Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best add on for the best device
I reckon I was one of the early adopters as I've had my Highway since July 2008. I expected to be disappointed with the Highway as most technology invariably never lives up to the promise. However, from the minute it was installed the Highway has been a 'must have' addition to any journey, even the tiny ones to the local shop. The only downside of the product was the one...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Tony Glover

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star reception but cable too short
The difference this aerial makes to reception is huge. It is essential to get the best out of the Highway. Easily 5 stars for that. BUT the lead is too short to get from the middle of the dash neatly up on to the roof. If you are going to have the cable come out through the door all the time you are going to have to choose you fitting point carefully. So hence only 2...
Published on 25 Feb 2010 by Paul Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best add on for the best device, 18 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
I reckon I was one of the early adopters as I've had my Highway since July 2008. I expected to be disappointed with the Highway as most technology invariably never lives up to the promise. However, from the minute it was installed the Highway has been a 'must have' addition to any journey, even the tiny ones to the local shop. The only downside of the product was the one time use aerial, which meant that any new windscreen would require a new aerial to be bought. It also meant that if you shared 2 cars you'd need a second aerial/car kit in order to share the Highway between cars. Minor irritations really because the product is a 4.5 star one and these details are really just niggles, as are the perennial complaints about trailing wires etc.

I regularly travel 46 miles to work each day and back (yep that's 92 miles a day) and the journey takes me through rural countryside, towns and along major highways. Throughout this journey the Highway performs well apart from 2 areas where the poor signal meant a complete drop out on any radio station. Each of these drop outs is about 30 seconds but invariably always clashed with a critical or interesting news article, or a great tune from Planet Rock. Even over this journey through the FM frequency never needs changing. On other journeys to London though the DAB signal can vary in strength and so I plumped for this add-on magnetic external aerial.

And it's brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Not a single drop out in the village where I live (I drove around to test it out knowing where the old screen aerial would fail) and on every journey so far I have had uninterrupted DAB coverage. Where the signal strength bars would disappear before they now drop back to 2 bars at worst on the Highway signal indicator. It's easy to fit, and easy to remove from the vehicle, and at speeds of up to 80 it stays on the roof, even during rain, with no apparent issue. Having said that there was a little more wind whistle at the higher speeds which may because of the aerial or the small breach the cable causes in the door seal. A small price to pay because you can always drown the additional noise out with some decent Planet Rock tracks!!!!

Hopefully Pure will see the advantage of this over the rather fragile screen aerial (can be ruined by someone clearing the screen or interfered with by windscreen wipers motion) and will offer this as a choice or as the default. If offered as a choice or as the default then this would make the Highway a 5 star product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full signal, 28 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
It arrived, I plonked it on the roof, plugged it in and it worked. I've never seen the signal go all the way up the scale before with the old stick-on aerial. With this it hardly drops below the top spot. The old one stopped working when I changed car and tried to re-affix it. If you're thinking of buying another stick-on one for that purpose, don't bother, this is better - though I haven't tried it at speed yet to see how reliable it is at remaining in place. It would be good to have a slightly longer cable but not as much as the 4 metre alternative - another 2ft would suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential addon for the Pure Highway, 23 Sep 2009
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
Having tried the Pure Highway extensively across a supposedly good area of reception, I concluded it was rubbish. I had the supplied windscreen aerial mounted on a motorcycle windscreen so it wasn't a heated windscreen or anything getting in the way. The stick on aerial is just rubbish. I bought this aerial and suddenly the Highway makes sense. The difference is amazing. The signal now only rarely drops out (under bridges for example) and the aerial magnet keeps hold right the way up to the top of the legal speed range. This aerial has 2m of cable which I found OK on a bike, but I can see if you had certain cars you might want to choose the alternative one from eBay which is cheaper and has a longer cable.

Bottom line - the Pure Highway is a waste of time without this aerial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star reception but cable too short, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Paul Marshall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
The difference this aerial makes to reception is huge. It is essential to get the best out of the Highway. Easily 5 stars for that. BUT the lead is too short to get from the middle of the dash neatly up on to the roof. If you are going to have the cable come out through the door all the time you are going to have to choose you fitting point carefully. So hence only 2 stars for practicality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reception, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
Bought this aerial after buying a pure highway dab radio to boost the signal as the signal was lost or a bit weak in some areas especially in warm weather. It has solved the problem and does not need any expensive installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You say antenna, I say aerial..., 17 Jan 2010
By 
C. J. Brian "Chris" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
... but whatever you call it, the, er, device is very neat and does its job perfectly: so much so, that it sat on the passenger seat on a trip from West Yorkshire to Brum and gave perfect reception all the way home. Well, yes, it did have to be connected to the radio, for heaven's sake, but come on... Well worth having - particularly in view of some of the reviews that have been posted about the "sticky" antenna/ aerial provided with the radio. I took careful note of these, and we have just used the Magmount. Excellent. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY ONE NOW!, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
OMG...the solution to all my ills!

I now have solid five bars except where the signal is genuinely shocking (e.g. middle of Salisbury plain)

Bliss ;-)

WHY the heck don't Pure just sell you one of these from the off - grrrr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns a promising but flawed product into a winner, 25 April 2011
By 
Mr. Andrew Palmer "A.Palmer" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
Do not buy the Pure Highway without this unless you're a big fan of frustration. Driving any distance without this will expose signal weaknesses and black spots that this product solves, with much improved signal strength and sharpness. Buy this at the same time and don't install the radio's supplied window sticker aerial. An added bonus is that you can switch the radio between cars if you have more than one easily as the aerial sticks to your roof with a magnet. My roof is slopy and has a big glass roof so the magnet doesn't have much to grip onto, but still has no trouble even at motorway speeds. Essential if you buy the Highway DAB radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The answer to the problem, 7 Sep 2010
By 
N. Batey (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
I'd given up on the radio as reception was so poor using the in-car aerial but thought that spending a few quid extra might be worth a punt and it was. The radio is now in the car permanently rather than in a cupboard at home. It's a shame that the aerial wasn't bundled with the original package though - surely Pure did research into reception before entering the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure mag mount car anntenna, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Paul Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Highway External Aerial (Accessory)
very good at pulling in weak signals ,but cable too short , have to make a 3m extention with 2.5mm stereo jack and socket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure Highway External Aerial
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews