to see for himself if what Jesus had predicted was true.
Secondly, as to the question "Who moved the Stone?", Morison (I think) suggests that the Temple Guard who had been placed there moved it themselves, based in part, from a quote in the 2nd Century, fragmentary "Gospel of the Hebrews".

Overall though, his case is good. He makes logical inferences when reading the New Testament as an historical narrative. In particular, his suggestion that the women did indeed visit the tomb and discovered it empty, yet were subsequently removed from the early Christian apologetic makes sense.

This book has helped me consider afresh the reality of Easter, and will prove helpful when discussing the resurrection with non-Christians. However, I would not recommend giving this book straight to a non-Christian; it needs to be taken with a pinch of salt in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down., 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
I felt this book was a bit erratic, jumping all over the place. There was so much suggestion at the possibilities of who moved the stone that I got lost in the journey. I bought this book to read before passing it on to a new Christian who had many questions. I didn't pass it on after reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing, 20 May 2002
By 
Mr. Richard Foster (Cambridge, Cambs. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
This book, as well as being a gripping read, is a very convinving account of what happened to Jesus in those last days of His life before His crucifixion. But this is really only there to set up the scene. It is Jesus' resurrection which the book sets out to convince us of and it does so very well.
Granted, it relies heavily on the accounts written by Jesus' desciples. But then I've never quite understood why people object to this. Why are we more willing to listen to biased anti-Christian writers like Tacitus and Josephus who wrote long after the events, got there information very second hand and whose writtings we scarcely have any copies written less than 700 years after the originals! With the gospels you eye witness (or in some cases once removed) accounts that were written no more than 30 years after the events took place (and probably long before that), by people who dies for what they had written (so they had to be pretty convinced it was true) and copies of which we have within 100 years of the originals and many fragments much earlier than this. So I think he has every right to use such historical documents as he does. And as to them being inconsistent - they contain just the inconsistencies that you would expect between different eye witnesses. If they were identical then I would smell a rat.
Oh, and in case you were wondering. What little Josephus and Tacitus say about Jesus, agrees with the gospels anyway.
So well done Frank Morison. If you read this boook with an open mind you will surely be convinced of the truth of Christ's resurrection. And if that is true, well then that means we need to take His teaching about Himself pretty seriously too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book makes excellent reading and after examining the evidence the author completely ..., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
The author had never been able to swallow the idea of Christ’s resurrection, and for his own satisfaction, approached the whole question from the point of view of a detective story, sifting each incident from every point of view, and treating each character in the story, from all four Gospels, psychologically. The book makes excellent reading and after examining the evidence the author completely convinced himself that belief in the resurrection is the only credible explanation to the vacancy of Christ's tomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 14 Mar. 2011
By 
Bacchus (Greater London - Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
This book was written in 1930, and although its message is eternal and universal, I would say that the make-up of its potential readership in Britain today is very different to the one which existed when it was written. Britain is a much more multicultural nation and people are generally much more skeptical about religion than they used to be.

Frank Morison was the pseudonym of an English journalist called Albert Henry Moss (born 1881 died 1950), who sought to analyse and pick holes in the Resurrection story focussing on the disappearance of Jesus' body from his tomb after his crucifixion. He treats the sources of information that he has in an almost forensic manner and I for one enjoyed revisiting these passages and building up a highly detailed picture from just a few verses of each gospel. Every word and clause is pored over and treated as an historical fact. He brings attention, not only on the key players (Jesus, Peter, Pilate etc) but also on the other minor players in the drama to show their contribution to the story. Morison also brings in other historical sources to justify the logic of the Christian story as presented in the gospels such as the unauthorised gospels and Josephus' history. I would have appreciated more footnotes to indicate the exact sources of what he was trying to convey.

I recall from my schooldays my head teacher talking to my class about ideas contained in this book. I commented that surely it was more important to reflect on what Jesus did and said rather than focus too much on the Resurrection. He said that the Resurrection story was absolutely key and if it were not true, then none of the other aspects of Christ's life and work would matter. This sounds to me like CS Lewis' trilemma that states that Jesus could only be "Lord, liar or lunatic". The Resurrection story is of course key because it is the fulfillment of the Word and so any analysis that gives weight to the historical veracity of the story is very helpful. Personally speaking, I have never had much problem believing it. Compared to Jesus' virgin birth and all the miracles He performed (including raising Lazarus from the dead), his own resurrection does not seem so unusually miraculous.

I have to say though that if you are of a skeptical frame of mind, don't have a basic religious faith or recognise the Bible as a historical document, then you probably will not be convinced by this book. Frank Morison's approach is based on close reading of the Bible and stating that the actions of all the players, major and minor, appear to be entirely rational and in keeping with the miracle of the Resurrection: and therefore, any of the alternative explanations that might disprove the Resurrection do not hold water. I do not think he really explains what he thinks actually happened but leaves the mystery as a mystery - which is ultimately a matter of faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest question the world has ever asked " Did Jesus Christ rise from the Dead?", 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
What an inspiration. Originally declared the book that could not be written, as Frank Morison set out to prove the Resurrection didn't happen!

Hallelejah! and Wow - his Lawyers stance is used to set out the case for the Verdict of the empty Tomb. As a Lent Study book will prepare us to also visit the Tomb in wonder and awe and meet the risen Lord wherever he choses to reveal Himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asking important questions, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
Did Jesus really rise from the grave? It's a question that has been asked for centuries, and Frank Morrison, a lawyer and a journalist, brought his forensic mind and writing skills to bear on it. He set out a firm non-believer, and, in the course of examining the evidence and writing the book, became convinced of the truth of the Gospel. Well worth reading by everyone with an enquiring mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christian or not buy this book, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
Heard the letterbox rattle then my phone pinged to tell me the book had been delivered... I remember when people used to knocked at your door. Lol

So to the booked, only on Chapter 3 and boy is it good, as a recent born again Christian his book is looking to be a real help when talking to non-believers about the passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who maoved the Stone?, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Mark Brislin (Freiberg, near Desden, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Moved the Stone? (Paperback)
Frank Morison I believe was a lawyer by profession. He was looking into Christianity and decided that it all hung on one event in history the Resurrection of Jesus; did it really happen? He decided to look into every aspect on the death, the cross, the burial, the Resurrection of Christ and to gather information in his stereotypical lawyer's method of gathering evidence meticulously. He decided to write a book that would 'once and fall' totally disprove Christ's / the Christian's claim that Jesus was risen from the dead and Ascended to the right hand of the Father God in Heaven. According to his own testimony, Frank Morison got about half way through writing his book disproving Christ's claims, because he became a Christian! He was fully convinced having examined the evidence presented to him through history that these amazing events in history actually happened as recorded in the four Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. When I first read the book over 20 years ago and read the world's version (s) of these events and got hot under the collar reading these fatuous excuses and pitiful lies of past ages and then as I read on I 'watched' how Frank Morison shot down in flames / shredded every argument that had been presented to dispute the Biblical events of Christ's life, death and Resurrection. Reading this book with not only restore you shattered faith if that be your case, but it will strengthen your belief and assurance of the Biblical accounts. If a Christian has to 'argue' with a non-believer concerning Christ's claims then "Who moved the stone?" will provide you with plenty of extremely helpful/useful ammunition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WHO MOVED THE STONE?.
WHO MOVED THE STONE?. by Frank. Morison (Hardcover - 1930)
Used & New from: £14.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews