Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars19
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2009
This is a must for British comedy fans, great light viewing with well known supporting actors, Peggy Mount @ Pat Coombes are great together in this with Peggy the loveable battle-axe @ Pat as her mischief friend.
Very worth watching all the series , A nice cosy 1970's trip back in time, its so easy to see why the public miss all our much loved comedy stars of TV no longer with us sadly, They made TV at its best.
A wonderful series so watch them all.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
If you have never seen this series it is quite simply WONDERFUL. It is totally inoffensive, gentle, and very sweet. I remember this when I was growing up and I really loved Pat Coombs who plays Cissy Lupin. She was so dizzy and played it so well. Battle axe Flora is equally so well played by Peggy Mount. All of these characters were and still are totally believable, real and for me very special. I would happily have had a retired for home for gentlefolk if I had ladies such as these.

This is laugh out loud humour, not vulgar, not offensive just real funny lines and ladies. Rather like In Loving Memory with Thora Hird (1920's) except this is more modern day (1970's). You can buy this for anyone who loves old fashioned british humour and you won't go wrong. There is no swearing it wont make you cringe and you can watch it quite safely in the company of anyone.

How I miss these marvellous ladies of comedy. They can never be replaced.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
So full of nostalgia for me - being allowed to stay up to watch this comedy - so very funny in that very staged style of the time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
The eight instalments from the second series, 1978 vintage , are all here, each one about 25 minutes long, and each divided into two by what would originally have been the commercial break They all make good light entertainment, suitable for the whole family (any suggestive innuendo is very infrequent, and is likely to be missed by viewers who are not alert for it.) I did not see the series when it was first shown on television, and was glad, on my wife's recommendation, to make acquaintance with it now. Of course, it is based in a "Retirement Home for Gentlefolk", though Peggy Mount, as Flora Petty, hardly falls into the "gentle" category, and it is the sparring between her and the others that is at the heart of most of the comedy in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
a superb follow on to series one a must for all old tv series collecters these tv series are a joy to watch and peggy mount and pat coombs at their best i recomend buying the complete set of all four series and also george and the dragon also staring peggy mount you wont be dissapointed
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
Product arrived within the timeframe set and in condition advised. I would definitely consider using this service again for another dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
Just brings back so much you have to love this just so funny Peggy Mount and Pat Coombs brilliant double act was laughing from start to the end How happy i was to get all the series Thank you Amazon a big thumbs up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
Peggy's character can get on one's nerves, but it adds such a rich balance to an otherwise wonderful show. Certain aspects reminds me of Waiting For God

Love Pat Coombs and the others who make this a classic comedy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
A wonderful comedy actress at her best. A time gone by but well worth a viewing and still very funny.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)