Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars160
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2009
First off, a big applause to Sucker Punch for creating this great game, secondly, this is easily the best game I have played this year. Played on both, Hero and inFamous karma to acquire both endings, also near to achieving the platinum trophy. Now for the review:

A very interesting plot to the game, the karma system is great and depicts how the public react to you if you choose to be good or evil. The people who are closest to Cole also become wary of him, is he dangerous or can they entrust the survival of the city to him? Swaying away from the main story, there are also many side missions and additional missions where you can choose to do good or evil deeds. There are issues of trust, selfishness, greed, anger........all of these are the driving force behind the game and keep you engaged with the characters that cross your path. Many games solely rely on cutscenes as a way of progressing the story and revealing more information, this is not the case with inFamous. As Cole traverses the city he begins to learn more about what is going on though phone conversations, recorded messages and this happens during gameplay to keep everything flowing.

This is a sandbox game, meaning you are free to explore and roam as you wish. The powers that Cole receives are key to his progression, shooting electricity from his hand, throwing shock grenades, being able to hover in the air using static thrusters, riding railway tracks/power lines.....many other powers can be unlocked and this is where the fun begins. So many of these powers can be strung together to perform devastating attacks. Cole has the ability to scale building as he has vast experience in urban exploring. The story/side missions are so much fun, the more you upgrade your powers.....the more you just want to tear into the enemies and send them running.The side missions also have an impact on your karma status, some enemies may begin to help in your evil ways or the police will act as a backup for your good deeds.

The enemies vary as you progress and increase in difficulty, as you defeat them you gain xp to help increase and unlock powers.The Reapers are the first enemies you encounter and I just loved taking them on in waves. Boss fights were also very creative and challenging, I only wish there were a few more added as they were so enjoyable. I can't express how much fun it was when 20 enemies were on screen and you have a variety of powers at your disposal to just create absolute mayhem.

The frame rate can occasionally drop from too much action on screen but I was expecting this, this doesnt detract from the overall experience. The issues with pop-in are still there but these don't ruin the flow of the game at all. Empire City is vast and sprawls across three islands, being a sandbox game i wasnt expecting amazing graphics, there are some low-res textures, building design becomes repetitive. The cutscenes are really beautiful, they are done in an animated comic book way, the illustrations are excellent, voice acting top notch and make a real impact on screen. What i loved was how the city begins to change as your karma fluctuates, if you are more evil then everything begins to appear more gloomy and dull, when you are good then the city seems more lively and people are more at peace.

The karma system of inFamous will warrant two playthroughs, see how your actions affect the outcome of the city. Will you destroy or save the day?

If you're still awake after reading the above, then the bottom line is, buy this game and have yourself a 'shockingly' good time.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 March 2013
Prototype and inFamous came out within 2 weeks of each other. Five minutes into your first play you'll notice that they are similar, half an hour in and you'll notice that they have quite a lot in common, an hour in and you'll wonder how no one sued for plagiarism.

While Prototype was set in a gloomy Manhattan Island and was very bloody and gory, inFamous takes place on the fictional Islands of Empire City and is a fairly bloodless game as most bad guys are killed with electric shocks. There's also no swearing, which makes it a safer option for discriminate parents.

You play as Cole MacGrath, a bicycle messenger who is caught in the middle of a devastating blast which obliterates a chunk of the city. When he wakes he discovers that he has new electric powers and that the media is trying to pin the blame of the blast on him. It's up to the player to decide whether to use these new powers for good or evil (the Platinum trophy is dependent on both, requiring 2 play-throughs). The missions are based on restoring power to the islands and clearing out the feral gangs which have formed in the blackout. It gets a little bit repetitive but the most aggravating thing about the gameplay is the fact that Cole is constantly trying to grab ledges and surfaces as you attempt to free-run your way through the city. It makes smooth navigation very hard and can be a real pain during time-dependent missions. Also some of Cole's upgraded abilities are just too high-powered, meaning he'll blow himself up if you're fighting in close-quarters.

Despite these complaints, it's a fairly easy-going game and one which you can play superficially without ever getting really involved. The comic-book cutscenes are very nice to look at, though the music is rather forgettable.

The pros and cons when compared to Prototype are more or less even. It's worth playing for sure and worth picking up cheap.

Graphics B+
Sound B+
Gameplay B
Lasting Appeal B-
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
Take the open-worldness of GTA, add a dash of the powers from Bioshock, sprinkle in some of the exhilaration felt in Mirror's Edge when you jump from rooftop to rooftop and finish it off with the control of Uncharted. Add them all together, and you're somewhere close to what InFamous is like.

I'll skip over the (great) story as this is readily available and other reviewers have touched on it, instead I'll focus on just why I feel this is a 5 star game. For starters, the setting of Empire City is immense - while not as big as Liberty City from GTA, this is made up for by one of the games key features - the ability to scale anything in the landscape, meaning with a few leaps and bounds you can be at the top of a large building. This opens up whole new areas for exploration that you'd need a 'copter to get to in GTA. And, if you need to get down? Just jump! Cole, as a superhero, can handle any fall.

The game is a sandbox game, so the city is yours to explore, and getting about is easy. I won't reveal too much, but throughout the game Cole discovers various new powers as he gets to grips with what has happened to him, and early on you learn how to get about on railway tracks pretty quickly, which is a lot of fun, and makes getting about the city quick and effortless (until you run into some reapers!) As I mentioned, throughout the game you learn new ways of utilising the electricity flowing through Cole, but as I'm sure you know the basic concept of how Cole can shoot electricity, I'll save any more information on what he can do for when you play it!

The reapers are the enemies of the game (to start with...) and run the area of the city you start in. The game itself has a main storyline which you'll find out when you play it, but much like GTA San Andreas, you can take away areas being run by the reapers and make them safe. You do this by completing side missions that also help you gain XP which in turn can be put towards improving your powers. The side missions are presented very well, in such a way that you don't just skim past them in favour of the main story as can happen in games like this. On your hub, side missions are represented by a yellow exlaimation mark (main storyline is blue) and often, when you're on your way to a main mission mark, a yellow one will appear right near you, luring you into attempting it. There are variations in the missions, which brings me onto my next point...

Karma is an important part of the game, other games have utilised this concept to varying degrees and in InFamous it's central to the game. On the note of side missions, some of them are treated as bad missions (starting a riot) or good missions (helping heal people), and this affects your karma. Similarly to Fable, the more good things you do, the better the reaction of others will be to you and vice versa. The karma system is strong enough to warrant you playing through as good/evil, then playing again doing everything else to the opposite extreme. Different powers are opened up depending on your karma rating, further heightening the desire to change your decisions - do you keep doing the good things, or do you mive to the darker side just to get a new power? The choice is up to you and it's a fun one to make.

Graphically, the game is very good, if not excellent. The city looks great and Cole's powers look pretty intense. The cut scenes are presented in a comic book fashion and look fantastic, however some of the scenes that actually take place within the game are sketchy, and the lip sync is static. Dialogue is strong, though for me Cole's voice is a litte tooo much on the side of gruff superhero, but that's just me.

The bottom line of InFamous is that it mixes in many different ideas from other games, and uses them all to full effect. What you're left with is a game that is, above all else, brilliantly fun, something that can often be lacking in open games like this (I mean, did anyone really enjoy having to go on dates in GTAVI?!) It's essentially a TPS meets sandbox meets RPG meets free-running meets superhero game, but only the good bits of each genre.

Basically, buy it, it's fantastic, thoroughly fun, the kind of game you think about when you're not playing it, and when you are playing it, you don't want to stop.

EDIT: Having fully completed the game on being both good and evil, I feel I should also mention the trophies that come with the game. Whether you're a trophy hoarder or a casual gamer, I have to say the Infamous trophies are excellent - some easy, some hard, but unlike many games, all acheivable with a little work and persistence (there are no 'finish the game on super-hard survivor mode whilst not dying or even being shot' trophies here. Aiming for a platinum trophy only increases replay value.
66 comments|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
I was looking for a 'cheap' PS3 game to play as not a month would go by without another 'must have' £40+ game being released.

Infamous had some great reviews so I thought I would take the plunge.

The Game is set on an Island (or a couple of islands really) where you do get the opportunity to explore and discover every last inch of it. Other reviews have touched on the Sandbox/GTA-type layout and it definitely gives a more organic feel to the game. You see that building...just climb to the top of it which-ever way you want!

The storyline develops as you play the game. You can choose to do good deeds and bad deeds. Sometimes you don't get a choice and your actions can have a negative affect (or positive) without you having an input. Your 'Karma' level alters while you play the game. You can choose to be 'Nice' or 'Naughty' and it really does change how the game plays. Being a city it is full of Citizens and these guys also react differently depending on your Karma level. Your 'Karma' can also affect your power upgrades - some are only available with either good or bad Karma ratings.

Graphically the game is excellent. Cut scenes are done in a comic book style but this complements the look and feel of the game. I've had no slow down effect when playing and when you blow stuff up it looks realistic and has real-time affects on the environment also. You spend a lot of time blowing stuff up as it is a fun way to dispatch the enemies!

The enemies are split into 3 main types...each appearing on the different islands. The first island has nice and easy Reapers who can be taken down with very little effort. You then move onto the Dustmen who are a bit harder and then finally you are against the First Sons who are much more challenging and will certainly have you thinking of different ways to beat them. Each of the main types of enemy then have sub-groups which can attack you back in different ways. You will have to use your skills (and upgraded energy attacks) to take them out.

You learn more ways to attack while you are in the sewers getting the power-grids restarted. It is interesting that the developers built into the game that the lights are off to start with and that all the lights (including shop signs and neon advertising) jump into life once you get the power back on. It is the little touches like that which shows that the developers have put the extra nice touches in which raise this game to the level it is.

Sometimes people focus too much on the new games and there are plenty of games on the playstation 3 which not only give great gameplay and value for money, but they remind you of the standard you should expect from developers. Everyone can churn out 'realistic' looking games but it is the little touches you don't often think about which Infamous has plenty of.

Buy this and book out the next couple of weeks in your calendar as once you complete it with 'Good Karma' you'll have to complete it on 'Bad Karma' just to enjoy the difference in gameplay!

As part of the sandbox nature of the game you are able to collect 'Blast Shards' which when you have collected enough, increase your 'battery' level. As well as extending your lightening abilities these also can be spotted all over the place and will have you thinking of different ways to get to a challenging ledge or almost impossible to get to tower!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2009
Everything about this game has been extremely well thought out by the developers and offers 30+ hours of intense high-quality game play providing you complete all the missions and unlock trophies. The story, audio, effects and boss fights are very impressive. The game also features precise user controls. Definitely got my monies worth.

The main character "Cole" that you play the game with features a list of very impressive special attacks and moves that can be unlocked as you progress through the game. The games overall graphics are very good, but it's the quality of game play that makes this game what it is.

Infamous is definitely one of the PS3's top 5 best games to be released so far.

Stop reading all the reviews and just buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
As with all open world games, there's the feeling that this would be a better game were it half as long. However, this stays fun for most of two playthroughs and since I can't think of any other open world game where I could even stomach a second playthrough, that surely counts for a lot.

Technically, the game looks fine, but there's not a moment you would say it looks stunning and it's not without slowdown when you're zipping around the city or in one of the more hectic battles. It never becomes unmanageable but it does put a dampener on things.

For audio the game supports DTS for which it definitely deserves kudos. The extra clarity and spatial definition is always appreciated.

Overall, a great game with a few bewildering issues.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
I Just finished playing Infamous. This is an action packed game with incredible graphics, great story and believable characters, This all adds up to a game you will find hard to stop playing.
It's the best example of the closer relationship between games and Movies. The link being the time and attention given to the story, characters, visual style, narrative continuity, music. content and timing of different scenes or chapters.

This came succeeds also because it is not a 'game of the movie' so it has to build all the essential features in fresh from the start and in the competitive gaming market the developers of have taken this very seriously and it shows.
So it's no surprise that a movie of the game is on the cards.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 May 2009
I've not been playing long, but the game has presented an enticing mystery, the characters have been interesting and the powers I've unlocked so far have been entertaining, so right now I'm hooked. I don't think the graphics will win any awards as they don't really take enough advantage of PS3's potential, but I like the interactivity and openness of the environment, and the controls feel fluid as I maneouvre and shock my way around Empire City. Perhaps, I'm dim, but I never expected the city folk to turn hostile on me so quickly as they did, even though I haven't done anything to draw me into the dark side (I'm going to try to save that for my second play). Overall, a very positive experience, and one good enough to make me want to shut the curtains and forget how sunny it is out there just now.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
Really, you should buy this game. You can read the other reviews for the in depth details of the game. All I want to say is, I really enjoyed playing this game. Some of the claims here about repetition are really over exaggerated and the learning curve is spot on. Also this is the only game with split/multiple story lines that I have felt compelled to play to completion more than once to see each stoy out, and Ive been playing games since the Atari 2600 days. Im getting lovely memories of Manic Miner on a Amstrad CPC 464 with a green screen monitor, but im getting WAY off point! Thanks to fact it draws you in and makes you want to know how each story will progress and end, it's also the first ps3 game I've got a platinum trophy on (not to mention 50 something other trophies along the way!) In my opinion its worth your time and money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
Well, I've had this game for a week now, and the wait I've been enduring ever since I read about this about a year ago now has been worth it!

Thus far, the game is very well polished, graphics are great, the characters are moderately rounded to keep you interested in them, the gameplay is smooth and flows really well and the choice betweem good and evil is really quite cool, although it brings me onto my only major complaint.

The moral choice system is somewhat unbalanced. You earn experience points for powers as you progress, now, Good powers are somewhat underpowered and you get experience points for them really easily. The evil powers are very powerful, but you get very little experience points for them.
But, that one complaint is soon quashed when I remember that I can climb up ridiculous heights jump foreward, hover in the air for a few moments before plunging onto a train track, grinding along it before leaping off and hitting the floor with a massive shockwave. The sandbox stuff is really great, I've so far spent more time looking for the various collectables in the city and doing side missions as opposed to the main missions, but thats just my playing style.

So overall, 10/10 as it is just too much of a breath of fresh air for me to give it any less.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£14.48

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)