Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best release of this classics 80's tiny slasher movie!
Firstly the movie can be divisive, you love it or hate. I absolutely adore it! If you're like me, then this is hands down the best version available anywhere. A sharp picture with little damage and plenty of natural film grain, great uncompressed stereo sound a and a decent 5.1 remix, the original features from the old DVD's plus new commentaries from Charles Band and...
Published on 28 Aug. 2012 by Tony Green

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Punch and you die show
This is the first in a long running series of Puppet Master films. Its an enjoyable little film, with great special effects and an involving story.
In a pre titles sequence we see Puppet Master Andre Toulon take his own life, as assassins approach his room, but not before he has hidden his magical puppets in a hidden panel.
Then the story turns to the present...
Published on 22 Oct. 2008 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars why weren't 4,5,7,8 like this, 20 Aug. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
puppet master and other killer dolls or puppet related films have always been my favorite type filmmwhen i first saw this in the movies i have been hooked on the series all the puppets have all had that special piece of horror in them. Its just a shame 4,5,7,8 didn't do quiet as well as this one anyway let get back down to earth. we start of a group of sikets have been called together by neil gallar who has been looking into the work of a old puppet master in the 20's who was said to have dicovered the secert of life when the sikets get there lead by Alex witicgar they find that neil is dead after quiet alot of move the body around game it soon becomes clear that neil is not dead and has brought himself back to life useing the powers of the puppet master he controls the puppets to kill the rest of the inmates of until alex and the owner (neils wife) are left neil and her now must do anything to stop the puppets and neil bofore they are both killed but blade, pinhead, ms leech, jester and tunneler have other ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rather cheap DVD presentation, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
Ralf Bader (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
ASIN: B000055Z8S: same cover but with "Film 2000" at the bottom.
It says: running time 90 ms, while in fact it's 1:25:10. I'm not sure if it's cut, there are some gory scenes, but most murders are rather gore-free.
For the aspect ratio, this one is presented in 4:3 (original 1.85 : 1).
Picture and sound are not brilliant but ok. No subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just Good Fun!, 23 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film in an edited form when I was younger and wasn't too impressed but saw it again recently and really enjoyed it. The film does have some originality about it.
I wouldn't say this was at all scary but it is good fun and you can't help but love some of the puppet characters (Blade I particulary like).
For a direct-to-video release this effects are good, on occasion you can tell the puppets aren't real, but most of the time they look as though they really do move on their own.
If you like B-movies you will enjoy this, it's just a bit of fun really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still as good as when it was filmed!, 29 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
Puppet master 1, the beginning of the whole lot. There are plenty of silly bits, rubbish acting and cameras being dragged 12' above the ground (puppet vision), and that's a good thing!!!! It is dated yes, it is tame by today's standards yes, but you can't judge it by today's standards. This is low budget, 80's at it's best. Stop motion puppets/live action puppets aren't too bad! (You may see the odd puppeteer arm) but it's all part of the ride. Needs to be in your collection if you like horror/sci-fi/fantasy. Picked it up for £1.50 all in. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Strings attached, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible movie, no gore, no tension, zero acting. And all this from a fan who loves the work of Full Moon and Charles Band. But this one doesn't work. I put the praise on this film down to one of the mysterys of the world. There are no redeeming qualities at all. The sequels were better.

I would welcome comments by people who like this movie and tell me why they like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy to finally get my hands on the original Puppet ..., 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy to finally get my hands on the original Puppet Master, since The Netherlands don't have a decent release of most of the films. The quality is very good, and like other people wrote before me, the best in the series when it comes to storytelling, acting and the SFX of the puppets. What else can I say...here's a happy guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best movie in the world but for an older one its still a good watch, intend to get the rest of the series, which are better but this sets the story in motion even if the start makes no sense at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic..., 1 April 2002
By 
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
This well crafted little horror film is a classic by today's standards. Followed by numerous sequels, the original remains the best one. The special effects are first rate, the only minus is the confusing plot and bad DVD transfer.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars orginal, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
film from 1980s,the first in series. excellent idea, creatures , thought it look a bit dated now.still worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Puppet on a Chainsaw, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puppet Master [DVD] (DVD)
An odd film but quite original in it's delivery. Those puppets are very sinister. Different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews