Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST YET!!
Starts off with a slow one. I wish they wouldn't do that. You get worried its all gonna be slow. No fear. It really speeds up .. and how!! If you like the band for the folk/medieval aspects you won't be let down. "Olde Mill Inn" will get you singing along and waving your arms unashamedly in the air. If instrumentals are your thing, Ritchie delivers as usual. If...
Published on 2 April 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A compilation?
This album has the effect of making you think you've heard pretty much every song before.

In some cases (the copious use of cover versions, sometimes of richies own songs) you have heard them before.

Somehow this album leaves me cold, which is a shame because I feel exactly the opposite way about most other BN cd's.

The three stars are for...
Published on 16 Oct 2006 by TC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST YET!!, 2 April 2006
Starts off with a slow one. I wish they wouldn't do that. You get worried its all gonna be slow. No fear. It really speeds up .. and how!! If you like the band for the folk/medieval aspects you won't be let down. "Olde Mill Inn" will get you singing along and waving your arms unashamedly in the air. If instrumentals are your thing, Ritchie delivers as usual. If you like rock, prepare for a treat. " I Guess..." gives us one of the Man in Black's meanest riffs for some time. "St. Teresa" starts with a lovely accoustic solo fading to feedback,...and the Strat' is back! Reminiscent of the false sense of security at the start of "Speed King" Although this is not as fast a song, it is damned quick. Fastest BN song so far and the solo is as quick as anything on "Long Live Rock and Roll". If you bought the "Castles.." dvd and loved the "Mond Tanz/Child in Time" medley and then got to see the band live last year and enjoyed it even more, then rejoice. Here it is again. Better, louder, prouder, heavier, and ten times better. "Child" closes with some great soloing from the Maestro. "Just Call My Name (I'll Be There)" sounds like the title for a Michael Jackson cover but his songs never come with a riff that picks you up by the collar and head butts you. Head butting is apt as this action usually hits you "Straight Between The Eyes" which is where this song sounds like it would feel at home were it written in the same era. And, talk of the Rainbow era, "Street of Dreams" makes two appearances here, one on each disc. The first sees Candice giving her all with Mr Fluent Fingers blistering the fret board with yet more high speed soloing and giving the song a grungier feel than the original. Disc two features Joe Lynn Turner dueting with Ms Night and is slightly truer to the original though still feeling a bit faster and heavier.
All in all, if you like BN as a Renaisance/folk/medieval band, you will still love this album. If you hanker after the old days of Ritchie the Rocker, you will be as happy as a pig in the proverbial. Much of this is just like Rainbow with a girl singer. Oh, and Lord what a singer. Talented AND beautiful.
The album is worth the money just for the photos of her alone. What, and with great music as well, you couldn't wish for more.
Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure listening pleasure, 7 April 2006
By 
David Williams (Heidelberg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once again Ritchie and Candice have excelled themselves and, together with the rest of Blackmore's Night, produced another varied and utterly enjoyable mixture of new and covered material. Their rendition of Streets of London is perhaps the most amazing cover version ever, recognisable but truly unique and haunting. This is a definite must-have for exisitng fans and highly recommended to anyone new to Blackmore's Night.
Sadly Amazon.co.uk doesn't appear to offer sound samples, but replace the .co.uk with .de in the URL and 30-second sound samples can give you a foretaste of the pleasures that await on this brilliant CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He still has it, 26 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
Blackmore is best known for his explosive times with Deep Purple and many incarnations of Rainbow. I was interested in sampling his new venture, but people warned me 'isn't it just some sort of medieval folk music?'

Well, yes, its different, but listen to the man play. Give him anything with strings and he will give you a good tune. This is unmistakable Ritchie Blackmore, soaring solos with electric and acoustic instruments, just not at 50,000 watts.

He IS a virtuoso, his amazing talent shows through whatever he plays. As to the album, it would be quicker to list the couple of weaker tracks, the worst of which, 25 years & streets of London, get 3 stars - the rest get 4 and 5. His playing nicely complements Candices vocals, and the rendition of Child In Time is wonderful. (I did notice the writing credit was Ian Gillan and thought it ironic that he should be earning royalties from his arch nemesis from DP days)

This album is an excellent addition to my collection of 40 years worth of Rock and Metal music and I have no hesitation recommending it to anyone who wants to hear a true guitar genius at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One to listen to again and again, 5 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
A superb entry into the Blackmore's Night collection of music .
Village Lanterne , Mond Tanz / Child in Time and Streets of London are tracks in particular that deserve repeat plays .
The sound quality is very good and the musicianship is first class throughout .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Blackmore's Night album, 15 Jun 2007
By 
John R. Murdoch (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
This is an excellent Blackmore's Night album with a fine selection of mediaeval folk/rock tracks. Most of them are very good the only weak one being "Call it love" written purely by Candice Night. She writes good lyrics, is a fantastic lead vocalist but not a great music writer. Ritchie is better in this field. Just saw the band playing in Glenrothes - fantastic gig. The "cover versions" of "Child in time" and "Streets of London" on this album are great. If you are a Ritchie Blackmore fan but are uncertain about Blackmore's Night this is a good introductory album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stratocaster is back, 20 April 2006
By 
Jim Rosengaard Rasmussen (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ritchie Blackmore has brought back the Strat and made the best cd since Fire At Midnight.

This new CD The Village Lantern includes some very nice song writing and exciting arrangements.

Personaly I'm happy Blackmore in 1997 dared to take this new direction in music. I listen to his music with the same joy today, like I did in the 1970's, when the times and the band was much different.

Though I would have liked the new cd to include a studio version of the old Blackmore & Coverdale song Soldier Of Fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blackmore nights village lanterne, 4 Oct 2009
By 
J. M. Anderson "Jim Anderson" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
A good easy listening album, catchy melodies lines sung by Candice's excellent and occasionally haunting vocals,accompanied by quality harmonies and all round musicianship Ritchie Blackmore's renowned for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic that has always been promised, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
I have dipped into Blackmore's Night music on-and-off since they started but I had always felt that there was something missing. They just hadn't quite got the mix right. This album however ticks all the boxes. An absolute classic. There is a perfect mix of the minstrel and his lady, pop, rock and mixtures in between. There is not a bad song on this album. You have Village Lanterne bringing back memories of the The Princess Bride, Mond Tanz/Child in Time proving how adaptable Candice Night's voice can really be, the Olde Mill Inn - a classic drinking song, Street of Dreams and I guess it doesn't matter anymore - classic pop/rock. It has something for everyone. This is the Blackmore's Night album that I have been waiting for. Five stars without a doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A compilation?, 16 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
This album has the effect of making you think you've heard pretty much every song before.

In some cases (the copious use of cover versions, sometimes of richies own songs) you have heard them before.

Somehow this album leaves me cold, which is a shame because I feel exactly the opposite way about most other BN cd's.

The three stars are for the quality of the musicianship and Candy's singing. Otherwise I'm afraid to say its the weakest of theirs so far. Particularly disappointing as it follows 'Ghost of a rose' which I consider to be a perfectly balanced masterpiece.

So my advice to anyone who has yet to hear BN's work is go and buy yourself 'Ghost of a rose', 'Fires at midnight', or 'shadow of the moon', Possibly in that order. Then, if your suitably impressed, which I just know you will be! complete you set with 'Under a violet moon' and this title, again in that order.

That concludes today's lesson. There will be a test!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light in the black, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. T. J. Taylor (Wormley, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Village Lanterne (Audio CD)
This is a nice gentle mellow album with some good renaissance folk music. Is that enough for a Ritchie Blackmore album? I don't think so. I want to hear more of the great man's world renowned picking and trickery, I want more lead guitar, and something a bit catchier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Village Lanterne
The Village Lanterne by Blackmore's Night
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews