Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power in the palm of your hand
First off, a big applause to Sucker Punch for creating this great game, secondly, this is easily the best game I have played this year. Played on both, Hero and inFamous karma to acquire both endings, also near to achieving the platinum trophy. Now for the review:

A very interesting plot to the game, the karma system is great and depicts how the public react to...
Published on 23 Jun 2009 by ABZ

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prototype for disaster
Prototype and inFamous came out within 2 weeks of each other. Five minutes into your first play you'll notice that they are similar, half an hour in and you'll notice that they have quite a lot in common, an hour in and you'll wonder how no one sued for plagiarism.

While Prototype was set in a gloomy Manhattan Island and was very bloody and gory, inFamous takes...
Published 15 months ago by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power in the palm of your hand, 23 Jun 2009
By 
ABZ (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
First off, a big applause to Sucker Punch for creating this great game, secondly, this is easily the best game I have played this year. Played on both, Hero and inFamous karma to acquire both endings, also near to achieving the platinum trophy. Now for the review:

A very interesting plot to the game, the karma system is great and depicts how the public react to you if you choose to be good or evil. The people who are closest to Cole also become wary of him, is he dangerous or can they entrust the survival of the city to him? Swaying away from the main story, there are also many side missions and additional missions where you can choose to do good or evil deeds. There are issues of trust, selfishness, greed, anger........all of these are the driving force behind the game and keep you engaged with the characters that cross your path. Many games solely rely on cutscenes as a way of progressing the story and revealing more information, this is not the case with inFamous. As Cole traverses the city he begins to learn more about what is going on though phone conversations, recorded messages and this happens during gameplay to keep everything flowing.

This is a sandbox game, meaning you are free to explore and roam as you wish. The powers that Cole receives are key to his progression, shooting electricity from his hand, throwing shock grenades, being able to hover in the air using static thrusters, riding railway tracks/power lines.....many other powers can be unlocked and this is where the fun begins. So many of these powers can be strung together to perform devastating attacks. Cole has the ability to scale building as he has vast experience in urban exploring. The story/side missions are so much fun, the more you upgrade your powers.....the more you just want to tear into the enemies and send them running.The side missions also have an impact on your karma status, some enemies may begin to help in your evil ways or the police will act as a backup for your good deeds.

The enemies vary as you progress and increase in difficulty, as you defeat them you gain xp to help increase and unlock powers.The Reapers are the first enemies you encounter and I just loved taking them on in waves. Boss fights were also very creative and challenging, I only wish there were a few more added as they were so enjoyable. I can't express how much fun it was when 20 enemies were on screen and you have a variety of powers at your disposal to just create absolute mayhem.

The frame rate can occasionally drop from too much action on screen but I was expecting this, this doesnt detract from the overall experience. The issues with pop-in are still there but these don't ruin the flow of the game at all. Empire City is vast and sprawls across three islands, being a sandbox game i wasnt expecting amazing graphics, there are some low-res textures, building design becomes repetitive. The cutscenes are really beautiful, they are done in an animated comic book way, the illustrations are excellent, voice acting top notch and make a real impact on screen. What i loved was how the city begins to change as your karma fluctuates, if you are more evil then everything begins to appear more gloomy and dull, when you are good then the city seems more lively and people are more at peace.

The karma system of inFamous will warrant two playthroughs, see how your actions affect the outcome of the city. Will you destroy or save the day?

If you're still awake after reading the above, then the bottom line is, buy this game and have yourself a 'shockingly' good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another chance to choose between good and evil, 30 May 2009
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
I've not been playing long, but the game has presented an enticing mystery, the characters have been interesting and the powers I've unlocked so far have been entertaining, so right now I'm hooked. I don't think the graphics will win any awards as they don't really take enough advantage of PS3's potential, but I like the interactivity and openness of the environment, and the controls feel fluid as I maneouvre and shock my way around Empire City. Perhaps, I'm dim, but I never expected the city folk to turn hostile on me so quickly as they did, even though I haven't done anything to draw me into the dark side (I'm going to try to save that for my second play). Overall, a very positive experience, and one good enough to make me want to shut the curtains and forget how sunny it is out there just now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put - fantastic!, 30 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Take the open-worldness of GTA, add a dash of the powers from Bioshock, sprinkle in some of the exhilaration felt in Mirror's Edge when you jump from rooftop to rooftop and finish it off with the control of Uncharted. Add them all together, and you're somewhere close to what InFamous is like.

I'll skip over the (great) story as this is readily available and other reviewers have touched on it, instead I'll focus on just why I feel this is a 5 star game. For starters, the setting of Empire City is immense - while not as big as Liberty City from GTA, this is made up for by one of the games key features - the ability to scale anything in the landscape, meaning with a few leaps and bounds you can be at the top of a large building. This opens up whole new areas for exploration that you'd need a 'copter to get to in GTA. And, if you need to get down? Just jump! Cole, as a superhero, can handle any fall.

The game is a sandbox game, so the city is yours to explore, and getting about is easy. I won't reveal too much, but throughout the game Cole discovers various new powers as he gets to grips with what has happened to him, and early on you learn how to get about on railway tracks pretty quickly, which is a lot of fun, and makes getting about the city quick and effortless (until you run into some reapers!) As I mentioned, throughout the game you learn new ways of utilising the electricity flowing through Cole, but as I'm sure you know the basic concept of how Cole can shoot electricity, I'll save any more information on what he can do for when you play it!

The reapers are the enemies of the game (to start with...) and run the area of the city you start in. The game itself has a main storyline which you'll find out when you play it, but much like GTA San Andreas, you can take away areas being run by the reapers and make them safe. You do this by completing side missions that also help you gain XP which in turn can be put towards improving your powers. The side missions are presented very well, in such a way that you don't just skim past them in favour of the main story as can happen in games like this. On your hub, side missions are represented by a yellow exlaimation mark (main storyline is blue) and often, when you're on your way to a main mission mark, a yellow one will appear right near you, luring you into attempting it. There are variations in the missions, which brings me onto my next point...

Karma is an important part of the game, other games have utilised this concept to varying degrees and in InFamous it's central to the game. On the note of side missions, some of them are treated as bad missions (starting a riot) or good missions (helping heal people), and this affects your karma. Similarly to Fable, the more good things you do, the better the reaction of others will be to you and vice versa. The karma system is strong enough to warrant you playing through as good/evil, then playing again doing everything else to the opposite extreme. Different powers are opened up depending on your karma rating, further heightening the desire to change your decisions - do you keep doing the good things, or do you mive to the darker side just to get a new power? The choice is up to you and it's a fun one to make.

Graphically, the game is very good, if not excellent. The city looks great and Cole's powers look pretty intense. The cut scenes are presented in a comic book fashion and look fantastic, however some of the scenes that actually take place within the game are sketchy, and the lip sync is static. Dialogue is strong, though for me Cole's voice is a litte tooo much on the side of gruff superhero, but that's just me.

The bottom line of InFamous is that it mixes in many different ideas from other games, and uses them all to full effect. What you're left with is a game that is, above all else, brilliantly fun, something that can often be lacking in open games like this (I mean, did anyone really enjoy having to go on dates in GTAVI?!) It's essentially a TPS meets sandbox meets RPG meets free-running meets superhero game, but only the good bits of each genre.

Basically, buy it, it's fantastic, thoroughly fun, the kind of game you think about when you're not playing it, and when you are playing it, you don't want to stop.

EDIT: Having fully completed the game on being both good and evil, I feel I should also mention the trophies that come with the game. Whether you're a trophy hoarder or a casual gamer, I have to say the Infamous trophies are excellent - some easy, some hard, but unlike many games, all acheivable with a little work and persistence (there are no 'finish the game on super-hard survivor mode whilst not dying or even being shot' trophies here. Aiming for a platinum trophy only increases replay value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prototype for disaster, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Prototype and inFamous came out within 2 weeks of each other. Five minutes into your first play you'll notice that they are similar, half an hour in and you'll notice that they have quite a lot in common, an hour in and you'll wonder how no one sued for plagiarism.

While Prototype was set in a gloomy Manhattan Island and was very bloody and gory, inFamous takes place on the fictional Islands of Empire City and is a fairly bloodless game as most bad guys are killed with electric shocks. There's also no swearing, which makes it a safer option for discriminate parents.

You play as Cole MacGrath, a bicycle messenger who is caught in the middle of a devastating blast which obliterates a chunk of the city. When he wakes he discovers that he has new electric powers and that the media is trying to pin the blame of the blast on him. It's up to the player to decide whether to use these new powers for good or evil (the Platinum trophy is dependent on both, requiring 2 play-throughs). The missions are based on restoring power to the islands and clearing out the feral gangs which have formed in the blackout. It gets a little bit repetitive but the most aggravating thing about the gameplay is the fact that Cole is constantly trying to grab ledges and surfaces as you attempt to free-run your way through the city. It makes smooth navigation very hard and can be a real pain during time-dependent missions. Also some of Cole's upgraded abilities are just too high-powered, meaning he'll blow himself up if you're fighting in close-quarters.

Despite these complaints, it's a fairly easy-going game and one which you can play superficially without ever getting really involved. The comic-book cutscenes are very nice to look at, though the music is rather forgettable.

The pros and cons when compared to Prototype are more or less even. It's worth playing for sure and worth picking up cheap.

Graphics B+
Sound B+
Gameplay B
Lasting Appeal B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definition of FUN!, 29 May 2009
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Sucker Punch have created a masterpiece with inFamous. It's extremely enjoyable, and plays like GTA meets Assassins Creed, with a superhero twist. The game opens with an abstract view of the city, pressing Start triggers a massive explosion which rips through the streets. It's a subtle touch, but involves the player from the first button press. Everything feels geared towards fun. Cole can fall from any height, scale any surface, and the controls are intuitive and forgiving. New abilities are unlocked at a generous pace, preventing gameplay from becoming stale. It feels like a breath of fresh air.

The option to be good or evil works outstandingly. Missions are available for both sides, with completed missions cancelling out the other. Karma also affects appearance, and how civilians react to you. Being a hero causes people to cheer and take photos, evil prompts them to boo and throw rocks. Good and evil options are available during missions, such as an early escape attempt. Cole can either attack the riot cops from within the safety of the crowd, meaning attention would be diverted from himself. This would cause a riot, and lead to innocent people getting hurt. The other option is to attack the riot cops single handedly, and deal with the consequences. The quality of these moral choice holds throughout, meaning it's impossible to see everything on the first play through. Every action (killing enemies, completing missions etc) earns XP points. These are used to upgrade Cole's abilities, giving inFamous a light RPG element.

Dialogue between characters is interesting, and at times genuinely funny. Particularly between Cole and conspiracy theorist Zeke. At one point he snaps:
"Get some rest, and a bath, I've got things to do!" Cole's actions are twisted by opposing news stations, which is also entertaining. Sound effects and music are similarly outstanding.
Additional tasks include locating 350 blast shards, essentially inFamous' hidden packages. Dead drops contain encrypted messages which help piece together what's happened to Empire City. Territory can be reclaimed from the former addicts and junkies, who took control of the city when it was quarantined. This is done by completing side quests. The selection includes 'Counter Surveillance' - destroying camera equipment & 'Satellite Uplink' - a checkpoint race across the rooftops. There is some repetition, but the tasks are all entertaining, and manage to throw up some surprises.
If I had to criticise: the graphics aren't spectacular. There are some nice touches, especially Cole's electrical powers. But a little extra polish would have been nice. However, when inFamous is this playable, and this much fun, it becomes insignificant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It, 29 Aug 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Everything about this game has been extremely well thought out by the developers and offers 30+ hours of intense high-quality game play providing you complete all the missions and unlock trophies. The story, audio, effects and boss fights are very impressive. The game also features precise user controls. Definitely got my monies worth.

The main character "Cole" that you play the game with features a list of very impressive special attacks and moves that can be unlocked as you progress through the game. The games overall graphics are very good, but it's the quality of game play that makes this game what it is.

Infamous is definitely one of the PS3's top 5 best games to be released so far.

Stop reading all the reviews and just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game with problems, 9 Aug 2009
By 
M. Black (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
As with all open world games, there's the feeling that this would be a better game were it half as long. However, this stays fun for most of two playthroughs and since I can't think of any other open world game where I could even stomach a second playthrough, that surely counts for a lot.

Technically, the game looks fine, but there's not a moment you would say it looks stunning and it's not without slowdown when you're zipping around the city or in one of the more hectic battles. It never becomes unmanageable but it does put a dampener on things.

For audio the game supports DTS for which it definitely deserves kudos. The extra clarity and spatial definition is always appreciated.

Overall, a great game with a few bewildering issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jun 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Its the first time a game like this has come out and i have to say that it is brilliant. Worth every penny, you will not get tired of it at all. The fact that you can choose to be a hero or villain is great. After i complete the game i am going to restart it and become the villain. Overall this game is superb and i hope to see cole again soon in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Until I played this, my PS3 was a brick, 26 Jun 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Really.

Got my PS3 when GTA IV came out, didn't play that much as there was no "magic". Bought a couple of other games, Haze, Resistance, ..., but they weren't really up to much. Thought I'd spent 200 quid on a dud.

Then a mate of mine suggested this. Played the demo on PSN; thought "hey, this isn't half bad. Then went and got the full game the next day.

I was absolutely gobsmacked. At last a 3rd person shooter where the controls are instinctive to use. A platformy game where the controls and physics are generally forgiving enough for you to enjoy the game, rather than cursing it. Button-bashing combat. A plot straight out of a comic book, and I love it - an ordinary man converted into a superhero - or villain - or both ?

The graphics are very good, the movement is pretty fluid (especially when crossing the city using power lines, jumping off buildings, holding on to the side of a train, ...), despite the map being WAY smaller than GTA IV, somehow the game gives a better illusion of freedom. The sewer missions are the only exception to this, though as there anren't too many of them it's ok.

The superpowers are just overdone enough - the fully boosted "thunder drop" attack looks like DC comics meets the daisy cutter.

Oh, and I almost forgot. A bit like Fable (as others have mentioned) the game has a strong good / evil choice thing going. Whether the missions you choose, or just the level of collateral damage, if you get too nasty, your character's skills get an evil red tinge, people start throwing rocks in the street and you just get evil (plus the extra skills you get cause even more collateral damage). Be good, people start cheering you on, waving at you, you get a nice bright blue glow, and you get some neat "utility" powers, like regenerating in fights.

All in all, can't recommend it enough. This game has restored my faith (and use) of my PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome would be more accurate..., 13 Jun 2009
By 
J. Alexander (Corby England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFamous (PS3) (Video Game)
Well, I've had this game for a week now, and the wait I've been enduring ever since I read about this about a year ago now has been worth it!

Thus far, the game is very well polished, graphics are great, the characters are moderately rounded to keep you interested in them, the gameplay is smooth and flows really well and the choice betweem good and evil is really quite cool, although it brings me onto my only major complaint.

The moral choice system is somewhat unbalanced. You earn experience points for powers as you progress, now, Good powers are somewhat underpowered and you get experience points for them really easily. The evil powers are very powerful, but you get very little experience points for them.
But, that one complaint is soon quashed when I remember that I can climb up ridiculous heights jump foreward, hover in the air for a few moments before plunging onto a train track, grinding along it before leaping off and hitting the floor with a massive shockwave. The sandbox stuff is really great, I've so far spent more time looking for the various collectables in the city and doing side missions as opposed to the main missions, but thats just my playing style.

So overall, 10/10 as it is just too much of a breath of fresh air for me to give it any less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

inFamous (PS3)
inFamous (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews